We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wexford,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and we are sorry we did not stay longer. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, the hotel rooms were beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean, and the food was excellent in both the bar and restaurant. The area is also ideal as a starting point for touring.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to walk through the bar to get to the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    81
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
151
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Just back from 2 nights at the parkview hotel. Really nice hotel, room we stayed in was lovely, spacious & clean. The food was gorgeous, went for bar food the 1st night as I wasn't that hungry and just got a starter but it was as big as a main (chicken goujons). The town itself nothing really to write home about but the hotel makes up for it, we just stayed there for the two days. Would definately recommend this hotel to couples.

  • Liked — Food, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Town itself
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

Decided on staying at the Parkview having seen a good price online. I contacted them directly to find out about their Superior rooms and having been dazzled with the promise of a king-size bed, jacuzzi, views and a seperate dining area I went with this option regardless of there being a 60 euro difference between this and the internet price of a standard room.

The room on first appearances was very comfortable. The flatscreen tv and the large bathroom were both nice touches. The seperate dining area however was a small pedestal table in the corner, more like a coffee table.

We had a lovely meal after going for the early bird menu which was very good quality for the price. We took our drinks into the bar but the atmosphere was so limp we quit pretty early.

Then the fun started....There was a function downstairs and at first we thought the noise was due to us not having closed our windows properly, but we had, the windows don't seem to be sealed correctly. In addition to being treated to a night long of bad caberet type music (We could actually hear the words of the songs!) the wind caused the windows to whistle and squeek.

Add to this the fact that our "king size bed" was in fact two single pushed together, complete with groove down the middle. What looked like a big fluffy duvet was bog standard, cheap and made you feel like you were being cooked. Not at all what I expected for the price.

I remarked about the noise to the lady at reception the following morning to which it was answered "Oh yeah, the party" and that was that...!!

Overall, the Parkview was beautifully decorated and I couldn't fault the food. The service in the restaurant was very good but the reception staff, although effiecient, were quite cold. The room was awful for the price and would cause me to never stay again, I left feeling very tired.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The bedroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Just back from an overnight stay at the wonderful Parkview Hotel at first I was a little unsure when booking this hotel as their website was very poor and did not reflect the hotel at all (so don’t be put off by it).

On arrival I was welcomed by a friendly lady on Reception whom furnished with all the information regarding the hotel and its facilities. The hotel is bright, modern, and has a real cosy feel to it.

Next step was the hotel room- it was so nice (although it was a smoking room even though I had requested a non-smoking room). The room was a very open spacious room with natural light and a mini balcony overlooking the hotel car park which is a welcome edition as many hotel rooms get very hot and its nice to open a door instead of a window that doesn’t open out fully. The bathroom was a nice size, both the shower and bath is combined and some toiletries are provided such as shampoo and shower gel etc. There is a nice large area around the sink to place your personal belongings and the bathroom boasts a large mirror and light on the mirror (very important ladies!). It is worth a mention that there is a flat screen TV in the room which looks very impressive along with a trouser press, mini bar (if requested), ice bucket and two bath robes.

Once I discovered the room it was time to check out the bar and have something light to eat before our evening meal. On arrival in the bar we took a seat and shortly after sitting down a staff member provided us with menus and took our drinks orders. We both ordered a snack from the menu (sandwich x2, one filled with fresh Wicklow Brie, Rocket and tomato, the other was a steak sandwich), after a short period our food arrived and I am delighted to report it was amazing! Really delicious!

The bar manager came on duty shortly after our arrival in the bar area and his presence was noted, he asked everyone if they were ok and ensured all was in order. The bar staff were busy polishing glasses behind the bar whilst the floor staff looked after the patrons of the bar area the makings of a very organised bar.

Later that night we had dinner in the hotels restaurant and this was a fine dining experience. I had the steak and my friend had the salmon. The staff were amazing and very efficient, the service were excellent we received our food after a very sort period of ordering. The presentation was impeccable and the quality of the food was excellent.

After dinner we retired to the bar and continued having a ‘few drinks’, it was new years eve and there was a few people around the hotel bar. At 12 midnight we were given two glasses of champagne which was very welcomed and appreciated.

I would highly recommend staying in this hotel. It is only 20 mins drive from the Dundrum exit on the M50, I guess it would be a 40-50 min drive from Dublin city centre. If you were coming to the Dublin area and you wanted be based a little outside of the city I would strongly recommend this establishment (but only if you have your own transport). I will be back to stay here again and I would travel out in the future just to have lunch in the hotel bar.


I would like to commend all the staff for making this an enjoyable stay especially the Bar Manager whom was extremely professional and who runs a tight-ship!


**I would however make a recommendation that they invest heavily in a new website as people now book online and its like looking at a shop window**

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Although ,still some building work going on around the streets outside the Hotel,the Hotel itself is a touch of class.
This Hotel has been built from scratch,and the attention to detail is class,even down to the bathrobes in the wardrobe, in a business traveller room,
Great free wireless connection,approx 24 TV Channels mainly freeview ones, shown on 32" Flat screen Tv mounted on room wall,
The sunken bar area is quite unusual,the restaurant does a class range of food ,around €40 for 3 courses.
The Hotel is very modern ,and new throughout,and i would suggest is well worth a stay.
No leisure facilities so far,but i understand they are on the way

  • Liked — The Bedrooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishman in dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I booked into the parkview for myself and my fiancee as a weekend break 20-07-07 for two nights.I had been to newtownmountkennedy before but had not come across the hotel then found out it was only opened a few weeks anyway reception is lovely and bright with very very freindly staff,they were out of superior rooms which i was looking for so got a classic room and a smoking room ,rooms were lovely too bath rooms avarage size the bed was so comfortable,We ate in the hotel for the two nights we were there, because there is not much in the town but give it a year or so with the new shopping centre going up and the town looks as if its been upgraded ,back to the dinners
if your looking for a good meal this is the place to get one, from the bar menu or in the resturant " WOW" these people really know how to make you come back for more,the full irish brekkie was just as nice too so over all this smallish hotel will really make a name for its self in wicklow and ill be back just to try out the superior and that jacuzzi in the room

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Having organised a weekend away for myself and partner, not too close to home(we both live in Dublin) but close enough, we decided on Parkview Newtownmountkennedy( 20 mins drive away). Hotel isnt in great location(beside a building site) but that doesnt take away from the fact that this hotel is quality. Even though only open 9 weeks, the staff are most helpful, the bar/restaurant had amazing food and the rooms were absolutely fabulous. Would reccomend the Superior option, the space is massive and the bed is the most comfortable ive slept in a long time. Considering Ive stayed in Hiltons around the world, these rooms were a cut above most. The plus of the location is the beautiful towns and villages close by, and the scenery is amazing.Overall, a wonderful place to stay for a weekend getaway.(Oh, and dont forget the rooms have a jacuzzi bath, with just enough room for two!!!!

  • Liked — Bed - was amazing!!!
  • Disliked — building work next door
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.