We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Castle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Castle House
Save
You added Old Castle House to your Saves list
Glin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Glin B&B and Inns
1 review
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Hosts couldn't have done more for us, lovely building, rooms beautiful and very cosy. Tasty brekky too, highly recommended. Idealic grounds also make for a very relaxing experience and had the best pint of Guiness in the family pub down the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
39
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Jack and Esther for their superb hospitality. The food was excellent and the rooms were boutique hotel in style. Glin is an excellent base for exploring west Kerry & Clare and i cannot recommend Old Castle House highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pr23rb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't know why we never stayed here before. Everything was so clean and comfortable. The shower was the best one from any place we have ever stayed. The food was really good and the hosts were absolutely brilliant. The only thing, and this is not a criticism, was the absence of tea facilities in the bedrooms. WILL definitely book this as first choice when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD,USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

By far, Ester made the best Irish breakfast we had while in Ireland! We had such a nice stay - Ester and Jack were very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable, and the house looked very much like one might envision for a cozy Irish home. The rooms were standard bedrooms, nothing fancy but extremely charming. This was our first night in Ireland and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience - a relaxing night for weary travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have a 10 week contract near Glin and I am very fortunate to have found wonderful accommodation staying at the Old Castle House for the 10 week period.
Ester & Jack have really looked after me and made me feel at home.
My room is both spacious and tasteful with ensuite facility.
The breakfast is something to desire.
The house is in a beautiful setting next to the river and the old castle.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were a group that stayed in Old Castle House for a sporting event that was on in the area. The hosts did all they could to cater for our needs which at times may have been out of the ordinary .
The surroundings are beautiful and the rooms are of very high quality. A very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a beautiful home! It was exciting having the Old castle right at the front of the property and the stream running on the side made for such a beautiful setting. Our hosts were very pleasant and friendly. Our room and private bathroom were both spacious and elegantly decorated. The full Irish breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Address: Glin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Castle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.