We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Druids Glen Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Druids Glen Resort to your Saves list
Druids Glen Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent six nights at Druids Glen and what a treat. The location is superb, and only a short drive from Dublin Port - although trying to find the hotel in the dark was a bit difficult - however, a young chap in the petrol station where we asked directions said if we followed him he would take us there - which he duly did and a big Thank You to him! This could only happen in Ireland - everyone is so happy to help. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a very warm welcome. Our room was huge, albeit decorated in a rather "corporate" fashion, but it had everything we needed and a great bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle - plus White Company toiletries. The bed was massive and so comfortable. It was lovely to wake up the next morning to a great view of one of the golf courses and the mountains beyond. Where our bedroom was it was so peaceful and quiet. The buffet breakfast was excellent and served up to 11.00 a.m. every day so need to rush. There was a good choice of hot or cold breakfast, plus a chef on hand to cook omelettes and pancakes to order. Only slight criticism that some mornings the scrambled eggs and bacon seemed to have been hanging around for a while (Suppose we should have got up earlier!). The restaurant looks out over a large decked area looking onto the golf course which would be wonderful to sit out on in warmer weather. We ate in the restaurant on our last night, which was a bit of a treat - again the food and service were excellent. The swimming pool, sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi were great and during our stay were never too busy. It was lovely to relax in there late afternoon/early evening after a day exploring the surrounding area. The only thing I would say is that cleaning in these areas could be better - there were some "bits" around the showers which were there for the duration of our stay. All the staff were so helpful and offered ideas of places to visit nearby, giving us maps and directions. And there are some beautiful places to see - Powerscourt Gardens and House, Powerscourt Waterfall, Glendalough, Avoca Handweaver, Greystones viallage (for nice little shops, and restaurants). If you don't want to venture out every day there are lovely walks around the hotel - including one around the edge of the Druids Glen Golf Course. Definitely hope to return to Druids Glen again one day.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room looking over the mountains and the golf course and on 3rd floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Harr0gate,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. Your compliments are very much appreciated particularly regarding the high standard of food in Druids Braserie and the wonderful location of our resort which is close to so many of Wicklow's wonderful attractions.

Thank you for your feedback which is very useful in rectifying issues such as the ones raised. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    257
    94
    38
    10
See reviews for
307
392
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in quite a remote location. Realistically it is in hour from Dublin, which is not a problem if you want to get away from everything. It is set in a very picturesque valley and on a golf course, with a second golf course just down the road. Facilities are excellent, food is great, betrooms are cavernous, and the windows open to give you fresh air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sailoil,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at Druids Glen Resort. I am very pleased with your comments and I will be sure to pass these on to the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 day break for my husbands 50th birthday. From the minute we checked in until the time we checked out, the staff could not have done enough for us. All the staff were very welcoming, from the girls who cleaned the rooms, the girls on the desks, the bar staff and the staff in the restaurant. My husband was made to feel that is was his weekend and on arrival to the room, we found a card and box of chocolates for his birthday. Other nice touches were a chocolate at each side of the bed and a swan made out of towels. We had a suite which was fantastic, with a tv in the living room and bedroom. We ate in the bar the first night and the food was great.The breakfast was buffet style and excellent. We ate in the restaurant the second night and the food was out of this world. My husbands dessert arrived with a candle on it and the words happy birthday in chocolate. I highly recommend this hotel and we will be hopefully be back for my birthday next year. thank you for such a good weekend.

Room Tip: the room we had was a suite and it was a corner room. it was very bright and airy as it had 3 patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear bren63,

Thank you for your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that your husband enjoyed his birthday. I am particularly pleased with your compliments regarding your dining experiences. I will be sure to pass these on to the team who will be thrilled with your praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen Resort in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just home from a 2 night stay with my lovely husband in Druid's Glen Hotel.

STAFF:
I cannot praise the staff enough. From booking, to reception, to dining room, to bar and to housekeeping every single staff member we met both irish and non-irish were extremely friendly, cheerful and helpful.

