We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday break J&G B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenview Hotel to your Saves list
Glenview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“holiday break J&G B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

the first thing to impress was the gardens and the scenery as my wife is big into this. the outside of the hotel looked great also. Our on-suite room was perfect and clean,complments to cleaning staff. dining room meal was absolutely beautiful and staff lovely.We also dined in the bar where we enjoyed lovely food. The breakfast what can we say only that it was superb.In general all the staff were friendly and efficent.
The garden walks were absolutely beautiful and relaxing.
The only complaint we would have is that our stay wasent long enough.
Regards, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for a fantastic review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit including the accommodation, food, the gardens and the friendly efficient staff. You said your only complaint was that your visit wasn’t long enough – maybe we could help with that - if you send us your email address to sales@glenviewhotel.com we will keep you updated with all our special offers and future events.

Many thanks again and we do hope to see you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    163
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
198
206
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have to say the staff was excellent and food was delicious,perfect for few days away to relax, the spa is one of my highlights, the girls are excellent and so welcoming,it has great offers and prices,
The only flaw I would have about The Glenview, is the rooms they are old and shabby,such a pity considering everything else is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing a fabulous review. We are so pleased to hear you had a “perfect few days away to relax”.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our team, such positive affirmation provides great encouragement.

With regard to your comment about your room – we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms. Please bear with us we are getting there.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to a wedding at the Glenview and stayed for two nights before, we were treated very well and the food was excellent, there were some lovely walks in the gardens as well as a woodland walk which is currently undergoing so improvements so very stout shoes or boots are required. The buffet breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter than the front but doesn't have such a good view. Front overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience in the Glenview Hotel. We were delighted to read you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including the food and our wonderful woodland walk.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,


Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

this hotel is excellent the rooms are clean and comfortable. The views and the countryside were breathtaking and plenty of local attractions to visit.The restuarant and leisure were also at a very high standard and the staff highly efficient. but top of the rank was the excellent kids club which my two children enjoyed immensely.thanks again to the hotel and staff for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review about your recent stay with us here at the Glenview hotel We are indeed blessed with the location of the hotel and the team that take such an interest in it and it’s guests experience.

Lesley who organises the Kids Club is especially grateful for your praise of the Club. We are delighted you all had a very enjoyable break and look forward to welcoming the whole family back again soon.

Kind Regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were surprised to see how run down the place was from the reviews.On entering the room we first saw a 2 large stains on the ceiling,in the bathroom the sink was cracked,the grout around the sink/bath and taps was that dirty it was gone black,the windows frames were dirty there was a lot of dust on the furniture.The good thing was the staff were friendly and the breakfast nice also the bed was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We were very upset to read of your disappointment with your accommodation. We are currently rolling out a plan to upgrade the facilities in our bedrooms. Your feedback is extremely valuable with this process. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience caused.

On a positive note we are delighted to hear your room was clean and comfortable and you enjoyed your breakfast and appreciated the friendliness of our staff.

Many thanks again for your review and should you wish to discuss your stay any further I would be delighted if you could contact me on the number below.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ve spent a weekend in this lovely hotel, the only dissapointment we had was that each room is connected with another room with a door, which is, of course, locked, but u could hear every move and every sound from the room neighbour, of course, through the door. the night manager knocked at the door because we were talking, apparently, too loud. the neighbours complained about us talking. we apologised and only in the morning i realized that talking is very annoying, as i woke up because of my neighbours talking. and sneezing. and pulling the laguagge s zipper. i know everything they did that morning. i can only imagine what some people who get rooms near people in their honeymoon have to put up with. ,,... :)))
everything else was great i loved the room and the view.

Room Tip: try to stay away from honeymooners rooms as there is a door connecting the bedrooms, could hear ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.
I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise from the room next to you. If we had known you were unhappy with your accommodation we would have organised to move you to another room. All our bedrooms do not have interconnecting doors. There are 70 bedrooms in the hotel with six rooms interconnecting.

I was delighted to read that overall everything else was great and you loved the room and the view.

Many thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is lovely rooms well decorated and clean, view breathtaking, breakfast delicious.We opted to eat in the restuarant the first night did not disappoint staff were very polite and attentive food lovely highly recommended.Leisure centre top quality especially enjoyed out door hot top the reason which drew us to the hotel.Overall very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a fantastic review. I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and I will definitely pass on your lovely compliments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.