We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Beautiful Wedding at the Romantic Rathsallagh House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rathsallagh House to your Saves list
Rathsallagh House
Dunlavin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Gorey, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our Beautiful Wedding at the Romantic Rathsallagh House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the very first day we went to view the house as a prospective place for our wedding we knew this was the only place for us to have our wedding & we are so glad we did, The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the house itself really is old world meets new world full of character and charm. The staff could not have been any more helpful and everything we asked for was met with nothing but a can do attitude, We opted to stay the night before with the Bridal party and had dinner and drinks which was just a lovely start to our wedding and the wedding day was very relaxing partly due to this. We had our marriage ceremony in the orangery which has perfect surroundings and the perfect alternative to not getting married outside. Our guests where then greeted with cakes and scones along with tea , coffee and cocktails .We used both the drawing rooms and grounds for our photos and regal is the only way to describe some of them, Our reception was held in the Pavilion ( permanent marquee) which is just enchanting. The food was delicious with a fantastic ambiance and all our guests have made sure to tell us this and what a fantastic time they had and how Rathsallagh was the perfect wedding venue for all the reasons above, We are just looking forward to the day we get to experience been a guest at a wedding there sometime and experience all the magic Rathsallagh has to offer to make this the perfect place for a wedding again, but meanwhile we will happily look forward to a romantic escape away in the future and we just to like to say thanks to all the team there for making our day what it was.

Room Tip: Rooms are each unique and full of character with names on them not numbers to reflect the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We were honoured and privileged to host your wedding, and now you have written such a beautiful review as well, we do not know how to thank you enough. At our weekly management meeting your review was read out to the team, and the beaming smiles just said it all. We do hope you will come and visit soon for a romantic break, please get in touch ( or have a look at our web site for some great summers specials ) and we will be sure to look after you. Thank you again. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    41
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
142
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I got married in Rathsallagh and have stayed there a number of times since. My wedding was all I could ever have hoped for. The night before and the day of the wedding could not have been better, a fact which was also confirmed by so many of our guests. The food is always delicious and the ambience is always fantastic. I love Rathsallagh and will return many times, of that I am sure :-)

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We were delighted to read your review. We absolutely love to see our past brides return. Do you know that last year we had the first wedding for the daughter of a bride that was marred here herself, yes we have been around for a long time !. Please do keep coming back and thank you again for your loyal support, it very much appreciated by us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a typical old Irish farm house in beautiful grounds with some lovely walks. You can either stay in the original house or in a mews building. The rooms in the old original house are very quaint but the sound proofing is poor so if you are easily disturbed by the noise of staff moving around the place in the early hours of the morning or people making noise late at night – the modern rooms in the mews building are a better option. The dining room and sitting rooms are beautifully furnished with oak panelling, large open log fires etc. The food is very good – fresh ingredients and Irish country cooking style. The breakfast is particularly impressive with a huge side of cooked ham, mouth- watering smoked salmon and excellent selection overall. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are not as quiet as those in the mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Rathsallagh is a very popular place for a romantic break, and we glad that you found it so. Right now the tress are all in leaf – after a long winter – and the walks in the walled garden and woodlands are just wonderful. Thanks you for you praise of our food, our kitchen team are absolutely thrilled. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is situated a couple of miles from Dunlavin village, but well signposted. Lovely grounds. We were in the main house. Some other guests were in other buildings. The room was spacious and cosy. The reception was in an adjacent building. The layout was superb. The food excellent, and service great. The band were good at several musical types and catered for all ages there, and conjured up a good atmosphere. Next morning we were allowed a unhurried departure after an excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We remember this wedding well, it was a really wonderful affair and it was a delight looking after you all . Thank you for your lovely review and in particular your comments on our breakfast. Made up of our own free range eggs, local hams and breakfast meats and of course my Mothers homemade preserves, this breakfast is a pleasure to serve to someone who knows how to appreciate it. Please do come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Rathsallagh for two nights bed and breakfast with two dinners included. The reception was most warm and welcoming, we stayed in the Lavander room which was beautifully decorated with three piece suite and huge bathroom.
The hospitality we received from the owners was outstanding and made us feel so welcome and relaxed.
Dinnder was simply amazing from start to finish, both food and service was five star plus.
Breakfast is a culinary feast, the best you could ever have.
Sitting at the log and turf fire after dinner was so relaxing
Overall our stay exceeded our expectations and we have stayed in many hotels worldwide and none could match Rathsallagh.Congratulations to the O'Flynn family and thank you for giving us two nights to remember.
We woul highly recommend Rathsallagh.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Also thank you for buying into what Rathsllagh is really all about, a family run hostelry with long serving and loyal staff working in beautiful surroundings. . It was such a pleasure looking after you both . We look forward to seeing you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have visited Rathsallagh a lot over the years. Last visit was more Faulty (sic) Towers than otherwise. Things are slipping. Breakfast and service is still marvellous. The house is still immaculate and impressive. However the dinner was disappointing. And dear for what we got. We had some spa treatments booked and on arrival the booking had been messed up, they had to be rebooked for the next day and plans had to be changed. I also just got a phone call - three weeks later - that they had forgotten to itemise one spa treatment and could I pay for it now please? . Over €350 for bed, breakfast, dinner and two spa treatments. Too dear to be messing things up.

