We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue for an Autumn weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherrybrook Country Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cherrybrook Country Home to your Saves list
Cherrybrook Country Home
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avoca Village, Avoca, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Avoca B&B and Inns
cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent venue for an Autumn weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were met with a warm welcome along with Tea and hot scones . The Accommodation was excellent and the service and food were just unbelievable . Great value for money and we will be back again in the near future . Bill & Katie Ryan from Cork

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santee, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and 2 friends arrived at Cherrybrook on 7 October and spent a wonderful night. Bernie met us at the door with a smile and a warm 'Irish' welcome. She got us to our beautiful rooms and promptly served us tea and scones in the lounge. She advised us to the amenities at the B&B and we took a nice 15 minute walk into Avoca to see the this wonderful little village of Ballykissangel fame. We walked all around Avoca shooting pictures and looking for sights from the TV program. Settling into Fitzgeralds for a few pints we had some good craic with newly met 'friends' from Australia who were also staying at the B&B. If you are in the area stay at Bernie's B&B, Cherrybrook. The facility is like new, clean, well kept and probably the best B&B we have stayed in during our 4 trips to Ireland- Thanks Bernie for a great time! Mike and Vicki Sheedy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a large triple room upstairs. Breakfast in the conservatory was lovely. Bernie went above and beyond what a host could do. We were traveling to see the Ballykissangel sites, and were surprised that the village no longer had gift shops, since we wanted to take a few things home for the rest of the family. Bernie took a "Fitzgeralds" music box off her shelf and gave it to me!

We had a great fish and chips at Hendleys, and a drink in Fitzgeralds which were within walking distance. We also had a great meal at the Meetings pub further down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My daughter (14 years), my wife and I stayed at Cherrybrook in June and the three of us were very happy with the room, food and the service provided (which I feel is an achievement especially when a 14 year old is involved). We would have no hesitation in recommending Cherrybrook to anyone visiting that part of Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very nice bed and breakfast. Lovely homely welcome. Breakfast superb. Plenty of choice. Very tranquil setting. Within driving distance to Glendalough, Avoca hand weavers. Weather was lovely when we stayed there so we could take in the beautiful surroundings. Owners very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly helpful and very hospitable place to stay. Highly recommended to anyone wanting to stay In Avoca or Wicklow. Will certainly recommend to anyone and can't wait to go back myself.rooms were very clean and comfortable, traditionalL Irish breakfast available and plenty of good coffee. Owners went out of their way to welcome me and give excellent advice on the surrounding area. Within easy walking distance of the village and set in well cared for picturestic gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful home. The windowed dining area was amazing.

The staff could have been more helpful. I would suggest to them to have a list of restaurants, pubs, and activities to give to the guest when they arrive. Also, a map of the area would be nice too.

The dining area is set up elegantly and is very nice. However, the food is average. I would suggest serving the fruit in nice dishes rather than tupperware bowls that just had the lids taken off. Also, the dishes need to be checked after the dishwasher. A cup had hard food residue on it from the dishwasher.

The house and rooms were extremely clean. The bed comfortable. The bedroom was very small. We were on the bottom floor. It was noisy in the morning when people where coming to breakfast.

Room Tip: I wouldn't get a room on the first level. It becomes noisy in the morning when everyone is goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherrybrook Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrybrook Country Home

Address: Avoca Village, Avoca, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Avoca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherrybrook Country Home 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family home Failte Ireland 4* B&B also awarded AA 4* grading. Excellent highly recommended B&B, walking distance from Avoca Village, restaurants, pubs shops etc and the famous Avoca Handweaving Mill. Come enjoy the uniqueness of a B&B where the friendliness of the host ensure a warm welcome & a pleasant stay. The personal touch of an Irish B&B is ensured here at Cherrybrook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Cherrybrook Country Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherrybrook Country Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.