We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Coach Road, Gorey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gorey
Wicklow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

There is no other word we would use describe the Ashdown Park Hotel and all the staff only "amazing". We had our Wedding reception in the Ashdown Park in July, we had stayed in the hotel a couple of times prior to setting our date,
and found everything just perfect so there was no
question of where we were going to spend our special day!!
From our first meeting with
Aileen she completely set our
mind at ease and made every aspect of the planning such fun.
The day of our wedding ran so smoothly thanks to Aileen and
also Stephen who really helped settle my husband's nerves
before the speeches, they are both a fantastic asset to the
hotel. The food, from our wedding meal to breakfast right
through to lunch was perfect,and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our guests on the day were so complimentary of all aspects of the Ashdown Park Hotel.
I'm delighted we have found our 'special place' as we will be back every opportunity we get
Elaine & John

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    85
    42
    23
    13
See reviews for
96
107
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here for our friends wedding . Very easy check in . The had all pre booked rooms ready just had to sign and got your keys no hassle Dave lee checked us in told us his name . And said any problems just ask for me . There was no need but nice touch. The food and service for the recpition was first class. Breakfast was again lovely . My wife lost her glasses told Anne at reception we could not find them ... To be honest taught that was the end off them but later that day got a call to say the had found them at the could post them out to us ... Excellent staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here recently for a wedding and what a lovely spot it is. The staff were so friendly and helpful, just couldn't do enough for you. There is also a lovely leisure centre. The wedding function room is fantastic. There aren't enough words to describe how delicious the meal was. Overall a very family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Enjoyable weekend trip to the Ashdown. Rooms were nice but too warm ( No Air Con which is a pitty for a 4* Hotel) The facilities are good. One thing to note is that food service could be more prompt - we were waiting a long time for courses and the Hotel at the time was not busy - but dont get me wrong it was an enjoyable stay and we would probably return. Sister Hotel The Amber Springs is worth a stay aswell

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding ceremony
& function here. It was amazing. From our first contact with the wedding team to the final event we were made feel so at ease. Their professional approach to detail was so special. It was perfection in itself.
The function could not have been improved in any way. The advice and assistance given to us was brilliant.
Would we do it again at this venue, we most certainly would.
Many thanks to our new friends at Ashtown Park Hotel and continued success.
Alan & Trish

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The minute I walked into this hotel I knew it was the hotel I wanted, the staff were amazing the reception was so homely and done up beautiful, the wedding room was spacious and plenty of light, I just loved it, after booking it the wedding girls couldn't of been any more helpful they emailed and rang me nearly every month checking I was on top of things, the lead up to it I heard from them every week and anytime I rang them they were so nice, my first meal tasting wasn't what I asked for and they organised a second one, on the wedding day iv never been so fussed over in all my life, the staff were amazing to myself and my husband and to all my guests, the food was gorgeous, the room was beautiful, anything I wanted the staff were on it straight away, I got great feedback from all my guests complimenting the food, the service and how beautiful the day was and this was down to the staff making this day extra special for me, I would highly recommend here for a wedding or even a weekend away, fab hotel I love it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed at the Ashdown Park on 20th and 21st July. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the girl on reception told us to leave our bags and took all our details and told us she would ring when it was ready.( We were also offered the use of the leisure centre.) It was a beautiful day and we decided to go for a walk. We were only away 30 minutes when our phone rang to say our room was ready. We walked back and booked in. Girl on reception was really pleasant and helpful. Room was beautiful clean and very well presented. After freshening up we went down and booked dinner in the Rowan Tree restaurant. The meal was truly amazing presentation first class. We asked the name of the chef who was Noel and sent him our sincere thanks. Staff in the restaurant again were very attentive and friendly. Morning breakfast didn't disappoint. Good selection of food on offer. Again it was a beautiful day so we headed to Courtown. Back at the hotel we used the leisure facilities and if I had to complain about anything it would be the small changing area with no private changing cubicles. This would not be a problem usually but I felt for a older lady who was trying to change and a boy aged around 9 stood staring at her. If there had been family areas this would not be the case. Staff in the centre were very good and on 2 occasion I saw them speak to children for throwing things and getting in the way of swimmers in the swimming lane.
As food had been so good the night before we dined in Ivy Bar. Food again was great and again friendly helpful staff.
On checking out the next morning the girl on reception was very helpful giving us directions to our next destination and also recommended a garden centre to stop at for coffee (which we did).
Really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre

Address: The Coach Road, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gorey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gorey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gorey
#4 Family Hotel in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious superbly appointed 4* Hotel in Wexford, located on its own private grounds, just a short stroll from Gorey Town. Just minutes from sandy beaches and top class golf courses. The Ashdown Park Hotel boasts 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each tastefully designed and offering the highest level of comfort. Our award winning "Rowan Tree Restaurant" offers a unique dining experience. Our "Ivy Bar" has top class food and regular live entertainment. Our Ashdown Club has state-of-the-art facilities including 18m Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdown Park Gorey
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference And Leisure Centre Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.