We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quirky, Quality ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathsallagh House

Save Saved
You added Rathsallagh House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathsallagh House
Dunlavin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quirky, Quality ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at end of June. Weather was fab so house and gardens were at their best. What a setting! Would have loved to have the time to play with the Croquet Set. Our room (the Garden Room - they all have names not numbers) was wonderful, spacious and luxurious with a capacious en suite (massive bath in middle of room).

Minor peeves include the 'old tech' TV and a couple of pieces of modern furniture which seemed out of place.

We spent a couple of very pleasant hours sitting in the Drawing Room in front of the turf fire chatting with other guests.

Breakfast was very good especially the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

For a real 'get away from it all' location it would be hard to beat.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your helpful and constructive feed back, its very much appreciated. The Garden room is one of my own favourites, the view from that bath out over the walled garden is so relaxing. Sorry about the old tech TV, we will have a look at replacing that with something more modern. Also my Mother is the decorator here so I have asked her to look at the furniture in there as well. Thank you once again for taking the time to write and please do come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    35
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
133
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from an overnight with my husband. Warm welcome on arrival, felt immediately at home. There was a problem with our room which was resolved in a totally professional manner without any fuss and with our needs a priority. Enjoyed a private jacuzzi (book in advance) followed by a super massage each. This set us up for a delicious dinner in the lovely dining room - excellent food and service. Evening rounded off by coffee by a turf fire. The next morning a sumptuous breakfast, again with excellent service. We had to leave the hotel early on our departure morning due to a family matter and again this was dealt with in an exemplary manner. All I can say is that we are looking forward to coming back. It is worth mentioning that there was a wedding in the hotel during our stay and this was not at all obvious to those of us not part of the wedding party - something other hotels in Ireland could learn from. A special thanks to Catriona and Treasa. Looking forward to coming back, a real find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so thrilled that you gave a special mention to Caitriona and Teresa, the girls are only delighted. Jus to note that the wedding in the House was the day of your departure, some of the guests having arrived the night before. Rathsallagh is an exclusive use venue in that a wedding party must take the entire property to have a wedding or other such event. we never have leisure / independent guests staying if there is a wedding on. Thank you once again for a lovely review and do come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A group of 5 stayed for one night and while we all looked forward to our night overall we were disappointed. The rooms were comfortable and clean.
We were all looking forward to a beautiful dinner that evening but that was not to be . The starters were between poor and average so we all had ordered steak as our main course and really looked forward to them. The chef on the night obviously got confused in the way three of the party had requested their steaks to be cooked. The so called 'chips' were cremated. We did tell the waitress about our main course and she spoke with chef. She apologised but did say chef likes his chips cooked that way. !!!!
Breakfast - what can I say . Not even an average standard. I overheard one lady ask a waitress where the yogurt was sourced. The answer Lidl. !!!!! And this from an establishment that has won 'best breakfast' awards! Will not be back

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It is hard sometimes to remain impartial when responding to some customer complaints. First and foremost, my family and I, and that extends to many of those who have worked with us at Rathsallagh for a great many years, are passionate about what we do and work exceedingly hard to ensure we get everything just right for our guests. Most of the time, I'm pleased to say, we succeed; but sometimes we do slip. When that happens it effects us greatly, even more so than our guest’s . When critiqued we look to gauge the comments honestly, fairly, look to make amends and take action where appropriate.

The second thing that makes impartiality difficult is the age old hospitality oxymoron "the customer is always right". By the simple law of averages this is impossible, so sometimes, just sometimes the customer may be just wrong. In reviewing this instance while maintaining impartiality, we have concluded this is one of those times when a customer is simply... well out of order.

