We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glenview Hotel to your Saves list
Glenview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed with friendly service. Our room was clean and pleasant. A reasonable size. The bathroom was a little tired with a sink that didn't drain very well. The bed wasn't all that comfortable with quite a thin, poor quality duvet. We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent and the service great. Breakfast was self service with a reasonable variety. The best bit about dining in the restaurant was the stunning view from the dining room windows, made better by the fact that the weather was beautiful. We used the spa and it is very well equipped with pool,sauna, spa and outdoor hot tub. However the shower area in the changing rooms are also a little tired. We had coffee in the conservatory bar, also with a great view. Coffee was served promptly and with excellent service.

Room Tip: Must dine in the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views on your recent visit to the Glenview hotel. We are indeed blessed with our location and with a wonderful team that take so much interest in our guests' experience.

I have passed your comment regarding the sink to our Maintenance department for their immediate attention. Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I am so sorry you found the bed uncomfortable. If we had known we would have been more than happy to sort this out for you.

We were delighted to read that overall you had a very enjoyable break with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    179
    88
    31
    22
See reviews for
209
222
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having stayed here once before and loved it, we stopped by when we were in that area recently. It was a beautiful view and we wished to sit outside. The kindly waiter assured us that was no problem. He was very prompt in his delivery of coffee, tea and scones which were all delightful. After we had a lovely walk through the gardens. The gardens are laid out in such a way that you feel you are discovering them yourself for the first time - as you may be in a lawn surrounded by luscious shrubbery, all of which is beautiful - and then you spy what might be an exit at one corner, so you venture over and it leads through an over hang of more shrubs and trees to yet another beautiful lawn which is also surrounded by shrubs and flowers - and yes - there again in another corner is a bend that keeps calling and leading you on to new vistas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read you had another enjoyable experience at the Glenview Hotel. Your continued custom is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel from 8 to 11 July and we all had a brilliant time. Although in need of some minor TLC in places the hotel is very clean and rooms well maintained. During our stay we dined in the conservatory bar and the food was excellent. It was freshly prepared and although busy with food orders service was prompt and food was piping hot. The biggest asset to the hotel is the friendly staff from reception through to bar and restaurant staff. They always had time for a bit of craic and our children enjoyed chatting with them. They took time to engage with them which we thought was wonderful. The children enjoyed the time they spent at the kids club with both of them impressed with the range of games and activities on offer. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to friends and family. We will visit the glenview again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. Your compliments regarding the friendliness of the staff and the excellent service received are very much appreciated.

We are so happy to read that the children had a very enjoyable time in the Kids Club. We are also glad to hear that you are planning a return visit. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Myself, my 5 year old son and my mother stayed at the Glenview and we had a fantastic time. The room was spacious and very clean although we didn't have a view. However, the views from the Restaurant are fabulous, the food was gorgeous and the gardens are beautifully kept. We all really enjoyed using the pool facilities. It is a family friendly hotel and the staff made my son very welcome which was lovely! It was a peaceful and relaxing stay. There's also a free kids club from 5pm to 9pm. Finally, I must compliment the very helpful and friendly staff who provided us with excellent service at Reception, in the Restaurant, at breakfast and in the bistro. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views of your recent visit to the Glenview hotel. We were delighted to read that you, your Mum and son had a fantastic break with us. Your kind comments regarding the team are very much appreciated.

We are so glad to hear that you are planning a return visit in the future. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon many stays at the Glenview hotel my partner and I cannot seem to seek fault!
From the moment you enter the building you are welcomed by warm and friendly receptionists who are always full of smiles.
We enjoyed a leisurely stroll in the exquisite gardens of the hotel before dining in the conservatory bistro where the staff are exceptional. We were looked after throughout our entire time by a polite young waitress, Kate, who was attentive and very helpful, among other staff, with my partners diet requirements.
The restaurant staff also deserve a pat on the back as our breakfast was to die for. All in all I would, as always, recommend the Glenview hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read that on each visit we have lived up to your expectations.

I have passed on your lovely compliments to the team. Katie is thrilled with the special mention. I am so glad also to read you enjoyed your dining experience in our Woodlands Restaurant.

We all look forward to you returning to us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here recently and we were really disappointed with everything. The service was bad and the food was awful. We waited a long time for our food and when it arrived it was cold and really tasted like left overs from a few days ago. The hotel decor is in need of upgrading, in some of the rooms the carpets smell of alcohol. The gardens could do with some care and to be honest our stay was far from relaxing as there were noisy kids running around the whole time we were there - especially in the pool area that seemed to be always packed with local, noisy kids and the pool was not very clean. Location is nothing special, view of green areas and a garden that could do with some care...very close to a busy motorway so traffic can be heard from some parts of the hotel. There are much nicer placers to stay in the area for about the same price. Would not recommend staying here even if it was free!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jennie from New York

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

Both the management and staff are very disappointed to learn of your experience on trip advisor without first giving us the opportunity to address any of the issues raised. We have thoroughly investigated this matter and we cannot find any trace of a couple who have stayed with us from New York. We have had many corporate guests from the states however no couples?

I must say I am truly shocked by your comments . We are a family friendly hotel with a fantastic, professional team that take a personal pride in the hotel and it's guests experiences. Our gardens are always perfectly manicured and we pride ourselves at having extremely high standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel and therefore I disagree with your comments. I have never responded in this fashion to a trip advisor comment in the past, but I feel very strongly that I must respond in this case.

I would be most grateful if you would contact me on the details below to discuss your experience further.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 00 353 1 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last week I had to pick a colleague up very early from the airport for a meeting. It was in the Kilmacanogue area so I thought that I would bring him to the Glenview Hotel for breakfasr. The restaurant is on the first floor wihich gives you a lovely view out over the Glen -of the-Downs. The sun was shining the food was great, staff very friendly. It was a great start to the day! My colleague was very impressed and said it was a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am so happy to hear you and your friend had a very enjoyable breakfast in our Woodland Restaurant.

The view of the Glen is indeed magnificent. We are blessed with our location and spectacular views throughout the different seasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.