We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blessington, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Romantic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Me and my partner spent a lovely weekend in the Captain suite. All staff were very nice and professional, food in the bar was absolutely lovely, delicious breakfast was served in a beautiful room. It was very close from Dublin, just 40 min by car, very close to the sea and Wicklow Mountains.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello Ewa

Delighted to hear you had a wonderful romantic stay with us. Our Captain Suites are so luxurious and have breathtaking views of the Irish sea. Tinakilly is a hidden treasure and only 40 minutes from Dublin. We would love to welcome you both back soon.
Maybe see you over Valentines weekend?

From all the team
Best wishes
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    118
    56
    23
    28
See reviews for
83
267
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family had a wonderful afternoon with drinks and an exquisite lunch which was great value. The menu had a fabulous selection for those wanting a healthy alternative to the traditional Sunday lunch but also satisfied the traditionalists!

The staff were not only professional but really nice and couldn't be more accommodating. The interior has been restored with great attention to detail - I wish we had booked in for the night =)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
“A perfect afternoon!” and a 5 star rating, thank you!

Tinakilly is all about delicious food and spending family time together on a Sunday afternoon.. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, it gives us great joy to hear our dedicated team looked after you so well.
Next time stay over in one of our luxury suites and we promise you a relaxing break in our beautifully restored country house.

Best wishes from all the team

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited with family for afternoon tea, and were treated as if we were high society. Greeted by every staff member with a smile and furnished with tales of history and wicklow's finest sea views, cherished afternoon. We will be back in a hurry.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings from Tinakilly

So pleased to hear you enjoyed afternoon tea with your family, it's always such a nice treat for a family gathering. It was our pleasure to look after you all so well and left with long lasting memories of our beautiful hotel and wonderful staff. Come back and visit us soon, maybe have lunch or dinner next time.

Best wishes from all the team
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Myself and my extended family recently stayed in tinakilly house for a special christmas getaway. There were 23 of us in total (a mixture of adults and children ) . This is the one night when the family travel from near and far to get together. This is an annual occurrence but our first time in tinakilly house.

Our bedroom was poorly cleaned prior to our arrival as there was an empty paracetemol packet on the radiator in our room.

We booked a private room for dinner which was Ok but not great. The staff serving dinner were very pleasant and looked after us quite well. The food was a bit hit and miss. After dinner we split up and some people went to the lobby to relax by the fire and some went to the bar. A short while later the owner asked any guests in the lobby to move on to the bar so as not to disturb any guests above the lobby.

At approximately 01:15 the hotel owner came into the residents bar to ask all parties to keep the noise down as the guests in rooms 1 and 5 couldn't sleep. This was duly noted by the four remaining tables which were all occupied in the bar and those guests still present spoke more quietly. ( the volume level prior to the owner coming in was not rowdy nor particularly loud and there was no singing. I would describe it as jovial conversation. At 01:45 we approached the night porter to order a round of drinks for the four people at our table only to be told that the residents bar was closed. The owner had shut the bar and sent the barman home. ( For any non Irish readers of this, this is unknown practice in Ireland. All hotels have the right to close the bar at any time they wish but it is standard practice and common courtesy to give notice to your paying guests of last orders. Not to shut the bar without telling anybody.)

We asked the night porter if it was possible to order a drink from him and take it to our rooms and we were informed that it wasn't an option as the bar was closed. I also asked if it was possible to still speak to the owner but was informed he had just left and was not contactable.

We then retired to our rooms only to find that the electric lights were not working in a couple of the rooms. We once again called the night porter who was unable to offer any assistance bar running a cable from another room to a standup lamp. There were no lights in the bathrooms all night and hence no showers in the morning as there were no windows. We expressed our concerns at the fact that dragging cables across rooms to standup lamps was particularly unsafe as the you had to travel across the room in pitch darkness to find the lamp. he had no solution only that there was nothing he could do. Thank God there wasn't a fire or an accident.

I tried to raise these concerns in the morning with the receptionist. She apologised and said she was sorry we didn't enjoy our stay but " here's your bill" She also told me she would get a manager to call me to discuss our concerns.

I waited a week before calling back the hotel to give the Manager time to call me back but no call was received.

Since then I have called the hotel three times and asked to speak to a manager button each occasion was informed that he was not available but that the message would be passed on and get him to call me. I still have not received a single call back from the hotel to discuss our concerns.

I'm still looking forward to hearing back from someone from the hotel. To date I have found the attitude of the owners and management very ignorant and unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Pick one with electricity
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Close to Dublin but another world, we spent one night and enjoyed dinner and breakfast. The room was Hugh with a lovely four poster bed. Food and service were good, one waitress (Ally) in particular stood out for her friendly manner and excellent service. We would definitely recommend Tinakilly and hope to come back next time we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetings from all the team in Tinakilly,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Tinakilly after your very long journey from Australia.
We are very pleased you experienced our warm Irish hospitality from Ali, Eddie our Chef and the rest of the team, they truly are the best in the business!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ireland.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Tinakilly House eighteen years ago, and now that we are retired decided to revisit, wondering if the experience would be as good as the first time. We need not have worried, we had a great welcome when we arrived and stayed in the same room as before. The hotel is an old country mansion and many of the original features have been retained. which adds to the peaceful atmosphere of the place, there are extensive well kept gardens and well worth walking around. Our room was large, clean and well maintained and the four poster bed added to the overall experience. The breakfast was very good and the evening meal excellent. However what makes Tinakilly House really exceptional is the staff, all of whom are genuinely friendly and helpful. In fact I would say that it was a home from home experience except I could never afford such a home. I would like to mention two members of staff, Ali, who makes an truly excellent mulled wine, and Marion in the restaurant who ensured my wine glass was always full. For a truly relaxing holiday in superb surroundings this is the place to go. It will certainly be less than eighteen years before we go again

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the original House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Tony

Thank you for all your lovely comments during your recent stay in Tinakilly.

We love looking after our guests to ensure they take home wonderful happy and memorable experiences with them.

We are so pleased we lived up to and exceeded your expectations from your honeymoon visit with us 18 years ago! There's been quite a few changes since then..and all good.

May we wish you both many more happy years together and don't leave it as long the next time! Tinakilly is always welcome to you and we will have a nice glass of wine waiting for you on your arrival.

Happy New Year from all the team here.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, E Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in the Tinakilly Country House Hotel on the 17th Dec 2013
The room was very comfortable and large with a sea view.
We had an evening meal which was excellent and the breakfast was table service and the food was first class.
We have stayed in Tinakilly many times and it is still my favourite.

Room Tip: The sea view room is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Tinakilly and of course the 5 star rating.

It is wonderful to hear your comments regarding your accommodation and dining experience as being 'first class' Our newly refurbished Suites have the most amazing views of our gardens or the Irish sea,

We hope you will return to visit us again in the near future.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.