We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Rathnew
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very pretty country house. Front desk staff where so lovely and very friendly. Room was really nice, four poster bed, very clean and comfortable. We eat in the bar twice and had breakfast to our room, all very nice would highly recommend it. Bar staff where very friendly. Only bad thing I could say would be the bad service/waiting time. We sat for over half an hour waiting to be served and get menus so we ended up taking our own menus and ordering at the bar on both occasions, which you don't really expect to have to do when you are staying in a four star hotel. When ordering dinner my partner stood at the bar waiting to order for about 15 minutes. Other than that I could not fault the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay in Tinakilly.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are always eager to assist our guests in every way possible to ensure they receive the highest level of service so I am very sorry to hear you experienced a delay when making an order, we sincerely apologize for this and we will address this matter.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    94
    49
    15
    20
See reviews for
61
226
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

History seems to ooze from this great old mansion, built by the sea captain who was involved in laying the telegraph cable between Ireland and North America in the mid-1800s. We stayed in the captain's own second-story bedroom, which was very large and had a huge bay window overlooking the grounds, which are very beautiful and front on the Channel sound. The wide stairway leading up to the second floor is one of the grandest in Ireland.

I talked with the affable brand new owner and his son, who live in Dublin and happened to be there at the time. The hotel had been deteriorating for many years, but the owner and his crew were already carrying out much-needed restoration while we were there, and I suspect the house will be much-improved the next time we stay there.

Ask someone to show you the American Sequoia trees, which were planted 150 years ago.

Room Tip: Our room was labeled a suite, so it was one of the largest in the house. The bathroom was small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and all your positive comments which are very much appreciated.

We are so pleased you had a memorable experience in this beautiful Country House Hotel which is steeped in history and retains beautiful period features and charm.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Catherine

There is ongoing refurbishment taking place and
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday night, afternoon tea was wonderful, dinner great and breakfast provided by the very friendly owner was delightful! A truly lovely calm experience. Extremely friendly and nice staff. Thanks for a super weekend! AnneMarie Doran. London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for your 5 star review during your stay in Tinakilly.

We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and much appreciate all your great comments.

We hope you will return soon.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've stayed at Tinakilly a number of times in the past and have always enjoyed the trip. It's a 30 minute drive from South Dublin, but at the end of the driveway a different world awaits. From the phone call to make the booking, through check in, dinner and breakfast the service was wonderful. Some of the friendliest staff that I have encountered anywhere. They couldn't do enough to help The new owner Denis is to be seen around the place. He mentioned that he is trying to create a friendly and relaxing bolt-hole on Dublin's doorstep. On this evidence he is off to a winning start!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your 5 star review regarding your recent visit to Tinakilly.

We really appreciate your comments about your wonderful experience from the time of making your reservation to the time of your departure,

Tinakilly is indeed the most relaxing and friendly place to be and only 30 mins from Dublin so we do hope to see you back time and time again

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived from Dublin (a short 30 minute drive) and were greeted by friendly staff. They couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are spacious and importantly, quiet. Breakfast, and dinner (we didn't do lunch) were excellent. Lashings of fresh fruit and a-la-carte choices. The dinner was professionally presented. We couldn't be happier and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay in Tinakilly and the wonderful positive comments.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Catheirne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just spent a weekend break at Tinakilly. and having stayed there several times in the past was a bit worried as a year ago this hotel was going downhill. I need not have worried. Under new ownership the changes were easy to see and feel as soon as you arrived. Staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful throughout the weekend. This service continued throughout the hotel. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was top class and the service matched that. The new owner spent a lot of time talking to guests and made everyone feel totally relaxed. The hotel is going through a lot of upgrading and is definitely going in the right direction. If all the plans continue as the owner told us about this hotel will be of a very high standard. Everything is positive about every aspect of this hotel. Will recommend this 100%.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for the 5 star review and the wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to Tinakilly. We are receiving tremendous support from the local community and a far

We are so excited about the new changes and lots more to come!.

Hope you will return again soon.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Tinakilly House Hotel 4th 5th November. We can only say we could not fault anything in this hotel we enjoyed our food which we had in the bar on the first evening very tasty enjoyed a few G&Ts afterwards by the fire. On the second evening we dined in the restaurant had the rib eye which was cooked to our satisfaction really nice and a fab bottle of wine beautifully chilled really good food. The waitress could not have done enough for us we enjoyed chatting to her about our travels that day. Anything we asked about the food on both menus was most helpful. The dining room is very tastefully decorated. We loved our bedroom which was spacious and very cosy. Breakfast on both mornings was good no trouble to the very nice male waiter on second morning to get me poached eggs which were fab. Great selection of fresh fruit crusty breads and cereals. The staff each morning were so pleasant and chatty giving a homely feel to the place. We found all the staff at this hotel most pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the 5 star review regarding your recent stay in Tinakilly.

It is so wonderful to hear the most amazing comments about the accommodation, food overall hotel ambiance and of course our dedicated staff! We just love looking after our guests.

Hope you welcome you back soon

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.