BEDROOM SUITE:
As it was a special occassion for us, the reservation staff very kindly upgraded us which was much appreciated.
The suite was bright and very spacious with a gas fire in the fireplace as well as room based thermostatically controlled central heating. If you don't like air conditioning running all night the very comfy bed can get too hot however. Optional bed covers would satisfy fussy sleepers. The bathroom was very well appointed but as an upgrade in a 5 star hotel I expected a jacuzzi bath and a shower head that can be hand held (Harvey's Point Hotel style). Neither were present.
MY WHINGE: The only serious gripe I have with this hotel is the dull, almost depressing decor in the suite! While the seating, mirrors, pictures and lamps are very nice, the colour of the walls (cream), doors(brown), plain curtains(dullest green) combine to give a very bleak, inelegant and uncosy, unfinished feel to what has the basis to be an outstanding room. I am so tempted to pick out a couple of luxurious warm toned, elegantly patterned curtain samples for management as this alone would transform the rooms at a reasonable cost and attract customers back! Another couple we spoke to were also dissappointed with the room decor. Without trying to be cheeky all hotel managers/ owners should visit th deluxe suites in Harvey's Point Hotel in Donegal to see what type of decor and spec attracts us customers back.

POSITIVE POINTS:
To the many positive points about this hotel: the fantastic friendly staff deserve a second mention! Customer care is definitely working here. Cannot find such a universally lovely lot of staff anywhere, -and no I don't know any of them!

Most of the public areas, such as the large lobby and the bar are impressive, luxurious, elegant and welcoming - (which shows what should be done with the bedroom decor).

FOOD AND DRINK:
BREAKFAST: The breakfast dining area was spacious and bright but definitely needs to be warmer. Bring warm clothes to the dining room if you tend to feel draughts or chilly. The breakfast buffets, both hot and cold, were really, really good in most respects, but like the bedrooms would need very little tweaking to be outstandingly perfect!
Managers please note;
Please warm up the room.
Don't have the cold buffet in outer Mongolia as an after- thought; it is just as important as the hot food.
The porridge is scrumptious but a small cinnamon powder dish nearby, alongside the honey, would up the ante.
Heat up the prunes.
Keep the large plates hot. Because the hot plates are heaped too high in the warmer the top ones are always cold.
Why are the lovely, tasty sausages only luke warm?
Serve potato cakes in the hot buffet.
The best part of the breakfast by far is the presence of a friendly chef to cook fresh omelettes and pancakes in front of you. With chocolate sauce and fresh strawberry pancakes for breakfast who am I to complain about anything?
Was the orange juice freshly squeezed? I hope so but not sure.

EVENING DINNER:
The length of the evening dinner menu is average but not lengthy. All the courses we had were very well presented, tasty and obviously prepared by a competent chef and team. I would be delighted to dine here again and again. A very nice pinot grigio wine is available both in the bar and restaurant at 6.50 Euros per glass. The quality of the Guinness (4.95E per pint) was good I'm reliably informed! Again however bring warm clothes or order a large bowl of spicy soup to keep you warm in the dining room.

LUNCH:
As we were walking in Glendalough national park, we ate a fabulous lunch in the friendliest, cutest Wicklow Heather Pub/Restaurant in the village of Laragh about 25 mins from Druids Glen Hotel and 10 mins from Glendalough. Very reasonably priced food and drink. See separate reviews for the excellent Wicklow Heather on Trip Advisor. Therefore I cannot comment at all about lunch in Druid's Glen Resort.

