We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff saved this place!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mullaghmore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Leitrim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff saved this place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

Me and my friend and our two kids stayed here for one night, we were very disapointed with the size of the room which was very small, I had expected better as it was supposed to be a "superior room" it did have a good sea view out of the small window. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room either which I would expect even from a B&B never mind a hotel, I would have thought it fairly standard.
However the staff were extreemly helpful and friendly which makes a big difference when you have little kids, so hats off to them!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    111
    59
    30
    40
See reviews for
50
171
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

Stayed for Vaentines night and felt like we were the only people there?Maybe it was just the time of year...The room was tiny,with a tiny bed and tv too, was dissapointed as had booked a "superior" room. Was hoping for a bath in the room but no such luck.You definetly got the feeling whoever was in charge was very stingy, very little comfort in the room you got the feeling things were nailed down. Function rather than comfort was a priority. No tea/coffee making facilities, don't know where they would fit in the room anyway.
Had dinner there, presentation was good, but food was overcooked and bland.Got a tacky pink carnation for my troubles!
The hall leading to our room had no lights and we could barely make out the room no. It was also quite loud at night, I think someone in the room next door left their fan on in the bathroom. Our room faced the sea so wind howled all night. Overall not great. would recomend the new westport plaza hotel.Couldn't fault it

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, Belfast.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

Lovely room with an excellent view and good sized bathroom. I think hotel policy is to have no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms but when we asked we were immediately supplied with everything necessary. Staff were always courteous , friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and the Bar food was excellent! The only slight complaint would be that the housekeeping was a bit slap-dash but adequate and my husband always says that I'm fussy! All in all a great long week-end and we would definitely repeat the experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone, ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

we stay here every year, love the hot tub on the roof, love the breakfast, love the rooms, love the area. We have family in mullaghmore, we stay with them sometimes but its a real treat going to this hotel. Its great.

  • Liked — the hot tub, leisure centre, rooms and the area
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room thats the same floor as the hot tub, then you can just nip in and out
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

My wife and our baby daughter were all looking forward to staying in this hotel as long term visitors to
Mullaghmore, especially as it has been newly refurbished.

Alas it proved to be a complete disaster here's why;

1) No aircon - rooms were sweltering was so hot we could not sleep
2) Thin walls - Our room turned out to be almost directly above the bar which meant that even with the aid
of ear plugs sleep was not to be had
3) Food Morning - The cooked breakfast was tasteless and very greasy. Cereal / fruit juice selection was good.
4) Food evening - Overpriced given the blandness
5) Bar - Worst bar staff I have ever met. I had to direct them to the Southern Comfort optic from the other side of the bar no craic or smiles just blatant ignorance. Guiness left standing as barman disappeared for a smoke, it doesn't take 15 mins for a pint
to settle surely.
6) Massage / Beauty Spa - Hard to find anyone who seemed to know about this, then when found the staff
very condescendingly informed my pregnant wife she couldn't have any treatments due to her condition. Oh
and the seaweed baths were not available. Nice pool though.
7) Charges - A 15% excess is apparently added to weekend bank holidays. Unfortunately it was not a bank holiday in the
Republic of Ireland on the 12th July and Wed - Fri is not a weekend. Regardless this was being charged.
8) Customer service - 'Noticable by its complete absence in this hotel'. It was staggering not a smile or welcome was to be had
from any of the reception staff, infact be prepared to be ignored and left standing as we and other guests were. Generally the younger foreign workers were plesant and seemed interested in doing a good job.
9) No tea / coffee facilities in the room nor iron or safe.

We left a night early, could not wait to go as we were so tired and unhappy with the place. The manager begrudginly gave us the 15% excess they charged for, on this non weekend non bankholiday.

We'll never be back !


  • Liked — Seeing it in the rearview mirror
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid like the plague
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mullaghmore hotels

west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

A fairly swish Hotel in an excellent location - good views and plasma TV but no tea/coffee making facilities in the room! The breakfast tasted as if it had been cooked hours ago - the fried egg was particularly awful. Could be a great Hotel but isn't at the moment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.