We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very inviting for visitors.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's of Ballykissangel

Fitzgerald's of Ballykissangel
Main Street, Avoca, Ireland
(0402)35108
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Avoca
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Not very inviting for visitors.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited here mid-afternoon and was unsure whether the pub was actually open; no sign outside, no menu or board advertising meals (which is a European legal requirement for eating establishments) blackboard in place but nothing written on it (see photo). Nothing to say 'Welcome, come on in!' - so we didn't. Those visiting on coach trips are directed to go in so the guess work is take out of it for them I suppose....I am reviewing the atmosphere surrounding the pub - or lack of it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    19
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Over priced, dirty and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Called in here while visiting avoca village was very disappointed. The service was very bad, we had to go search for some to serve us, most of the staff seem to be sitting about drinking tea or reading paper, some of our cups were dirty, didnt even get an apology. very over priced as well, probably ok to go have a drink but dont buy food. no atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad food, terrible restrooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Did not like it at all. Food was so bad that I had to leave it unfinished. Restrooms are extremely dirty, old with rusty pipes coming out of the walls. It was very hard to catch staff to pay for the bill and run away from there as soon as possible. Definitely overpriced for tourists. Avoid if possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

To be honest - great disappointment ! Poor food, dirty toilets, waiting too long for the staff to pay our bill...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Living on their history of the TV series”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The service was average and it seemed that they were more interested setting up for dinner and I did not see any large crowds in the area headed there for dinner. We enjoyed our late lunch and seeing all of the Ballykissangel photos on the walls however, all in all it was a bit of a let down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzgerald's of Ballykissangel also viewed

Avoca, County Wicklow
 
Avoca, County Wicklow
County Wicklow, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Fitzgerald's of Ballykissangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's of Ballykissangel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.