We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtenay Lodge Hotel

Courtenay Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtenay Lodge Hotel
Save Saved
You added Courtenay Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Newcastle West,Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newcastle West
stourbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good holiday apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

7 of us stayed in a holiday apartment connected to this hotel. The apartments were next to the river and had obviously been empty for a while as there was a slight smell of damp. The interior of the apartment was spacious and modern with wood floors. The bedrooms were on the lower floor but were spacious.

The apartments lacked sufficient cutlery, china and dining chairs to seat us all but after saying all that we had a super time and really enjoyed our stay. We paid £70 Euro a night and stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
10
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co. Limerick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food is fab at Harrys which is part of The Courtenay Lodge Hotel, Newcastle West, Co. Limerick. Very reasonably priced served by very friendly and efficient staff. Long may it continue as it is. Also plenty of parking virtually on the Limerick - Tralee motorway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a lovely meal in the bar! Food very tasty! All plates empty, you couldnt get a better curry in a chinese!!!! Staff very friendly and a bit of crack, which you dont get in many hotels!!! Overall, it was lovely and quite busy which gave it a good atmosphere! Will definitely stop off here again when passing through!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week on a family trip to Limerick to visit relatives. The rooms (we had 109) were very comfortable, double and single bed and good bathroom with tea and coffee facilities and daily newspapers. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with fruit, breads and full irish option and the breakfast room was nice and relaxing. It is located on a roundabout as you enter Newcastlewest, and the location is good for both the town and accessing surrounding towns. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 109 very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A one night stay was comfortable even if from outside appearances there is a distinct motel look to this place, inside the reception is adequate and the room was ok with an ok bathroom, I had a carvery meal which was good value for €10 and filled a gap.

Breakfast was served to your table and that's a huge plus, ingredients weren't fantastic but this is a 3 star Irish country hotel and typical of its class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel in May I was attending a family celebration in the town, I was very impressed with the friendly staff, especially at reception, the bedrooms were spacious, could do with a little make over and the breakfast first class was served to order.
We did not have dinner so I can not comment on that I'm afraid. It is a very central Hotel.
I would not hesitate in staying here again when I visit family.
Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I always stay here for my business trips. The staff is very nice, rooms are large and clean and the food at Harry's bistro is excellent. Best fish'n chips I had in Ireland! Definitely recommend this place!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtenay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtenay Lodge Hotel

Address: Newcastle West,Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Courtenay Lodge Hotel Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtenay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.