We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Oaks House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Oaks House Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Oaks House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at a family wedding. The setting was lovely - with access to the river - lovely for photos. Excellent service from the hotel staff - friendly and helpful and the food was great.

We stayed in room 203 - a large family room (2 single beds and a double) - the bathroom was a little tired and could do with an update but this would not put me off staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    57
    19
    21
    24
See reviews for
105
72
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is really lovely. The grounds are fab and the walk by the river is beautiful. Rooms are real nice too. Enjoyed our stay very much. Pity the leisure facilities are in a separate building as it was wet one of the days we were there

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you have anyone elderly or incapacitated traveling with you as this is a liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The service was first class! Rooms were beautiful and clean. We were able to check in early with no issues whatsoever, and the staff were absolutely lovely. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our Gym Club were competing in the University of Limerick at the National Gymnastics Championships. We were 11 adults and 12 children from 10-15 years old, We stayed in the 2 bed room court yard suites and they were perfect each had two bedrooms upstairs laid out as twin or double but ample room for an extra bed, each was en suite. On the ground floor there was a living room with 2 large couches - all 3 rooms had tvs and a dining room with table and chairs for 4 persons. Very spacious and perfect for us with parking outside our room. The swimming pool was a great hit with the kids, the tennis court was old but functional.

Food on night one we ate at the bar, the food was great although the service was slow, you have to allow for the fact you are in the country and that the CastleOaks perfects this pace of life, The setting is wonderful ideal for peace and quiet, charmed bar and old world style. Breakfast was buffet style.

Night 2 we hoped to be back at the hotel in time for dinner however they only serve hot food until 0930pm and it it was after that when we returned. The hotel were so accommodating and agreed that as our return time was circa 11pm they would give us cutlery and plates and we could collect food en to eat at the rooms

Each and every one of us loved our visit the relaxed and informal attitude was welcome we hope to qualify for the championships again in 2015 and will be rebooking the Castle Oaks

Room Tip: Court yard suites are right next to the hotel, however do not have a fridge but ideal for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the Easter weekend and had a great time . The food was excellent and we attended a wedding on Easter Sunday . Castle Oaks House Hotel is a great venue for a wedding and the meal was out of the world. The staff were friendly and kind and nothing was to much trouble .
Thank you once again to all the staff.
Grainne Henry

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The frosty and unfriendly receptionist when we checked in at 16.00 approx coupled with the hotel manager's dismissive reaction when we asked for a second room key led us to question the hotel's rating of 3!!! Senior staff meeting customers need a tiny bit of 'attitudinal adjustment' in the fiercely competitive hospitality sector!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickMiddleton, Owner at Castle Oaks House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Broadminded,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Castle Oaks House Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt you did not receive a courtesy check in upon arrival. I would be obliged if you would forward a contact number and convenient time that I could contact you and discuss the issues you raised.
Kind Regards, Gobnait O’Connell. Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and child were in the bar for lunch last Saturday. We had two curries and spaghetti bolognaise. My daughter told me she couldn't eat her meal. I tried it and it was inedible. Our curry was very average and similar to what I would get in my canteen at work. I asked for a glass of white wine and it was warm. When it came to paying for the bill I told the waitress that I wouldn't pay for the spaghetti bolognaise or the wine as neither of them were consumed. I gave her a written recipe for a basic authentic bolognaise as clearly the chef did not know how to cook one. The manager came out and I explained why I wouldn't pay for everything. He corrected the bill to exclude the bolognaise and wine. The manager did not offer any apology whatsoever and was extremely unfriendly. I also found the place needed a complete refurbishment as it is looking tatty. We sat at a window and the window sill was quite dirty. We realised after that we should have gone to Tuscany Bistro where the food and wine is always excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Oaks House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Oaks House Hotel

Address: Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Castleconnell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Oaks House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Oaks House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Oaks Castleconnell
Castle Oaks House Hotel Castleconnell, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Oaks House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.