We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devon Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Devon Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Devon Inn Hotel
Templeglantine Newcastlewest, Newcastle West, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wexford Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for our parents 50th wedding anniversary surprise party. Staff were wonderful. Venue ideal. Rooms comfortable. Food is consistently beautiful. Always use the hotel for events. Had my wedding here 25 years ago and am still returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is cold and damp throughout. The bedrooms were cold and damp. The halls were cold and damp. There was a cold damp smell throughout the hotel. This hotel is cold and damp throughout. The bedrooms were cold and damp. The halls were cold and damp. There was a cold damp smell throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

have been to this hotel a good few times. recently was at a wedding with 400 guests . the service was amazing and the food top notch.never have i seen a wedding dinner for 400 served with no delays.delicous meal ,friendly efficient staff ,well done devon inn,. other hotels could learn a thing or two from you. ball room very spacious . if your travelling to kerry stop here for a meal , bar food excellent and good price too.

Room Tip: great bar menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Not a spot we would usually stop in but after the food last week it is somewhere I am sure we will revisit. The menu was fantastic and the food delivered. Along with usual bar food like lasange, home made burgers, roast dinners it had plenty of vegetarian options, the goat's cheese tower comes highly recommended. The service was fantastic, our table was checked twice and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We only stopped off for something to eat so cannot comment on the Hotel otherwise.
A group of four with varied taste's in food & cooking desires.
We were given what we asked for in every detail & nothing was a bother.
Super friendly staff who were only too willing to attend your wishes & would check to see that everything was to our liking.
A rural Hotel that was a welcome break on a long trip & there is nothing I could say other than this is a top notch place & we will be back.

Room Tip: Arrive hungry the food is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of my favourite more rural hotels. The food there is really very good, always comes to your table piping hot and properly cooked. Lovely menu - not overcomplicated and the price is agreeable. I will say that the rooms do need a bit of a spruce up. Service at the hotel is brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding here recently and must say the function room was excellent as was the entire wedding reception. Bar staff also were very friendly and helpful.

The staff on check in at reception were a little abrupt, being most insistent that checkout was "strictly at 11am" and that full payment was required upon check in. A few other guests at wedding commented on the same "welcome".

Room was large but seemed a bit of a throw back to the eighties, décor etc.. A bit musty as well. I was a little concerned about lock on door also, as it was an old round push button type. It also seemed a little loose. I wasn't overly confident that it would stand up to much pressure. Bathroom appeared that it had been refurbished but it reminded me of bathroom in a house rather than of a hotel. Breakfast was good. 90 Euro B&B for two was reasonable value. Overall hotel caters well for weddings but rooms require attention.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devon Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Inn Hotel

Also Known As:
Devon Hotel
Devon Inn Hotel Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick
Address: Templeglantine Newcastlewest, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Devon Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.