We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rathnew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter's Hotel
Save
You added Hunter's Hotel to your Saves list
Newrath Bridge, Rathnew, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very accessible to Dublin and a lovely location. The food was very good and the relaxing attitude of the staff was great. Rooms reflect the age of the hotel and although you are only 30 minutes from Dublin, it seems a lifetime away. Quirky and well worth a visit for the food alone. Lovely little bar and a separate drawing room all with real fires.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but get one overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
40
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here many times before but not for some time until last week. We'd forgotten how unique this hotel is. From the moment we were shown to our room with a real fire lit on our arrival, we were sent back in
time. Dinner was simple, tasty and prepared with care. Then drinks in the bar afterwards (also by the fire) was quiet, relaxing and we felt like we were staying at a friends house as guests all greeted eachother. Staff were courteous and helpful without being overbearing or intrusive. But the gem is the hotel itself, bed linen, bathroom and bedroom were spotless and the olde worlde charm continues throughout with antiques, quirky prints and with a hunting theme. If you are looking for glitz, glamour and a cocktail list (I laughed to myself when I heard another guest asking for one), this is not your place but for that warm and fuzzy feeling, then it is. We even had hot water bottles put in to our bed! Thoroughly charming....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited the restaurant at Hunter's Hotel just before Christmas... Ticked in the lovely Wicklow county and surrounded by sheep farms, this inn has been under one family ownership for over 200 years. After sharing a hot whiskey before the fire we were seated at a beautifully set table in the dining room... My lamb's liver and bacon was delish. Other dishes got high marks. Excellent service. Retired again to our fireside for some champagne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A good friend from Ireland introduced us to this wonderful classic hotel. Near the end of November we stopped in for tea. We sat in a sitting room in front of a classic fireplace surrounded by antique furniture. Everything was wonderful and it was the perfect way to relax at the end of the day. A classic piece of history in the Irish countryside. Hard to beat the experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Probably the best way to describe this gem of a place is to imagine you were invited by well-to -do and generous friends to spend a weekend in their country house. (Admittedly at Hunter's you pay for the experience!) Three of my sisters and I took our 80yr old mother away for a night and 2 weeks later she is still talking about it!! In previous reviews the beautiful rooms, the super-attentive staff and the lovely food are accurately documented. But somehow there is something beyond those descriptions that is to be had at Hunter's. .. Nothing was too much trouble, nothing was hurried , staff took time to chat and actually seemed genuinely interested in their guests having a special time.Just go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were introduced to this wonderful, olde world haven, by our dear friend Sarah over a year ago. Since then it has grown on us on each return experience. From the wonderful relaxed, calm atmosphere, to the charming and evocative interior and antique furniture complimenting the beautifully maintained building with such fine original details all set in such beautiful gardens you cannot but enjoy your time here. These aspects of a "Hunter's experience" are only surpassed by the fantastic food that never fails to satisfy and please the discerning palate. Hunter's is simply a "MUST" if you want to sample the best that Ireland has to offer, by way of standards that should be the benchmark of hospitality but that are sadly disappearing in today's hectic world!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Family lunch is always special here at the oldest coaching inn in Ireland. Great food great service and beautiful gardens and property..a must do in Wicklow. The family go regularly to Hunters for special occasions, and we bring visitors here for a truly unique experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hotel

Address: Newrath Bridge, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's oldest coaching inn. Owned and operated by the same family for nearly 200 years. The hotel, where the King and Queen of Sweden have stayed, boasts open fires, antique furniture and award-winning gardens by the banks of the river Vartry in County Wicklow. Situated in the countryside 40 minutes from Dublin city and 5 minutes from Mount Usher gardens. Lunch, dinner and morning coffee are served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wicklow
Hunter's Hotel Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.