We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, excellent break, kids loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Oaks House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle Oaks House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Oaks House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castleconnell
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, excellent break, kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I along with our 3 kids had a wonderful stay here during the week. We stayed in the Garden Suites and the house was lovely. Arrived to a lovely warm house, the heating was on and it was so cosy and welcoming. We had a fantastic evening meal and the staff were excellent even catering for our autistic son by facilitating us with a meal that wasn't on the menu. We had our assistant dog with us too and the staff were very understanding and even reserved a table for us at Breakfast time. The staff and management went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel most welcome. The grounds to the hotel were fantastic for the kids and ourselves. The kids had a great time on the tennis courts, the fantastic pool and with the activities put on for them in the morning. We enjoyed the walks down to the river and the play area on site. We took a stroll down to the playground at the village too and thus is only 2 minutes walk away. It was a lovely stay at the best place for young kids we've ever been in Ireland. The management and staff were excellent, this one family who will definitely be back and will certainly recommend the Castleoaks as a very family friendly hotel. Top class.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    53
    16
    20
    23
See reviews for
96
65
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have only one complaint...One day & one night in this Beautiful Hotel was too short! Everything was at it's highest standard.Beautiful,outstanding views of the river Shannon & the Hotel's magnificent grounds.The staff were so friendly & the food was so fresh & tasted divine! We were sad we only booked to stay the one night but we've promised ourselves we will be returning & this time for longer! ***** 5stars a must from us!

Room Tip: For an extra bit of pampering...Try & book The Superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very late review since we got married in November 2011! We chose the Castle Oaks for a number of reasons. Primarily, the staff were really friendly, professional and organised when they met us, moreso than other hotels in the area. The location is also lovely and I had heard good things from others about weddings there. My husband is French and had a big crowd coming from France. It was important to us to be able to house everyone together for a good rate in a location that's easy to find.

The staff at the Castle Oaks were nothing but helpful from start to finish. We really hadn't a clue what we were doing with most things! Lots of aspects of wedding planning were lost on us and the Castle Oaks staff were great throughout - They were really patient in advising us and catering to our needs - which were fairly specific since we were trying to cater for both Irish and French people. Every detail was taken care of, from storing our wine in advance of the wedding to organising hotel bookings for all the French guests.

Our guests - both Irish and French - had a fantastic day (as did we) and the staff at the Castle Oaks had a huge part to play in that.

I would highly recommend the hotel for weddings. It ticked every box we were looking for and surpassed our expectations in every respect.

Finally, a big thank you to Jamie who was really sick on the night of the wedding but still provided the best service imaginable to us.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights last week in the garden suites. Top class breakfast and the evening food was excellent too - enjoyed by 2 adults and 1 teenager and 2 kids. TV in living room area could have better reception but rooms clean and comfortable. Great place to stay for touring limerick. Ard na crusha worth a look and national kart centre good too. We will go back again. Recommended for families

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, I have friends in Limerick and like to get down a few times a year. I prefer staying a bit out of town and Castleconnell is perfect for that, more so given it's close proximity to the Dublin road. It really is a quaint little village.

The food is lovely, very tasty and the River Shannon offers a beautiful backdrop as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was very disappointed that when i booked my hotel reservation i was not told that a room in hotel unavailable and that i was being given a Garden Suite sound good but believe me you would be better of staying at home. These suites are more for families who may find hotel rooms too small or for someone who is attending a function in hotel, definately not for a couple looking forward to a short break away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed here several times and really enjoyed the location in the quiet village of castleconnell. The river walk near the hotel is lovely. The food was very good too and there's a large range of pub grub in the bar.It was relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are rental cottages too and the beauty parlour is lovely and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Oaks House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Oaks House Hotel

Address: Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Castleconnell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castleconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Oaks House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castle Oaks House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Oaks Castleconnell
Castle Oaks House Hotel Castleconnell, Ireland - County Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Oaks House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.