We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glenview Hotel to your Saves list
Glenview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Week end away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in an executive room which had great views over the valley and a balcony off the bedroom. We could not fault the hotel in any way. Staff were very helpful ,pleasant and always went the extra mile to service our needs.We used the Woodland Restaurant on saturday night and had an excellent meal which was served by friendly helpful staff. There was a wedding on the same night and the service level was still very high. After the meal we went to the bar and enjoyed good music.On sunday we enjoyed the leisure centre and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room 200 was great ,good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your compliments regarding the helpful, pleasant staff are gratefully received. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    179
    89
    31
    22
See reviews for
209
222
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very disappointed room was clean and functional but not deluxe. Was badly advised about restaurants, wanted a plain and simple meal. We were told on arrival there was an early evening menu in restaurant but in restaurant we were told we should have asked for this special menu. To be fair they did not charge for meal that was not eaten or replacement meal in bar but could have been avoided in reception as we could have taken dart into Dublin. Did not like restaurant at all so would not take breakfast in hotel but went to nearby coffee bar. Staff were very helpful but just didn't feel comfortAble in hotel. I think it just depends on what you are looking for!

Room Tip: Very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team. I am also pleased to hear when you advised my Manager that you were dissatisfied with your meal in the Restaurant that you were provided with a replacement meal and drinks in the Bar.

I am very disappointed to read that you did not like our Woodlands Restaurant and decided to have your breakfast in a nearby coffee bar. We will always do our best to accommodate our guests and would have been happy to offer you room service or alternatively you could have had breakfast in our Conservatory Bar.

Please contact me on the details below if you wish to discuss any other aspects of your stay further.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My mother and myself stayed overnight in the Glenview Hotel in the Glen of the Downs in Co. Wicklow last Wednesday night, 11th September. My mother, who is 80 years old, uses a wheelchair so her needs are quite specific. When we arrived we were asked if we needed any help and from that moment on we were surrounded by staff who were always eager to help us. Their friendliness and warmth was very reassuring to me as the carer for my mum and also for my mum who appreciated so much the help that they gave her. Our room was located on the ground floor, not far from the Reception Area. It was very comfortable. My mother had her breakfast delivered to her on request and I had my breakfast in the beautiful dining room on the first floor which had a beautiful and peaceful panoramic view of the Glen of the Downs. Afterwards we sat around in the comfortable sitting room area relaxing, drinking tea and eating delicious cake from the restaurant. As a family we had visited this hotel for special occasions when we were younger so it brought back really pleasant memories of times gone by. For my mother she was so happy to have had the opportunity to relive those pleasant memories. We left feeling extremely relaxed and happy that we had chosen this hotel. We live in Dublin but we both felt that we experienced a special moment in time that we both will not forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read you and your Mum had a very relaxing memorable overnight stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Myself, my wife, my sister and her husband. We arrived at this wonderful warm welcoming hotel on the 12-9-2013. For 3 days.our time at the hotel was perfect. All the staff were so warm and polite. The rooms that we stayed in (2 doubles) in my opinion can't be faulted. They where cleaned daily to a high standard. Credit to the cleaners. All the staff where so friendly and helpful. The views where breathtaking. The friday and the saturday night. They had wedding receptions. The function rooms were presented lovely, we had a quick look in the afternoon. If your to visit this area of island. Then we would highly recommend this fantastic hotel. One day I'm sure that'll we will revisit. Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you all had a very enjoyable stay with us. It was our pleasure.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Myself and my family recently stayed in the Glenview for one night. We just wanted to compliment them on their lovely and professional staff. We had a lovely time and the level of service from the staff was second to none, they were extremely helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully plan to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind compliments regarding the team. We are delighted to read you are planning a return visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel numerous times. Our most recent trip being in August. My 2 sons my husband and myself. It was brilliant from we arrived the staff here are very friendly and helpful. Our boyd got a colouring pack each at our evening meal which was brillant we could all enjoy our beautiful meal in tge the woodlands resturant. Well done to the Glenview keep up the great work and we will stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you and your family had yet another enjoyable stay with us.

I would like to thank you also for your continued custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The carvery lunch in the bar/brasserie is reasonable and the very willing and helpful staff serve a good wholesome lunch at a reasonable price.

Large teenagers were given portions of beef that were awesome both in quality and quantity!

The gardens are very nice, with lots of secluded 'rooms', though the screening from the N11 road should be heavy and placed right adjacent to the road to try and reduce the noise and reintroduce the old view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to read you and your family had a very enjoyable dining experience in our Conservatory Bar. Your kind compliment regarding the team are also very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.