We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Druids Glen Resort

Save Saved
You added Druids Glen Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Druids Glen Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This spectacular hotel is best known as a base to enjoy the resort's fantastic golf courses. They are indeed marvelous, but I can attest that it makes a fabulous setting for a traditional Irish wedding. The bedrooms are spacious and bright, the the function suits are beautiful and the staff were simply fantastic. Nothing, including providing a bow tie for me, was too much effort. It was wonderful. The friendly Irish staff and our generous, welcoming hosts made this a truly memorable experience for us all. I took 3 rooms and they were all excellent.

Forty minutes from Dublin airport this is a venue with some style an class and certainly worthy a any big occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor to the rear of the hotel, above the reception for some lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    243
    86
    37
    10
See reviews for
263
350
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here the week before Xmas - hotel was beautifully decorated - staff everwhere are so pleasant and efficient - we had a family room which was fab - our little grandaughter had the time of her life in the pool, play room and play ground. Food in the bar was lovely and served by most attentive staff who ensured the little one was occupied with crayons etc. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed twice in December for two different occasions
The staff were superb so friendly (Edel --front desk--efficient, friendly
On arrival our rooms were ready even at 11:30am Health facilities, Spa and Restaurant each Superb
A fabulous hotel and I would without hesitation highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent a Saturday night at this lovely hotel - upgraded on our arrival to a suite. Very impressed with the warm welcome and polite efficiency at check-in. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had pre-dinner drinks in the gorgeous bar - almost scandinavian in appearance, relaxing and classy at the same time. Ate in the restaurant (there were six of us) and the service was excellent - the waiters judged their attention perfectly and it made for a very memorable dining experience. The men retired to a beautiful outdoor decking area for cigars and were kept warm with patio style heaters. Breakfast the following morning was very good - excellent choice and omelettes/eggs/pancakes to order. If I had to find any little niggles, they would be the supply of tea/coffee making facilities and the quality of the live music in the bar - but these did not detract from a very lovely time at a classy hotel. Don't leave without a walk around the extensive grounds - they are stunning. I do not have any interest in golf but if I did, I am sure I would book a round at this resort.

Room Tip: Leave time to explore the grounds and also a former stately home Powerscourt nearby for the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in an executive suite and it was excellent. The service was brilliant from the moment we checked in. All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I did a spa treatment which was really lovely. Overall, it was a fabulous stay and we would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went as a family for my husbands birthday. Our check in was fast and efficient. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The play area was excellent for the grand children. We were told we had been upgraded, I would like to know what the original room was like. Our room was clean but basic, what I would expect from a 3 star hotel, but not 5 star by any means. Our breakfast was cold, had been sitting for some time. The toaster was broken (one) to accommodate all the guests. We had a dinner included in our package, it was small and basic, lacked imagination, no sauces and vegetables sparse. My daughter and I were very sick on the second night, we later realised we both had eaten the same choice. We spoke to different managers to find out what had happened, we feel we had food poisoning. Our telephone numbers and home address were taken and told they would be in touch as to what had happened. However that was the beginning of October, it is now the beginning of December and we have not been given any explanation. I don't think it was very good customer relations. I Would not recommend this hotel and definitely not 5star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Tyronegal,

I do apologise profusely for the lack of follow up on your complaint and can assure of the seriousness with which we take any illness during a guests stay with us. I always appreciate feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to share. I would welcome further feedback from you if you had time to contact me directly so that I may take corrective action.

I would like to reassure you that your experience is most certainly not typical of Druids Glen and I have taken the matter seriously. I do sincerely apologise and can assure you that we have and will continue to take the necessary steps to correct and ensure we are not faced with this situation again.

I hope to hear from you soon and also have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Druids Glen.

Yours sincerely,
Romy Kane
Director of Operations
012870828
romy.kane@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautiful modern and peaceful hotel at the foot of the Wicklow mountains. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff were very attentive. The food was great in the restaurant. We had a drink in the bar prior to our meal and the bar food looked great also!
The leisure centre was well equipped with a great view of the countryside. Our time there though was marred by three children who were there unsupervised. They spent an hour jumping into the pool, throwing items at each other and shouting - not very peaceful!
The grounds of the hotel are just spectacular. It is well worth walking around the perimeter of the golf course just to see the grounds. It really is breathtaking.
Overall we had a delightful stay and are looking forward to returning

Room Tip: Some rooms have been renovated, ask for one of these as they are beautiful and so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Druids Glen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druids Glen Resort

Address: Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Druids Glen Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Druids Glen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Druids Glen Hotel Newtownmountkennedy
Druids Glen Marriott Hotel Country
Newtownmountkennedy Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druids Glen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.