LOCATION:
Druids Glen is so easy to access from the midlands on the motorway. Nearer the hotel the resort itself would definitely benefit from better signposting as a lot of us haven't capitulated to sat. nav. just yet. Even on departure the signpost for the narrow country road towards dublin is almost impossible to see until one has passed it by.
The small town of Greystones is about 15 mins from Druids Glen Resort. While we only passed through it slowly in the middle of annoying Friday evening rush hour traffic, it looks really attractive if you like unique womenswear boutiques and relaxing coffee shops. The beautiful blue sea is beside you if only access to the beach car parking was better signposted! We gave up on finding parking and returned slightly disgruntled to Druid's Glen. I would love to visit Greystones properly at a quieter time of the week.
There are some awful looking appartment blocks between Greystones, Kilcoole (Glenroe) and Druid's Glen but generally this whole bigger location is the most beautiful in the world.
The breathtaking walks and scenery of Glendalough are a very manageable half hour's drive away and Druid's Glen is a lovely treat after a challanging walk. So despite the disappointing bedroom decor, I look forward to returning to Druid's Glen someday -and the upgrade was genuinely a very nice touch.
SUMMARY:
Thanks to the lovely staff again. If I owned a hotel (which i don't) I would be trying to recruit the whole lot of them ~ but not the accommodation interior designer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear molly97,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of Druids Glen Resort. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your wonderful compliments.

I appreciate your suggestions regarding our room decor and our breakfast buffet. Breakfast is regularly commended at Druids Glen and we are always happy to add elements that will improve our buffet, thank you for your ideas. We are in the planning stages of a refurbishment of our guest rooms, it is an exciting opportunity for us and the feedback we receive from guests is a very important aspect of the process.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Druids Glen Resort in the near future and I would recommend lunch in the Thirteenth Bar as the quality of the service and the food is excellent. I will pass your compliments on to the team.

Kindest Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is a favourite of mine. My sister was married here last year and it was a great day. Service and food was excellent. I usually eat in the 13th bar and sink into the sofas afterwards. I was at a buffet there in May for a communion and once again the beef was melt in the mouth and you could not fault the food or service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear olive1983,

Thank you for your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I am very pleased with your compliments regarding your dining experiences with us as well as the great day that you had for your sister's wedding last year. I will pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife had won a voucher for Druid's Glen months ago and when her birthday was coming up a few weeks ago,we decided to use it. Getting there from Kerry was surprisingly easy and once we got to the entrance,it was clear to see that it was a 5* Hotel. The receptionist that checked us in was very friendly and only took a matter of minutes. Our room had a lovely view of the nearby fields and a balcony door,which was a little hard to close again after opening. The restaurant staff were probably the most professional and friendliest we have ever come across in the country,couldn't do enough for us and even one of the bar staff closed the outside door for my wife when he noticed she was feeling cold. The spa treatment was brilliant and Claire gave me a very relaxing facial,Joanne gave my wife the best facial she says she s ever had,even getting a complimentary nail file and polish because it was her birthday. We stayed an extra night with the dinner and B+B package,which was reasonably priced,however the cocktails in the bar seemed a little bit pricey but then again,it is a 5* Hotel. Overall we loved our stay and we will definitely come back to stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Locke24,

Thank you for your excellent review of Druids Glen Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to Joanne and Claire in the Spa who I am sure will be very pleased with your comments. Overall it gives me great pleasure to read such a positive review and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Family and friends visited approx 100 in total For my sons wedding what an amazing time we had, Nessa and the staff were fantastic, every detail was just perfect thank you for an amazing time. From the moment we arrived all the staff made you feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Highly recommend this location, also managed to play golf on both courses and used the pool and spa.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicesadvisor, Guest Relations Manager at Druids Glen Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear charlie1960,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Druids Glen Resort. I am very pleased with your compliments of your son and daughter in law's wedding experience and I will be sure to pass your review on to Nessa and the team. I am also delighted that you had the opportunity to play both of our beautiful golf courses and avail of our health club and spa during your stay,

Thank you again and please pass on my congratulations and best regards to your son and daughter in law. We look forward to welcoming you back to Druids Glen Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Duncan McAlpin | Guest Relations Manager
Druids Glen Resort | Newtownmountkennedy
County Wicklow | Ireland

T: +353 1 2870835 | F: +353 1 2870801
E: Duncan.McAlpin@druidsglenresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Druids Glen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druids Glen Resort

Address: Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Druids Glen Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Druids Glen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Druids Glen Hotel Newtownmountkennedy
Druids Glen Marriott Hotel Country
Newtownmountkennedy Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druids Glen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.