We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay, a country setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rathsallagh House to your Saves list
Rathsallagh House
Dunlavin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
New York City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay, a country setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very comfy rooms in a building separate from the main one, but a quick one minute walk. Excellent food in a beautiful restaurant. Owned by a single family and managed by a woman who has been there long enough to know how to satisfy your every need. Very well located close to Dublin and to many wonderful and scenic sights.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write a great review. You were in the courtyard room, - nearly 50sqm in size with walk in power showers and double ended baths. You can get to the main house then via the Orangery or across the courtyards as you prefer. Thank you so much for mention our Mum Kay, she has running Rathsallagh for a long time and is thrilled she got a mention. We do hope you will come back and sty with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    41
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
148
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laois, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As the title states this was a return trip. Having had a relatively disappointing first time visit last year and put a review on this site to that effect, we were offered a very generous complimentary one night return stay by the owner, Mr O'Flynn.
Credit where credit is due, our second visit here was exceptional. The evening meal and breakfast were both top class. Our room was faultless. The staff are just incredibly friendly and helpful.
There is a lovely ambience about Rathsallagh and I think everyone should try to at least stay there once.
Again, many thanks to the owner for his kind offer to stay here - my mind was definitely changed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for coming back to us and thank you for your great review. You know we don’t always get it right, and when we don’t we will put up our hands and apologise. Your original review was fair and constructive, and your additional private correspondence was extremely helpful. You don’t know how much that is appreciated. Sometimes we receive vindictive and spurious reviews ( Lidl lady above ! ) that are very hard to either correct or to respond to, dealing with you has been a pleasure and we hope it will continue to be so for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently spent a "treat" night at Rathsallagh House with my partner. And can only say it was the most relaxing overnight I have had in years.
The hotel and its staff are warm and welcoming as soon as you come through the door, until you, sadly, leave. The location is stunning, my only regret is that I did not bring my walking shoes as there are lovely walks around the gardens, and lovely drives in the vicinity. We stayed in the Garden Room and I could have spent all day sitting in the comfortable chairs listening to the music provided, and looking out onto the beautiful spring garden. Another great bonus was the huge bathroom and bath - gorgeous. We had our evening meal there and it was delicious from start to finish. Also a very good breakfast, before we sadly had to leave.
Go to Rathsallah and relax, revive and refresh.

Room Tip: My favourite would be the Garden Room, in a word gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that Rathsallagh appears to have worked it’s magic on you, its such a relaxing place when you get into it. The Garden room is one of the older rooms as you say looking out onto the Walled Gardens, the funny thing about the bath room is that even though the double ended bath is in the middle of the room looking out the window, you can see out , but no one can really see in. A bit daunting at first , but a lovely experience when you get used to it. Thank you also for the lovely review on the food here. It was a pleasure having you to stay and please do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the very first day we went to view the house as a prospective place for our wedding we knew this was the only place for us to have our wedding & we are so glad we did, The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the house itself really is old world meets new world full of character and charm. The staff could not have been any more helpful and everything we asked for was met with nothing but a can do attitude, We opted to stay the night before with the Bridal party and had dinner and drinks which was just a lovely start to our wedding and the wedding day was very relaxing partly due to this. We had our marriage ceremony in the orangery which has perfect surroundings and the perfect alternative to not getting married outside. Our guests where then greeted with cakes and scones along with tea , coffee and cocktails .We used both the drawing rooms and grounds for our photos and regal is the only way to describe some of them, Our reception was held in the Pavilion ( permanent marquee) which is just enchanting. The food was delicious with a fantastic ambiance and all our guests have made sure to tell us this and what a fantastic time they had and how Rathsallagh was the perfect wedding venue for all the reasons above, We are just looking forward to the day we get to experience been a guest at a wedding there sometime and experience all the magic Rathsallagh has to offer to make this the perfect place for a wedding again, but meanwhile we will happily look forward to a romantic escape away in the future and we just to like to say thanks to all the team there for making our day what it was.

Room Tip: Rooms are each unique and full of character with names on them not numbers to reflect the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We were honoured and privileged to host your wedding, and now you have written such a beautiful review as well, we do not know how to thank you enough. At our weekly management meeting your review was read out to the team, and the beaming smiles just said it all. We do hope you will come and visit soon for a romantic break, please get in touch ( or have a look at our web site for some great summers specials ) and we will be sure to look after you. Thank you again. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I got married in Rathsallagh and have stayed there a number of times since. My wedding was all I could ever have hoped for. The night before and the day of the wedding could not have been better, a fact which was also confirmed by so many of our guests. The food is always delicious and the ambience is always fantastic. I love Rathsallagh and will return many times, of that I am sure :-)

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We were delighted to read your review. We absolutely love to see our past brides return. Do you know that last year we had the first wedding for the daughter of a bride that was marred here herself, yes we have been around for a long time !. Please do keep coming back and thank you again for your loyal support, it very much appreciated by us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a typical old Irish farm house in beautiful grounds with some lovely walks. You can either stay in the original house or in a mews building. The rooms in the old original house are very quaint but the sound proofing is poor so if you are easily disturbed by the noise of staff moving around the place in the early hours of the morning or people making noise late at night – the modern rooms in the mews building are a better option. The dining room and sitting rooms are beautifully furnished with oak panelling, large open log fires etc. The food is very good – fresh ingredients and Irish country cooking style. The breakfast is particularly impressive with a huge side of cooked ham, mouth- watering smoked salmon and excellent selection overall. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are not as quiet as those in the mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Rathsallagh is a very popular place for a romantic break, and we glad that you found it so. Right now the tress are all in leaf – after a long winter – and the walks in the walled garden and woodlands are just wonderful. Thanks you for you praise of our food, our kitchen team are absolutely thrilled. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is situated a couple of miles from Dunlavin village, but well signposted. Lovely grounds. We were in the main house. Some other guests were in other buildings. The room was spacious and cosy. The reception was in an adjacent building. The layout was superb. The food excellent, and service great. The band were good at several musical types and catered for all ages there, and conjured up a good atmosphere. Next morning we were allowed a unhurried departure after an excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We remember this wedding well, it was a really wonderful affair and it was a delight looking after you all . Thank you for your lovely review and in particular your comments on our breakfast. Made up of our own free range eggs, local hams and breakfast meats and of course my Mothers homemade preserves, this breakfast is a pleasure to serve to someone who knows how to appreciate it. Please do come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathsallagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.