We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but tired around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtenay Lodge Hotel

Courtenay Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courtenay Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Courtenay Lodge Hotel
Newcastle West,Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newcastle West
Maidstone, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but tired around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent a two night stay at the Courtenay Lodge Hotel, from arrival to departure we had a lovely time and everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was large and tasty and there was a selection of cold cereals as well as cooked.

The location of the hotel is good for exploring all that Limerick has to offer and our room was comfortable. However don't look too closely as really this hotel could do with an update. If you're looking for modern, shiny and new then this isn't for you (but good luck finding another hotel!)

What the hotel lacks in fresh paint and modern facilities it more than makes up for in service. Will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived very late at night - approx 2am, and we had a friendly face to greet us, and many still up in the bar!
Lovely hotel, nice and spacious, and a gorgeous room and shower. Breakfast was also very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

like this hotel....fine big rooms.....food always excellent.....prices are good and fair.....note comments on corridors and need for fresh air....as one walks from bar area to hotel rooms there is a smelly short corridor.................needs to get a window that opens and stays open 24 hours a day from april to oct...............................why in ireland do we not know all the benefits of freash air...................there is a gents loo off this hallway....it too could do with a window that opens....
last time i called to this hotel....bar licence was closed down.....are we back and running i wonder..................................????....food is excellent.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with my Mum (separate rooms...) and we were very impressed. Staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms large and comfortable, although a bit cold, and the heating didn't seem to work. As others have commented, there is a rather stale smokey smell in the corridor, but it's not too bad and isn't detectable in the rooms. My Mum found the water not quite hot enough, but it was fine for me.

On the (very) good side, Harry's Bar serves good food and great Guinness and again, the staff were delightful. Breakfast is substantial and the wifi works well.

Overall, I reckon the good bits outweigh the quibbles by a long way and I'd certainly return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Have stayed there a number of times for business because there is, unfortunately, nowhere else to stay. The receptionists are so rude, especially the older women. They are so rude and rush you on the phone, and in person. The Manager/Owners need to sort this lady out as I have heard other guests complain about her too. Rooms are a little overpriced but ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle West hotels

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If your on the roadand need a place to stay then its OK. However, there is a horrid smell in the corridor and the rooms, I suspect people are smoking in the hotel. The rooms are cold and I dread to think what hasnt been cleaned.... I beleive there is little else choice in Newcastlewest but am sure some of the local B&B offer better value for money and better feel. Reception staff are v friendly and helpful. Bar has a strange, strained atmosphere, although staff are pleasant. Food arrived way to quickly - less than 5 minutes for a full roast pork dinner? A little too modern for me.... Rooms are large however and there is everything you need. I still dont know how, in this day and age, hotels cant afford to put in a decent shower and a modern TV?! Its on the main drag through Newcastlewest and road out front is busy - there are no views at all and no where outside, I guess, as just outside the reception front doors was full of people smoking...

Room Tip: Dont get one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel to stay in if travelling around newcastlewest. Ideal location, clean spacious rooms, good breakfasts and food in bar was good too. Friendly staff on reception desk actually remembered me after a two month gap in stays, impressive! Littlebit pricey but not much other choice in area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtenay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtenay Lodge Hotel

Address: Newcastle West,Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtenay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtenay Lodge Hotel Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtenay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.