We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballymoney, Gorey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gorey
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fabulous location- lovely hotel- very friendly staff- Restaurant could do better - volume rather than quality seems to be the mantra- Breakfast - eggs hard and rubbery - bacon leathery- could have a much better selection of fruit . Rooms clean but could do with a little maintenance - Could be superb

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    225
    106
    76
    27
See reviews for
124
355
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. A group of 16 of us stayed overnight and we were very well looked after. The library was our personal dining room for the night, where the food was superb & the service excellent. We stayed up rather late in the bar which was very cosy & inviting (great cocktails!) And to top it off we had treatments the following day. Our whole stay was faultless. The spa exceeded our expectations too, the staff were really great, true professionals.
I would highly recommend this hotel to couples, groups & families as it is a very welcoming hotel.
Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had stayed at the Seafield for a wedding but didn't get a chance (at the time) to enjoy the full facilities. This time round, I wanted to make the most of my stay.

I enjoyed a delicious lunch in the bar when I arrived. The two guys who served us were friendly, helpful and kind. Once our full group had arrived we ordered Afternoon tea. The sandwiches and cakes were fresh and tasty. I decided on coffee and was not disappointed.

We had asked for a room with a balcony and I would recommend this if you are staying with a group. As the balconies are slightly joined, you can pass from room to room outdoors (instead of going out into the corridor and knocking on various rooms). We enjoyed wine and nibbles sitting around the table and chairs on our balcony, on a beautiful October evening. The view in the morning of the sun rising over the sea and across the golf course is spectacular.

The Spa is actually where this hotel really impressed me. The dark walls, lit candles and serene atmosphere were just glorious. The outdoor hotpool is a must! Steam room, hot beds, stunning indoor pool and various showers all added to the luxury. As children under the age of 16 are not allowed to attend the pool area, it was lovely to have a mature, quiet and relaxing space.
Sitting in the outdoor hot pool until 8 in the evening was probably the highlight for me.

The breakfast is fantastic! Delicious selection of fresh fruit, seeds, nuts and yoghurt. The hot food consists of full Irish breakfast with some tasty extras.

We didn't have time to go for a walk by the sea but I will definitely put that on my list for next time.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are not huge but worth the outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

After attending a wedding in seafield last weekend I felt I had to write a review.. Having worked in the hotel industry for 20 years It didnt raise much hope.. Shared a room with a friend for €150 which I thought was pricey for the location... However, was greated by a very busy but extremely friendly receptionist.. Tick.. It was 2pm and my room was not ready which is normal by the way.. Had a coffee in the lounge and checked back and was handed my keys.. Was so pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful room and huge bathroom.. No faults, luxury at it's best.. The huge shock to me was room service next morning.. I know what to expect even from 5star hotels but this in my view is the best room service.. Piping hot and great quality.. I must also mention the manager who looked after the wedding.. Barry Smith.. This hotel needs more recognition. I 100% recommend this hotel to ANY type of traveller business or leisure

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a stay in the Seafield and I was extremely impressed. This hotel has a very stylish and modern interior which might not be to everybody's taste but certainly leaves an impression. We ate in the bar three times and the food was consistently excellent, as was the buffet breakfast. The highlight was the wonderful Spa, especially the outdoor pool. Top class hotel, we shall certainly be returning in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I travel Tuesday to Friday every week and stay in different hotels all across Ireland and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review!!

I stayed here 2 weeks ago, a last minute booking, and not knowing the area well. From the delightful Anete who checked me in, to the discreet yet pleasant waiting staff, and Janine who checked me out, I could not fault any of them.

The setting is beautiful and the rooms perfect. The bathroom was so nice I didn't want to disturb anything! A walk in shower and separate bath....and what a BATH! it was just too good to not take advantage of even though I normally opt for a power shower.

I had dinner in the bar (which was lovely) and the food was tasty and plentiful. I arrived for breakfast the next morning towards the end of serving time to find they were still bringing out freshly cooked food. Again very nice.

I love the outdoors and Janine on reception recommended I check out the beach walk. I was so convinced by her enthusiasm I went to my meeting and drove back to the hotel especially. A short walk through a wooded area skirting the side of the golf course led me to a beautiful secluded and very clean beach. A great way to clear the head before a long drive home.

I didn't have time to make use of the spa but I was so impressed by everything, I have booked to stay again this week for 2 nights and will definitely be checking it out!

As a business traveller my only complaint would have been the poor mobile phone reception in my room and no wifi connection. This is probably just a case of the positioning of my room but everything else made up for it.

Looking forward to going back tomorrow.
:-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynure
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When we decided to take a few days away for our 10th Wedding Anniversary - we were unsure of where to book. I wanted a spa location, and my husband wanted beach walks and countryside. Well we both got what we wanted and more from the Seafield.
From the friendly welcome at check-in, our fabulous third floor bedroom with balcony, the amazing spa through to the amazing food - the whole experience was faultless.
Can't wait to return.... and maybe making this a yearly anniversary trip rather than a one-off!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballymoney, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gorey
#3 Spa Hotel in Gorey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel we have a simple philosophy: to make your visit as perfect as can be. Everything, from the contemporary architecture and furnishings to the wonderful food and helpful staff is designed to deliver that perfection.Seafield is little more than an hour away from Dublin, on the sands of Ballymoney shore. Yet it’s a world away from the city’s hustle and bustle. Enjoy outstanding hotel accommodation, championship-standard golf and our award-winning Oceo Spa. All set amidst 160 acres of glorious coastal parkland, Seafield is perfectly located for exploring the many attractions of the South East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield Golf And Spa Hotel
Seafield Golf Hotel Gorey
Seafield Hotel Gorey
Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.