We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and spa - highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BrookLodge & Wells Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BrookLodge & Wells Spa to your Saves list
BrookLodge & Wells Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One Night Winter Warmer
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and spa - highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was recently visiting Ireland from New York and stayed overnight at the Brooklodge. I only stayed 1 night and wished I spent more time. Everything was amazing from the moment you drove onto the property until checkout. The hotel was beautiful. Grounds very picturesque and peaceful. The staff extremely friendly and accomodating. I had a massage in the spa and it was one of the best I have ever had. The spa has a pool, outdoor and indoor hot tub, sauna and steam room. Very relaxing. Had dinner at the Italian restuarant onsite and it was out of this world. Had the spicy meatball dish - delicious. The restaurant atmosphere was very inviting. Felt at home. The hotel breakfast was also delicious. I arrived about 10 mins after the breakfast had ended and the staff was so nice - they asked the chef to whip me up an Irish breakfast. I will definitely visit the Brooklodge again. It is 1 of my favorite places - hands down. I highly recommend visiting!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Many, many thanks for your super comments, and hopefully you will visit us again from New York. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    151
    82
    44
    37
See reviews for
83
332
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Booked in at 5.30pm, check out 11am . Stayed in the Hall accomodation, would have liked the main hotel initially but was then delighted with the private balcony and the place was quite. Staff wonderful, went to great lenghts to ensure we got the Spa appointments that suited, one each, a treat. Made great use of the pool, outside hot tub, visited in Feb 29th. Have to say did enjoy the meal in the Italian rest. but was overall disapointed in the quality felt it was a bit over priced for what it was. Decided not to go the the Strawberry Rest. as it was 62 Euro each. Again only a small point. We did get some free free range eggs to take home, staff wonderfull, room grand, very clean, it was only one night and a real treat, the following week I was wishing to be there again. Will be booking for another night getaway in the next few months. Loved it!

Room Tip: Dont take room 19, in the main hotel, ask first, I remember staying here about 8 years ago and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind review, and hopefully we will see you again shortly. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I Stayed here with my BF on Sunday last . It was unbelieveable.
When we arrived @ midday check in wasn't until 3pm so we had a walk around (the grounds are amazing) , some lunch and some wine (the weather happened ot be perfect too)
I love the fact they had the two trained dogs walking around it was nice and it added a sense of relaxation.

Our room was lovely we had a junior suite and the view was lovely from it.

We both had treatments in the spa the therapists were lovely girls and also very accomodating.

We had a dinner in the Italian Restaurant and although it was nice we both felt we could have eaten more. When we come back _which will be very soon_ we will go for the Strawberry Tree.

All of the staff were lovely but one guy stood out for us it was Zoltan he was so lovely and honestly this hotel is blessed to have such staff I cannot understand why this hotel is not a 5 star. All the little extra's were lovely even they way they present Scones My god they were unbelievable.


The only negative I would have was that on our last Day my Boyfriend fancied a swim and altough the adult pool is lovely is is not really designed for Length. One of the Therapists in the Spa informed me that there was a second pool which I didnt know about until it was time to go home.

Other than that everything was perfect and I cant wait to go back . I took a wedding Package with me on the way home. I wold love to get Married here :-)

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks for your super review. We really appreciate it and Zoltan will be thrilled too! Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have stayed here five times in the past few years and each time is just as good as the first. Something about the place just makes you chill, be cost and take life as it comes. Not a polished spa but does the job. Highly recommended....as a couple, with the girls or both!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review and for your many visits. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

It had been over 6 years since we had last been to BrookLodge and I don't know why we left it so long. It really is an oasis of calm, charm and relaxation.
We booked a 2 night stay in a suite, (I would recommend to pay the little extra for a suite room it was worth it). The staff everywhere were so helpful and nothing was a problem and they were all willing to help. I had emailed for an early check in and was accommodated.
I don't understand how this hotel is not 5 star, as it has so many little extras that I feel would merit it, staff are fantastic, free news papers, free wifi, free access to the Thermal Suite, an excellent breakfast served until 12pm at the weekends, beautiful grounds I could go on and on. I had an hour long hot stone massage with Margaret and its up there with one of the best I've had.
Fantastic work BrookLodge keep it up, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We really appreciate your very generous review, and hopefully we will see again before too long. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel on the 9th and 10th of March. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was second to none.

We used Brooklodge as a base for hill walking around the area and they kindly provided accommodation for our two dogs in the stable yard nearby. It was a last minute decision on our part to bring them and it made our weekend more enjoyable.

Hopefully our next visit we can make use of the Spa facilities

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I Would recommend this hotel to any of my friends ,we arrived on tuesday and never had a dull moment between the spa and the swimming pool,the grounds were lovely to stroll around,All the staff were very friendly ,the rooms were really nice ,the only complaint i would have is that it is very dark in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Wells Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BrookLodge & Wells Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Wells Spa

Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Wells Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit The BrookLodge & Wells Spa:1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year ‘09 & ’10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012, The BrookLodge & Wells Spa features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary organic & wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village café, a dining lounge, a country pub and an organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Standard Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by Irish Ryder Cup Hero, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than The BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BrookLodge & Wells Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Wells Spa County Wicklow/Macreddin Village, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BrookLodge & Wells Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.