We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Bar Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devon Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Devon Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Devon Inn Hotel
Templeglantine Newcastlewest, Newcastle West, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newcastle West
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super Bar Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Not a spot we would usually stop in but after the food last week it is somewhere I am sure we will revisit. The menu was fantastic and the food delivered. Along with usual bar food like lasange, home made burgers, roast dinners it had plenty of vegetarian options, the goat's cheese tower comes highly recommended. The service was fantastic, our table was checked twice and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We only stopped off for something to eat so cannot comment on the Hotel otherwise.
A group of four with varied taste's in food & cooking desires.
We were given what we asked for in every detail & nothing was a bother.
Super friendly staff who were only too willing to attend your wishes & would check to see that everything was to our liking.
A rural Hotel that was a welcome break on a long trip & there is nothing I could say other than this is a top notch place & we will be back.

Room Tip: Arrive hungry the food is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of my favourite more rural hotels. The food there is really very good, always comes to your table piping hot and properly cooked. Lovely menu - not overcomplicated and the price is agreeable. I will say that the rooms do need a bit of a spruce up. Service at the hotel is brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding here recently and must say the function room was excellent as was the entire wedding reception. Bar staff also were very friendly and helpful.

The staff on check in at reception were a little abrupt, being most insistent that checkout was "strictly at 11am" and that full payment was required upon check in. A few other guests at wedding commented on the same "welcome".

Room was large but seemed a bit of a throw back to the eighties, décor etc.. A bit musty as well. I was a little concerned about lock on door also, as it was an old round push button type. It also seemed a little loose. I wasn't overly confident that it would stand up to much pressure. Bathroom appeared that it had been refurbished but it reminded me of bathroom in a house rather than of a hotel. Breakfast was good. 90 Euro B&B for two was reasonable value. Overall hotel caters well for weddings but rooms require attention.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

My sister got married here the 1st Friday in May and it was perfect. The day was fab and the ballroom looks amaing. We couldnt have asked for more.Mary and William were brilliant to us. Food was beautiful and staff were so great all day. We all had a ball and would highly recommed you have your wedding here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at the Devon Inn for three nights having been at a family friends 90th birthday party which was held at the hotel. The hotel was very welcoming and the 90th Birthday function they put on was fantastic - food, function room, service etc - superb.

On the first night I ate in the bar on my own and was given a very nice quiet table with excellent service all evening. Breakfast very good.

Every member of staff I encountered at the Devon Inn were professional and welcoming. The room was large and the bathroom had an amazing power shower.

All in all this was an excellent stay - I reccommend without reservation

As a group we also had dinner at the 'Leens Hotel' in Abefeale which is owned by the same people - food excellent

Room Tip: Room 38 large and spacious - really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Devon Inn bar food is tasty and the staff are efficient and friendly, it has to be said some more so that others! The bar is nicely decorated and comfortable. For anyone passing on their way to Limerick or Kerry its an ideal place to stop. The menu is varied and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devon Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Inn Hotel

Address: Templeglantine Newcastlewest, Newcastle West, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Devon Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Inn Hotel Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.