We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Parkview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent two lovely nights in Parkvew. Staff are really nice, friendly and accomodating. Room we stayed in was fabulous, great view, balcony, and ridiculously comfortable bed. Food tasty and varied. And Christy in the bar makes fab cocktails!!
Really recommend it to get away from it all. Wouldn't be great for kids, unless you are going to travel around.
Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    91
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
39
167
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Me and my friends went to this hotel for 4 nights. The location is ideal for visiting Enniskerry and Dublin is situaded 40 km away, which is not too far.
The staff was nice, the receptionist gave us some tips for our trip, in general they were helpful.
We were pleasantly surprised by the size and condition that the room had. The rooms were warm (which was important, considering how cold it was), beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large with good facilities.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but there is a Dunne's store where we picked some food for breakfast. Bedrooms have coffe, tea, milk and a kettle, which was very nice.
The only negative comment about the rooms is the wi fi signal that was not very strong.
Overall, great value, for what we get.
Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jozz13
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel for the money we paid. It's large, very good condition - in fact the rooms were plush. Very clean and comfortable. The bathroom even had a large bath. And there's free Wi-Fi with a good connection in the rooms. We didn't have breakfast but there is a Dunne's store across the road with a food department, so we picked up a picnic and set off for the day to Wicklow National Park - very close by. And this hotel is only 20mins from Dublin, so it would be ideal to stay for trips to the city as well if you have a car and didn't want to stay in the centre. The only negative comment is that the beds are a bit firm but if this was addressed (with a mattress topper maybe?) then it would be perfect! Very friendly staff too. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have a pleasant view of Wicklow mountains in the distance but are overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night, (Patricks night), with my girlfriend, and i must say, we had a great night...Arrived to be greeted by the receptionist at 12, who was great...Had a laugh and a joke with us, and made us instantly feel welcome...Our room was great..Very clean, modern and spacious...We had our dinner, and breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was amazing..Service was also very swift, and friendly...The value for money was so reasonable, we couldn't believe the dinner was 3 course :)..All in all, staff were extremely friendly, the hotel was perfect, and the food was second to none...Would stay again at the drop of a hat...:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel.Comfortable,warm,clean room with all the facilities we needed including free wi fi.
Staff were really helpful and food was excellent and speedily provided at short notice.
Location ideal for visiting family in Enniskerry and Dublin and such good value for our 10 night stay
We will certainly consider staying here again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stopped over for a pint in the bar last weekend, superb hotel with very friendly staff. Its a real jewel off the beaten track. The bar also offered an excellent choice of food with a fully stocked restaurant beside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were really impressed with this hotel! Great location (c.30 mins drive from Dublin city) with so much to see and do nearby Druids Glen, Glendalough, Roundwood, Greystones. The rooms were spotless and really comfortable, nice bar, the food in the restaurant was really good - with friendly and attentive staff, the full Irish breakfast was freshly cooked (as opposed to a buffet). Would recommend this hotel to anyone, be it looking for a nice break just outside of Dublin or for anyone to keen to explore what Wicklow has to offer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.