All five of your party ordered stake and chips, foiling our Chef's cunning plan to deliver a beautifully balanced menu constitute of the best Irish food producers have to offer (more on this later). Thankfully the steaks were cooked to perfection, (as they didn't incur your wrath), but alas the waitress erred and presented the steaks incorrectly to the table. This was rectified immediately with and apology and herewith again we apologise. That said, while an amateurish error, not unforgivable by any stretch of the imagination or something that would ruin an evening. But by your account the horror didn't end there. We then had the audacity to serve, thick cut, par boiled, twice cooked hand made chips. Was it the quality of the product that was lacking? No! We have ascertained they were not to your satisfaction, due to the fact that your preference is for thin more processed style french fries. While we would not question your preference , our establishment's preference, and most of our clientele, is for the homemade thicker hand cuts. On reviewing the evenings service (which we always do when we receive complaints such as yours) we were relieved to find not a single other complaint.
Next came your description of the fresh prawns and Duncannon mussels being poor to average. This did not equate with your empty plates nor indeed your comment during service to Mary, that everything was satisfactory. When at the end of the meal you did make your complaints, we apologised instantly (remembering the oxymoron) and presented your table with a complementary bottle of wine which you accepted as recompense. When I came looking for you again, I was informed that you had taken the bottle of wine to your room to drink with your friends and we considered that the end of the matter. It would appear that it was not, and that drunken wine is soon forgotten. Breakfast approaches... You raised the matter of us serving "Lidl" yogurt and we thank you for that, as we now realise that nothing we might present to someone with such a predisposition as yours will ever stack up. At breakfast you overheard a woman complementing the yogurt. Had you listened a little more carefully to the conversation you would have also heard the waitress advise our guest that we get yogurt from our wholesale supplier but that it can also be found in Lidl. Indeed we found out that 40% of Lidl's product is produced in Ireland indeed they also sell Irish beef, pork, free range chicken, fish and vegetables. Do you suggest we remove all Irish produce from our menu? It was disappointing, after taking our complementary bottle of wine, giving us the impression that you were happy how we resolved your issues, that you then go and diminish not just us to a global tourist audience, but also Irish producers and business alike. We are working every hour that god gave to deliver to an international clientele and Irish alike, the very best food and hospitality Ireland has to offer. If the oat flakes in our muesli happen to appear in Lidl and Marks and Spencer also, we believe that this says more about their aspiration to give Irish customers the very very best, rather that your pessimistic and negative view to the contrary. Thank you for taking the time to write your review in the first instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Rathsallagh House with a friend to check it out for a meeting, team build and conference that needed to impress. It is my new favourite destination for a conference or meeting. I stay at hundreds of hotels and venues throughout Ireland to check them out on behalf of clients, I need to ensure I can recommend them for a client's meeting or event. Rathsallagh is a special place, that would guarantee successful results from a business meeting, conference, team build or client appreciation event. Whether the hotel is rented privately (29 guest rooms) or a few of the meeting rooms are taken over for a think tank, strategy meeting or conference for up to 200, the atmosphere, warm welcome, delicious food and aura there has an immediate affect on you. I stayed for one night but felt I was there for a few. The gardens and relaxation areas are wonderful spaces to think. Thank you to Joe and his great team for creating this special place.

Room Tip: If staying for a few days the larger rooms are worth the upgrade. The shower was luxurious, large e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a really lovely review. It is indeed a great boost to receive such a review from a professional who knows what she is talking about. So many reviews these days are written by people who can only describe food as poor , or average or good or what ever. They lack the adjectives to be able to relate how the food tasted, what was good and bad about it what they liked and disliked. I suppose that could be a reflection on institutional taste, but its also very often the result of a vindictive or knee jerk reaction. We are very proud and passionate about Rathsallagh, its food and its facilities , and again its just so refreshing when a professional can appreciate that. Thank you and please do come back and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here as part of a 2 night getaway for my wife's birthday. A lovely welcome, a great spacious room (freebie upgrade which is always nice) with a humongous bathroom, an open fire in the casual lounge area, a delicious dinner and a beautiful breakfast. Owners and staff were really pleasant and helpful. Loved it and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Those bathrooms are fun with their multi jet power showers and baths designed for two, and it was only a pleasure to be able to upgrade you. We are also delighted you enjoyed our open fires, we use local tuff here so that lovely peat smell really reminds you that you are relaxing in the Wicklow countryside. Our kitchen team are thrilled that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast, and all of us really look forward to you vising Rathsallagh once again. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very comfy rooms in a building separate from the main one, but a quick one minute walk. Excellent food in a beautiful restaurant. Owned by a single family and managed by a woman who has been there long enough to know how to satisfy your every need. Very well located close to Dublin and to many wonderful and scenic sights.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write a great review. You were in the courtyard room, - nearly 50sqm in size with walk in power showers and double ended baths. You can get to the main house then via the Orangery or across the courtyards as you prefer. Thank you so much for mention our Mum Kay, she has running Rathsallagh for a long time and is thrilled she got a mention. We do hope you will come back and sty with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As the title states this was a return trip. Having had a relatively disappointing first time visit last year and put a review on this site to that effect, we were offered a very generous complimentary one night return stay by the owner, Mr O'Flynn.
Credit where credit is due, our second visit here was exceptional. The evening meal and breakfast were both top class. Our room was faultless. The staff are just incredibly friendly and helpful.
There is a lovely ambience about Rathsallagh and I think everyone should try to at least stay there once.
Again, many thanks to the owner for his kind offer to stay here - my mind was definitely changed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for coming back to us and thank you for your great review. You know we don’t always get it right, and when we don’t we will put up our hands and apologise. Your original review was fair and constructive, and your additional private correspondence was extremely helpful. You don’t know how much that is appreciated. Sometimes we receive vindictive and spurious reviews ( Lidl lady above ! ) that are very hard to either correct or to respond to, dealing with you has been a pleasure and we hope it will continue to be so for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathsallagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.