We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat for a meeting or conference, great space to think....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathsallagh House

Save Saved
You added Rathsallagh House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathsallagh House
Dunlavin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat for a meeting or conference, great space to think....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Rathsallagh House with a friend to check it out for a meeting, team build and conference that needed to impress. It is my new favourite destination for a conference or meeting. I stay at hundreds of hotels and venues throughout Ireland to check them out on behalf of clients, I need to ensure I can recommend them for a client's meeting or event. Rathsallagh is a special place, that would guarantee successful results from a business meeting, conference, team build or client appreciation event. Whether the hotel is rented privately (29 guest rooms) or a few of the meeting rooms are taken over for a think tank, strategy meeting or conference for up to 200, the atmosphere, warm welcome, delicious food and aura there has an immediate affect on you. I stayed for one night but felt I was there for a few. The gardens and relaxation areas are wonderful spaces to think. Thank you to Joe and his great team for creating this special place.

Room Tip: If staying for a few days the larger rooms are worth the upgrade. The shower was luxurious, large e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a really lovely review. It is indeed a great boost to receive such a review from a professional who knows what she is talking about. So many reviews these days are written by people who can only describe food as poor , or average or good or what ever. They lack the adjectives to be able to relate how the food tasted, what was good and bad about it what they liked and disliked. I suppose that could be a reflection on institutional taste, but its also very often the result of a vindictive or knee jerk reaction. We are very proud and passionate about Rathsallagh, its food and its facilities , and again its just so refreshing when a professional can appreciate that. Thank you and please do come back and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    35
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
132
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here as part of a 2 night getaway for my wife's birthday. A lovely welcome, a great spacious room (freebie upgrade which is always nice) with a humongous bathroom, an open fire in the casual lounge area, a delicious dinner and a beautiful breakfast. Owners and staff were really pleasant and helpful. Loved it and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Those bathrooms are fun with their multi jet power showers and baths designed for two, and it was only a pleasure to be able to upgrade you. We are also delighted you enjoyed our open fires, we use local tuff here so that lovely peat smell really reminds you that you are relaxing in the Wicklow countryside. Our kitchen team are thrilled that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast, and all of us really look forward to you vising Rathsallagh once again. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very comfy rooms in a building separate from the main one, but a quick one minute walk. Excellent food in a beautiful restaurant. Owned by a single family and managed by a woman who has been there long enough to know how to satisfy your every need. Very well located close to Dublin and to many wonderful and scenic sights.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write a great review. You were in the courtyard room, - nearly 50sqm in size with walk in power showers and double ended baths. You can get to the main house then via the Orangery or across the courtyards as you prefer. Thank you so much for mention our Mum Kay, she has running Rathsallagh for a long time and is thrilled she got a mention. We do hope you will come back and sty with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As the title states this was a return trip. Having had a relatively disappointing first time visit last year and put a review on this site to that effect, we were offered a very generous complimentary one night return stay by the owner, Mr O'Flynn.
Credit where credit is due, our second visit here was exceptional. The evening meal and breakfast were both top class. Our room was faultless. The staff are just incredibly friendly and helpful.
There is a lovely ambience about Rathsallagh and I think everyone should try to at least stay there once.
Again, many thanks to the owner for his kind offer to stay here - my mind was definitely changed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for coming back to us and thank you for your great review. You know we don’t always get it right, and when we don’t we will put up our hands and apologise. Your original review was fair and constructive, and your additional private correspondence was extremely helpful. You don’t know how much that is appreciated. Sometimes we receive vindictive and spurious reviews ( Lidl lady above ! ) that are very hard to either correct or to respond to, dealing with you has been a pleasure and we hope it will continue to be so for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently spent a "treat" night at Rathsallagh House with my partner. And can only say it was the most relaxing overnight I have had in years.
The hotel and its staff are warm and welcoming as soon as you come through the door, until you, sadly, leave. The location is stunning, my only regret is that I did not bring my walking shoes as there are lovely walks around the gardens, and lovely drives in the vicinity. We stayed in the Garden Room and I could have spent all day sitting in the comfortable chairs listening to the music provided, and looking out onto the beautiful spring garden. Another great bonus was the huge bathroom and bath - gorgeous. We had our evening meal there and it was delicious from start to finish. Also a very good breakfast, before we sadly had to leave.
Go to Rathsallah and relax, revive and refresh.

Room Tip: My favourite would be the Garden Room, in a word gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that Rathsallagh appears to have worked it’s magic on you, its such a relaxing place when you get into it. The Garden room is one of the older rooms as you say looking out onto the Walled Gardens, the funny thing about the bath room is that even though the double ended bath is in the middle of the room looking out the window, you can see out , but no one can really see in. A bit daunting at first , but a lovely experience when you get used to it. Thank you also for the lovely review on the food here. It was a pleasure having you to stay and please do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the very first day we went to view the house as a prospective place for our wedding we knew this was the only place for us to have our wedding & we are so glad we did, The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the house itself really is old world meets new world full of character and charm. The staff could not have been any more helpful and everything we asked for was met with nothing but a can do attitude, We opted to stay the night before with the Bridal party and had dinner and drinks which was just a lovely start to our wedding and the wedding day was very relaxing partly due to this. We had our marriage ceremony in the orangery which has perfect surroundings and the perfect alternative to not getting married outside. Our guests where then greeted with cakes and scones along with tea , coffee and cocktails .We used both the drawing rooms and grounds for our photos and regal is the only way to describe some of them, Our reception was held in the Pavilion ( permanent marquee) which is just enchanting. The food was delicious with a fantastic ambiance and all our guests have made sure to tell us this and what a fantastic time they had and how Rathsallagh was the perfect wedding venue for all the reasons above, We are just looking forward to the day we get to experience been a guest at a wedding there sometime and experience all the magic Rathsallagh has to offer to make this the perfect place for a wedding again, but meanwhile we will happily look forward to a romantic escape away in the future and we just to like to say thanks to all the team there for making our day what it was.

Room Tip: Rooms are each unique and full of character with names on them not numbers to reflect the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We were honoured and privileged to host your wedding, and now you have written such a beautiful review as well, we do not know how to thank you enough. At our weekly management meeting your review was read out to the team, and the beaming smiles just said it all. We do hope you will come and visit soon for a romantic break, please get in touch ( or have a look at our web site for some great summers specials ) and we will be sure to look after you. Thank you again. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I got married in Rathsallagh and have stayed there a number of times since. My wedding was all I could ever have hoped for. The night before and the day of the wedding could not have been better, a fact which was also confirmed by so many of our guests. The food is always delicious and the ambience is always fantastic. I love Rathsallagh and will return many times, of that I am sure :-)

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We were delighted to read your review. We absolutely love to see our past brides return. Do you know that last year we had the first wedding for the daughter of a bride that was marred here herself, yes we have been around for a long time !. Please do keep coming back and thank you again for your loyal support, it very much appreciated by us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathsallagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.