We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Coach Road, Gorey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I dont generally write reviews, however I am making an exception. My stay at this hotel was enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing. The staff went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met. Especially the staff in the leisure facilities and bar. They were extremely welcoming and friendly. The rooms were very clean, and very comfortable and quiet. I had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was varied and well displayed. The breakfast room was lovely. Well done to all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    95
    44
    27
    14
See reviews for
112
116
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived on one of the wettest most miserable afternoons possible to a warm friendly welcome. Check-in was efficient prior to heading off to our room. However, we were greeted by a cold cold room. I immediately turned on the radiators to get some heat into the room. This was the only major negative during our stay but one that could be so easily avoided by having housekeeping turn on heat in those rooms due to be occupied.

The room was spacious and spotless and the bathroom likewise. The hotel itself had all the usual facilities with a very large open plan lounge and a smaller lounge in an adjacent room. However as a private function was being held in this room it was not available leaving nowhere 'cosy' to sit and enjoy a drink as the public areas are all of open plan design. The bar menu, although a little pricey, had all the usual dishes and the food was well presented and tasty.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre which has a wide range of shops/bars/cafes etc.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at the Ashdown and having used a Groupon voucher we were happy with the value it provided.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had such a fantastic stay here. Gary, one of the managers was so good to us and so polished and professional. The food was lovely and we really enjoyed the leisure centre. Cannot wait to visit this hotel again!

The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our stay at the Ashdown Park Hotel was the one of our best Hotel stay over Experience's in Hotels. The décor is just fab, staff are fantastic, everyone is so helpful & extremely pleasant. The staff were so accommodating to our needs. We stayed over for a wedding on the 30th November & the wedding was great, food is superb, ballroom stunning, bands x 2 were just mighty, guests & atmosphere great. Rooms are very spacious, very comfortable & spotless. Its a credit to the management & staff at this hotel. All round we would recommend to anyone wanting luxury accommodation with a great service & impeccable cleanliness. Great Value. We'll be back...
L & K

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night 30 Nov. as we were attending a wedding. Well, from start to finish this was a very enjoyable and pleasant stay. The receptionist was very welcoming and it was the beginning of a great day. The room was fantastic, very roomy and we had a 4 poster bed! The food was very tasty and we loved the atmosphere in the hotel. The staff are just excellent, they are friendly and make you feel very welcome. What more can I say, it was really amazing and we would certainly recommend staying in the Ashdown Park Hotel

Room Tip: We had areally fantastic room with a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself and my Husband stayed one night on the 8th Nov and we found this hotel very good. The Staff particularly were extreamly friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and spotless as was the bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a great selection of food. We will return there again hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was great if your not very mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Did not stay here although have done in the past.

Attended for a comedy evening to see Des Bishop live in the upstairs function room.

Ate dinner in the bar/restaurant downstairs which was provided quickly with good quality food. There was a small private wedding reception being held in the dining room as well as 500 patrons upstairs for the comedy in addition to the customary live music being held in the bar.

Overall it was an excellent night, the hotel coped with all of the people demanding drinks at the same time and did a great job. There were the usual mumbles and groans about the time it took to get served but with such a number all attending the bars at the same time then it was only to be understood that somebody would not be happy.

I do have to commend the effort of all the staff who facilitated all these events at the same time whilst maintaining the standard that I have always experienced at this hotel. A good night out and no disappointments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre

Address: The Coach Road, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious superbly appointed 4* Hotel in Wexford, located on its own private grounds, just a short stroll from Gorey Town. Just minutes from sandy beaches and top class golf courses. The Ashdown Park Hotel boasts 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each tastefully designed and offering the highest level of comfort. Our award winning "Rowan Tree Restaurant" offers a unique dining experience. Our "Ivy Bar" has top class food and regular live entertainment. Our Ashdown Club has state-of-the-art facilities including 18m Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdown Park Gorey
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference And Leisure Centre Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.