We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated but a lovely getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A little dated but a lovely getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this lovely building and grounds with pleasant views. Checked in and we had a room on the top floor, it was a good size, comfortable and clean. Although, the room felt a little dated in its decor, and the arm chairs (which were comfortable) were a little tired. We thought the room lacked both natural light (with only one small window and a skylight) and even artificial light; the ceiling had a single lamp which only illuminated the centre of the room - the bathroom was like daylight in comparison!
The only real flaw with the en-suite room was the over-bath shower, as although it would get the job done, it was a little like being hosed down with its uncontrollable water nozzle!

Having the €33 3 course evening meal was generally excellent, with delicious food and reasonable service. Unfortunately the atmosphere, I.e. the sheer silence of the room was like sitting in a monastery where you dared not to talk. So much so, when the lovely waitress spoke it was a fright!!
Breakfast was pleasant, and inclusive in our room price, but not sure we'd pay for it if it wasn't included. Everything was good with the breakfast, better than average, just not wowed.

Overall, really liked the place with it main areas beautifully decorated and full of character and would come back as you could comfortably stay there for a few days.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Tinakilly.

We are undergoing a major new refurbishment of the hotel and our new product will address some of the comments you alluded to. The refurbishment will be completed over the next 6-8 weeks, If you would like to view the hotel please contact us at info@tinakilly.ie

We look forward to hearing from you

Kindest regards
Catherine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    107
    54
    18
    22
See reviews for
74
249
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We called in for something to eat on our way to Mount Usher gardens. We had lunch in the bar.The service was good there but the bread for the sandwiches was hard.We had asked for a mixed plate of sandwiches but were told the chef would not dothis.As we were frequent visitors to the area we were keen to see one of the guest rooms,but were told this was not possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I appreciate your feedback regarding lunch and will pass on your comments to our chef.

I am very sorry that we were unable to show you our bedrooms and this is not our policy as we always encourage our guests to view our facilities. The reason might have been that we didn't have any clean rooms available at the time of your request.

We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment of the hotel and hope you will return to view our new facilities in the next few weeks. If you would like to arrange a viewing of the hotel please feel free to contact me at info@tinakilly.ie

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in Tinakilly and loved the location and the old world feel of this hotel. As others have said if you want leisure centres and sleekness stay away. What you get here is old world grandure and a sense of really being well looked after. The staff are extremely welcoming and take great pride in their work and hotel.
The only thing that let this place down was the dinner we had on their early bird menu. Service was very slow and we waited ages between courses. The food was hit and miss and although we would return to stay here we would eat elsewhere. Breakfast was good in fairness on our three night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this review and your experience in Tinakilly.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the ambiance very peaceful.
We take all your comments on board and will address any of the negative ones.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. The owner was very welcoming and friendly, as was Jolene who checked us in, and the breakfast was terrific- full Irish buffet style, cereals, juices, etc. with really good tasting produce across the board.

However, we found the other two lady receptionists to be on the cold side and even on check out, the lady checking us out wasn't in any way friendly or nice, even after I complimented the incredible breakfast on leaving. A few words, such as 'thanks', or 'We look forward to seeing you again', or 'Glad you enjoyed' would have gone a long way, rather than a stony blank look on her face and saying nothing! But otherwise, beautiful house and a nice stay.
We were in Room 6 which was certainly nice but try another room if you can as the shower in this was a little cramped and 70s style and the room overall a little tired. Carpet let down the room also and would make a big difference if replaced. Oh, and gorgeous toiletries. They could actually sell the shampoos and lotions and stuff, it was nicest I've come across ever! @owner: Well done on doing this historic house some justice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Tinakilly and take all the positive comments on board and will address some of the negative ones too.

We do hope you will return to Tinakilly in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked a mid-week break to coincide with our 20 year anniversary. We had a most enjoyable experience. It was like visiting a friend's house, very easy going and informal. The staff (though few) were most pleasant and efficient. The room we had was spacious and clean, if a little tired. We ate in the restaurant one night and had a very pleasant and well presented meal, The other two nights we ate in the bar and, although it didn.t bother us, the service was extremely slow.More waiting staff would have rectified this problem. The food was good and reasonably priced. IA revamp seemed to be underway whilst we were there, but, PLEASE DO NOT PAINT THE EXTERIOR!! About the gardens. Wicklow is known as the garden of Ireland, notabally Powerscourt, Mount Usher and Kilrudderry are nearby and on a smaller scale the Maze gardens near Grennan and the lovely herbeacous cottage like garden in Hunters hotel are fine excamples of a long tradition of plantmanship in this east coast county. Tinakilly grounds and gardens have the potential to be very beautiful. A beautiful entrance, treelined, creating a long informal walk up to the house used by walkers, but the two Lawson cypress or whatever their name is are totally incorrect and give a very suburban vibe to what is already a perfect landscape. The replacement urns placed at strategic focal points at the descent to the terraces are overkill and remind me of ones seen on a visit to Monte Carlo. Rather than giving the grounds and garden this style of makeover, endorse and enrich what is already there and remember that these Victorian residences heavaily relied on evergreen shrubbery with seasonal colour. A Tree seat around one of the speciem trees would be a nice touch. Also on the very long avenue , the grass could be let grow long with mown paths to create interest for the many walkers. Otherwise the place is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Tinakilly.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and received excellent customer service from our staff.

We take on board your comments regarding our new refurbishment and our plan is to remain as a country house hotel with plenty of charm and a wow factor.

We hope you will return in a few months time to see the completion of this major refurbishment project.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed her last sat night, as a surprise for his 40th Birthday. Our room was fabulous with beautiful views of the garden. Although there was a wedding on in the hotel, the staff had plenty of time to chat with us. Both the lady that checked us in and the lady on reception the following morning were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Probably the best customer service I have ever seen. Breakfast was tasty with really good quality produce. Overall a wonderful experience.Thank you so much

Room Tip: We stayed in no 65, with wonderful views of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Tinakilly.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and received the highest customer service experience from our wonderful staff, your comments will be passed on to everyone here.

We hope you will return in the future for another stay.

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Taking a long weekend trip to Ireland we wanted to stay somewhere special - and we found it. To start with the very kind and friendly lady on reception couldn't of been more helpful and allowed us to check in early, which is always good after an early start and flight. The hotel its self was charming and although needing a touch of paint in places it had a lovely feel about it and with all the staff being so attentive it made a great weekend for us. We ate in the bar for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and breakfast was very good. The only thing we would have to say as a negative is that the hotel needs more staff - especially at breakfast. A delight to have found this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakilly-House, Director of Sales at Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing this review and all the wonderful positive comments.

We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay in Tinakilly

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Enjoy the rest of your Summer

Kindest regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant Ireland/Rathnew, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.