Room Tip: Specify a room with a bath - some only have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, General Manager at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
A chara. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Rathsallagh We do apologise regarding the late charge on your account for the beauty treatment. From our records it would appear that you had two treatments booked for Friday the 22nd February, 4.00pm and 5pm . I am advised that your partner arrived after 4.00pm and took the 5.00pm treatment, you arrived after 5.00pm, and as you were late and our therapists were booked up that evening we could not facilitate you. By mutual agreement the team here managed to rearrange your appointment for the following morning, in addition the cancelation / no show fee was waived, and a late check out was arranged to ensure that you were not rushed the following day. Again we do apologise that your treatment was not charged to you at the time of check out. When we put the credit against the treatment for Friday and in addition waved the no show charge, we neglected to add the fee for the Saturday treatment This was only spotted when the therapist put in her invoice for February services. It is unfortunate that you brought up the matter of cost as we must now in fairness to our team here and the services they provide expand on that. Normally we would not disclose bills etc, but this has now been brought into a public forum by yourself. Your dinner and B&B accounted for some 54% of the bill, the balance was made up of beauty treatments and beverages. As you are aware this is our second response to your review on TA, we sincerely hope that there is nothing objectionable in this one. We apologies sincerely again for the late bill. Is mise le meas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were so looking forward to our visit to Rathsallagh as my Brother in Law has visited regularly and loves it.
After staying for 3 nights we realise that this is how all hotels should be.
The staff , from us walking through the door to reception on Friday afternoon to leaving on Monday morning were a delight. We saw nothing but smiling, willing,efficient and well trained staff who are obviously very happy to be working at Rathsallagh. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone.

We were lucky enough to have the Blue Room which was superb. We have stayed in smaller hotel rooms than our bathroom at Rathsallagh.

The food was absolutely delicious with so much choice , and everything we chose throughout the
weekend was so beautifully presented. The breakfast must be the best that you could ever have.

Mr and Mrs O'Flynn are not some anonymous owners who leave the running of their hotel to chance. They are very hands on and make a point of talking to their guests at Dinner and Breakfast ,which is a really nice touch, and they are both so nice.

The hotel is set amongst 520 acres or so, and we walked over to the Golf Clubhouse on the Saturday of our visit to watch the Rugby from Lansdowne Road and had a lovely afternoon.

If you want to be spoiled and treated by people who really enjoy looking after you then Rathsallagh is waiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review. Our staff are over the moon about this particular special mention , they revolve around Rathsallagh rather than the other way around , and when they are highlighted like this you can see it in their faces , they are really getting enjoyment out of their work. Rathsallagh House is registered as a Guest House not a Hotel and we try to run it as more of a home than a Hotel facility if you know what I mean. Rathsallagh House is not for everyone, some think its dated ( the place is over 400 years old ! ) or old fashioned. However having guests like yourselves to stay who appreciate genuine hospitality and the good things in life makes it all so much worthwhile . Thank you so much and please do not wait too long before coming back to visit. From all of us at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathsallagh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.