We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Let Down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glendalough Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Big Let Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

For such a wonderful majical place, we had great expectations. The problems began after we were allocated our room, it was in the old part of the hotel, very cramped with oversized wardrobes, the bathroom floor was slooping and gave a very unsteady feeling. the decor was horrendus. Old dated wallpaper, the windows were dirty, cobwebs and stains on the window sills. The room was freezing cold, not good enough when you are travelling with a baby. We were assured the heat would be turned on later in the evening but this just didn't happen. The bar area was devoid of any athmosphere. The breakfast wasn't very interesting, poor selection of everything you would expect, hardly any yogarts, friut, bread, cereal. I think this hotel is capitalising on its location, I know 1 thing for sure we won't ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the newer wing of the hotel, otherwise don't expect a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    47
    20
    21
See reviews for
48
80
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference but I think I would come back again to explore the area in more detail. Really nice hotel located in the National Park. This is an absolute gem if you wish to explore the surrounding mountains and monastic site.

Room Tip: I think some of my colleagues may have been given much smaller rooms so maybe ask for a double when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night for the "Helping the Hills" Conference organised by Mountaineering Ireland. I arrived early in the morning of the first day and my bedroom was ready for me. There were well over a hundred delegates attending. Both lunch and dinner were well prepared and served with friendly efficiency. Breakfast next day was very good before a wet and windy morning in the mountains. We arrived back to a good cooked lunch. The arrangements and conference facilities are excellent and the hotel should be commended for this. My bedroom was good and comfortable and there is free wi-fi downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moissac, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed recently to walk in the valley. I arrived in the hotel late, but the restaurant managed to fit me in and I had a lovely meal with good friendly service. The following morning, I awoke to a beautiful view and the sound of the river babbling by. I walked the spink very early and was back in time for a hearty breakfast. I was impressed by the value for money and quality of the welcome.
I wont hesitate to visit again. next time for a few days hopefully!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we were struggling to find accomodation in the Dublin area over the weekend on 31/08 due to a number of sporting events. We had originally booked for 3 (including b/b) for 260 euro but day before we were due to arrive we increased our party to 4. We contacted the hotel who gave us, what we thought a very reasonable rate of 320 euro. Ten minutes after we confirmed our agreement, they phoned us back and stated that they could offer us a better deal (280 euro). We were very impressed. We arrived at the hotel and found it very attractive and located in one of the most beautiful areas of Southern Ireland. As we had been on the road for nearly 5 hours we decided to have a meal in the hotel rather than travelling out. We had a fabulous meal which included wine and drinks for 150 euro. Service at both the meal and the accomodation was second to none and we would recommend it as both a place to relax but also a great base for those who like to walk as the scenery and walking facilities were second to none. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for our 10th anniversary & had a lovely stay. We did a mid-week deal for €150 which included dinner b&b, excellent value. Our room was on a beautiful corner overlooking the river, lovely big room. The dinner was fantastic too. Couldn't fault anything. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Came back here today after a few good experiences here.Met by waitess/barman. I wont say if it was male or female. Where has all the Irish charm gone. (immigrated i guess) No manners what so ever,spent more time chatting to theyre friend at bar. Never ever will i go back here. Food was complete crap too. I actually cant get over how rude this person was. I though no maybe its just a cultural thing and I dont understand the way eastern europeans behave but my friend who with me said they were really rude and he's eastern european also.

Room Tip: Sorry ate here didnt stay, was going to but was expecting to meet some nice irish boys/girls for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glendalough Village hotels

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendalough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.