We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms in a country house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laragh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Lodge
Save
You added Pinewood Lodge to your Saves list
Glendalough | Co Wicklow, Laragh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large rooms in a country house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The house is located off the main road, which makes it very quit. Room was at ground level and lots of parking place. Breakfeast good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Just back from two weeks touring around Ireland. We stayed at Pinewood Lodge for three nights availing of their midweek deal - great value! The breakfast was fantastic and Michael and Mary were excellent hosts. Great attention to detail - the tea on arrival was very welcome and the help with orientating ourselves much appreciated! We very much enjoyed visiting the National Park and the nearby Monastery!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I spent a weekend in this B&B with my girlfriend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable and the owners were really friendly. Best of all, the breakfast was excellent!

I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I stayed with my group at the Pinewood Lodge and it was very cozy, peaceful, and lovely. Mary and her husband offer great hospitality and will accomodate all your needs. I enjoyed the location since it was just next to the hermitage and a short walk to St. Kevin's Monastary. I enjoyed my stay at Pinewood Lodge and can't wait to go with my husband. I know he would enjoy it too!

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I first came to Ireland in August last year and found Pinewood B&B on-line. I had such a GREAT experience there that I came back with a group of 12 people!! The area of Glendalough alone is sooo beautiful, peaceful, and quiet (St. Kevin is awesome). And yet, the accommodations of Pinewood PLUS the warm and loving disposition of our hostess, Mary... made the trip absolutely perfect!! Mary, thank you sooo much for all that you did to accommodate our group! You are in our hearts and prayers!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Pinewood Lodge is in a beautiful location above the Glendalough valley. It is quiet, clean, comfortable and wonderfully situated. It is literally 1 km from the valley and right next to a hermitage spot. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, the breakfast very good and the staff thoughtful and efficient. Also the facility provides free wireless internet, books and information about the surrounding area. I would absolutely recommend this lodge to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May as part of a short trip around the Dublin area. We paid E80/night including breakfast.

This is a large, purpose-built B&B (I'm not sure how many rooms there are in total but I'd guess more than 10), which meant there was less of homely atmosphere than some others (where you do genuinely feel welcomed into someone's home) -- whether this is good or bad probably depends on what you're looking for!

Because it is a purpose-built B&B our room was very spacious. Breakfast was good quality -- although you had to choose from a menu the night before (see attached photo of the menu for choices). It was served in a small dining room with separate tables (unlike some B&BS where you eat at one big table with other guests and chat to them -- again, whether this is good or bad probably depends on your taste). There was also a comfortable sitting room area for guests with board games and a TV etc.

However, despite this, I'm only giving it three rather than four stars as there were a couple of issues that spoilt our enjoyment. The bed was very creaky and noisy, as was the bathroom door which meant we both had quite a disturbed night's sleep -- maybe bad luck due to the room we were allocated, although I'd have thought that the door issue at least would have been noticed and fixed easily enough. Also, it was the most expensive of all the places we stayed in Ireland (but definitely not the most luxurious) so we didn't feel it offered very good value for money.

We ate at the Wicklow Heather restuarant in the village (and it is very much a restaurant rather than a pub as I was expecting). While not cheap, it was lovely food with a great atmosphere and friendly staff -- a thumb's up there! It's about two minutes' drive or a short walk (although there's not much pavement) from the B&B. (As others have noted the B&B is not in the centre of the village).

In the wider area, Glendalough (about 10 minutes' drive down the road and I guess what most people staying at the B&B are here to see) is amazing and definitely worth visiting the area for.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Address: Glendalough | Co Wicklow, Laragh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star (Fáilte Ireland) accommodation on the Wicklow Way, in the heart of the Wicklow Mountains National Park. With over twenty years experience of welcoming people from far and wide into our home, we aim to provide our guests with a home away from home. Whether it be advice on places of interest in the local area, a restaurant reservation or suggestions on walks for all abilities in the locality, we do our utmost to see that every guest's needs are met. To ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay with us we offer the following: free wifi, ample free car parking, spacious guest lounge with log fire, refreshments with homemade scones and jams on arrival, an extensive breakfast menu (special dietary requirements catered for*) and tea/coffee making facilities, television and hairdryer in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinewood Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.