We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank House Hotel

Old Bank House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Bank House Hotel to your Saves list
Old Bank House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Gorey, Grouville JE3 9FX   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grouville B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Its not often I am able to give such a good review for a hotel but this one is one of the best I have stayed in recently. Yes its a little dated but its quaint, clean, smart and the beds are a dream. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are available, as is an excellent hair dryer. The staff are excellent; nothing was too much trouble and service was good. Breakfast was very enjoyable, with good food served by the housekeeper who was friendly, helpful and full of information. She really made us welcome, as did the other guests who were all pleasant and friendly. The atmosphere was of a big family. The hotel is nicely situated in the pretty village of Gorey, and is close to many restaurants and the harbour. The takeaway fish and chip shop opposite the hotel is fantastic. From the harbour there are buses to take you all over the island. Car park is good. Hotel also serves cream teas in the garden, I didn't try them but I understand from the other guests that they are very good. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We would recommend this b&b for its great location,lovely breakfast and excellent service.
we stayed for a week in may 2013 in a family room with our four year old.The hotel is spotlessly clean but abit outdated.Our room was like stepping back to the seventies! But that should not put you off as we would definately go back,weve probably watched too much Hotel Inspector!
Breakfast was excellent and breakfast room and bar was bright and airy.Would also like to mention Chilena who was the lady serving tables and at reception,she was so friendly and gave our son bread everyday to feed the ducks she put a smile on our face everyday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great staff , very friendly and helpful , and an enjoyable and generous breakfast each morning set us up well for a days exploration ! The rooms were nice enough - clean and with comfortable beds - just a couple of minor annoyances with a broken shower head and a broken kettle meant we had to swap rooms mid week , but this wasn't too much hassle .Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This former Bank building has been tastefully converted into a hotel in the centre of the small village of Gorey. The hotel has parking at the rear which was good since parking seems to be a big issue in Jersey ( the use of pre-paid scratch cards to park in certain places is the Jersey alternative to pay and display). The staff were pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was a good size, clean and comfortable. The hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs and there is no lift for those who have difficulty with stairs. Our tariff included breakfast, which was ample, well cooked with quality ingredients. The bar/resturant was located in the basement, which was well appointed with comfortable seats. The hotel did not provide evening meals, but there is plenty of choice nearby.For those who arrive late (like us), there is a fish & chip shop directly opposite. There is a good chinese resurant in the village and a selection of eateries along the harbour in Gorey, a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Our stay was near the end of season, so the hotel bar closed early (8.30pm).

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the road through the village. Rooms at the rear are quieter, however in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had stayed in Gorey before but wanted a change of hotel. Spotted this about 3 years ago and following recent reviews decided to book. The room was comfortable, generous and clean. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and more than ample. Staff were kind and very pleasant. The breakfast room is painted bright yellow and seems sunny despite being in the basement. There is an obvious theme re hot air balloons. Ask why when you stay. Although The Bank House does not now do evening meals, snacks and afternoon tea are available, which can be eaten either inside or in the very pleasant courtyard garden.There is a bar but no cask ale. There is a fairly large carpark. There are good and excellent restaurants within 20 mins walking distance, at or near Gorey pier, a Chinese restaurant in the village and even a fish & chip shop across the road from the hotel (take-away only). If you don't have a car it is only a ten minute walk to the nearest bus stop. We will be staying here next time we visit Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in this comfortable hotel for three nights (Sept 6-9), and were delighted by its charm, the cleanliness and finish of the rooms, and above all by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Excellent well-cooked breakfast in well-appointed basement room, plus the option of relaxing on the sun-trap patio. Gorey is a great place to be based, with all the great beaches of the north coast within easy reach. The castle provides a stunning backdrip and is well worth a visit - just watch out when they fire the cannon. I swear the ground moves and covering your ears is a must! The Old Bank House is thoroughly recommended and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a spacious family room - although for the price of a twin - and its location on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogaz, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed overnight following an evening in Gorey. We had a very large, pleasant and comfortable room. There is a beautiful garden. This Hotel does not do eveing meals as there are so many resaurants in the locale. They do, however, do a lovely afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank House Hotel

Address: Gorey, Grouville JE3 9FX
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grouville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Bank House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank House Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.