We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle West Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballingowan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ballingowan House to your Saves list
Ballingowan House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Limerick Road, Newcastle West, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
eatons hill, queensland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Newcastle West Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had relatives to visit in Newcastle West and chose Ballingowan B&B for a 3 night stay. We were not disappointed. It would have to be one of the nicest accommodation places we found on our 3 week drive tour around north and south Ireland. From the moment I spoke to Carmel on the phone to book 2 rooms I found her to be so obliging. On arrival we were not disappointed. The rooms were beautiful and Carmel so helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and nothing was a bother. If we needed something Carmel or Charlie would be there to assist. Thank you both for your hospitality and you have a lovely home. You are wonderful ambassadors for your country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
HAINES CITY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ireland is such a beautiful country and in Ireland especially at the Ballingowan House is to be found the greatest accommodations and super hospitality. We are from the US and were thoroughly enjoying Ireland staying overnight here found it to be the best experience we have ever had in a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first day in Ireland after traveling from the US. We were exhausted after no sleep on the plane. Carmel was very accommodating, she took us right up to our rooms and suggested we take a nap and she would wake us up in time for dinner. She suggested a nice pub right down the street which we enjoyed. Had great conversations with her and breakfast was excellent! Thanks for a great first night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Without a doubt, our favourite B&B in Ireland was Ballingowan House. Carmel and Charlie were the most wonderful hosts and simply the kindest people one could hope to meet. The elegant, spotlessly clean surroundings were a real treat, we took full advantage of the deck which overlooked a fabulous garden - I've never seen such beautiful roses! Breakfast was delicious, accompanied by delightful conversations with Carmel and Charlie, our friends in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The owner was very kind, attentive and hospitable. She gave us the names of some restaurants in the area to try for dinner and the one we picked was excellent. The breakfast was very good and she was flexible with the time that we asked for. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay for our group of 9 was great. The rooms were clean and the owner could not have been more helpful. We had a nice night's rest and were treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning. Don't miss this place if you are looking for a place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful with any needs. The full Irish breakfast was very yummy and perfect for the start of a day. The beds were warm and inviting. Wonderful first night in Ireland. Carmel offered us the choice of rooms too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballingowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballingowan House

Address: Limerick Road, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballingowan House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ballingowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballingowan House Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballingowan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.