We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, nothing to rave about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rowanville Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rowanville Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowanville Lodge
N15, Grange, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Grange B&B and Inns
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK, nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

There were 5 of us and needed 3 rooms. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Attention to detail could be better as we had a number of things missing from our room - toilet paper, soap etc and the towels are just OK. TV reception is terrible and almost no channels.
Sounds picky but it separates the good from excellent.
Breakfast is OK, and the owners are certainly nice. Bobbin, the dog is nice and friendly. Nothing more to say really.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am glad the beds were comfortable and the place clean.
I wish to apologise for the inconvenience you had in requesting an extra loo roll for your ensuite bedroom which was an oversight on the part of housekeeping. Unfortunately, the morning of your stay before breakfast the TV signal was out throughout the premises, it returned later that morning after your departure. We do not offer Sky Sports and I believe you were very disappointed you were unable to watch the motor cycle race in Austrailia at 4.00 . Thank you for your comments and hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    27
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This property was comfortable, clean, and served a large breakfast in a lovely sun room on the front of the house. They have several dogs which you can enjoy as our children did. If you don't care for animals, no worries, they are not in the guest area. The hostess was extremely pleasant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments. Many thanks for your past business and taking of your time to post a great review. Kind regards and good wishes from us all at Rowanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

On arrival we were greeted warmly by Patricia, who is a very friendly and welcoming hostess. We were brought to a beautifully decorated en suite room with luxurious fabric headboards, bed cushions and curtains. The room resembled something you would find in a boutique hotel. She served us a lovely full-Irish breakfast the next morning. We were beside Benbulben and a few other tourist attractions in Sligo. We really enjoyed our stay, but there isn't anywhere particularly good to eat in the vicinity and that is the only complaint I have. We ate in the Yeats Tavern which we weren't too impressed with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review which we appreciate. It was unfortunate you did not entirely enjoy your meal at The Yeats Tavern. We could have also recommended 'Langs' in Grange village which won 'Gastro Pub/Restaurant' recently or 'Eithnes by the Sea' in nearby Mullaghamore or even 'Harrisons' in Cliffoney where I have always enjoyed good food and service. Thank you again for your great review which we appreciate. Kind regards from all the family at Rowanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We passed an excellent moment in this house, and Patricia was very warm. The only thing I partially disliked was the proximity with the national road, which was a little bit noisy. Otherway, the house was really nice, and very clean ! The veranda, in which you take the breakfast, offers a wonderfull view over Benbulben !

Our room was nicely decorated and spacious, but sadly a little bit dark, because the major window was overlooking on the hedge. As it was the last room in this part of the house, time to time the wi-fi was not able to reach it, but it was not really problematic... We really enjoyed our stay here !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time to post a review, we are indeed in a beautiful location overlooking the Dartry and BenBulben mountains range. Best wishes from all at Rowanville BandB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited the area for 2 nights and had a great experience. The family was friendly, room was very well kept and the dogs made us feel like we were at home. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and visit again. The mountain views were beautiful and the place so peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and of course for choosing to stay at Rowanville BandB, it was delightful to have you stay and our four legged friends really enjoyed the company. We appreciate your positive comments and hopefully you will visit with us again in the North West of Eire. Kind regards Pat, Mattie and all the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife is from Meath and has lived in the UK for about 35 years, she has never travelled in Ireland and I thought it was time she had. I took her to Rowanville Lodge and without a word of lie she couldn’t believe she was in Ireland! The area around the B & B although a little remote was so picturesque and peaceful even though it is set back on a main road this poses no problem with traffic noise.
The accommodation itself is very clean and modern, rooms have TV and very important to me WiFi as well as Tea and Coffee making facilities plus probably one of the best shower systems I have ever come across in a B & B.
The host Pat is very friendly and I had spoken to her a couple of time prior to my arrival, my suggestion would be to speak to her before your arrival if you have any special requests i.e. diets etc. The breakfasts were good and my wife’s needs were catered for without problem.
On your arrival you would be met by a trio of friendly dogs so don’t be alarmed!!!
I can recommend a place called Henrys a few miles down the road for evening meals although you would need a taxi or non-drinker to get you there and back. To the side of Rowanville there is a lane that would take you to a small pebbled beach after a pleasant 15 minute walk.
My only gripe was other guests slamming doors, the noise seemed to carry but that was the fault of guests who don’t know how to shut doors, not the proprietor’s!
I would definitely go back to Rowanville Lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review which we appreciate. Many thanks for taking of your personal time to post your kind words and hopefully we may welcome you again to the North West coast of Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

my partner and I travelled through Ireland and stayed in this b&b in September 2012 for 2 nights. we found the lady host to be incredibly rude and snappy - rolling eyes like a bold child. we did not feel welcome, we rather felt like we were some inconvenient "burden" for the lady and certainly would not advise anybody to spend even one night in this place. heating was also an issue for us, since we had a basement room that was lying in the shade somehow all day, maybe it was north facing - I am not sure, however the room was very cold and we were constantly freezing, we did request a heater which we had to wait for the next day to finally arrive and unfortunately it was only poorly working. not again, thanks but hell no thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolglade, Owner at Rowanville Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We regret we do not recollect your stay with us, and also that is almost 12 months later, which in itself is unusual. We are surprised with the comments and also find the statements difficult to understand. We do not have a basement nor basement rooms, we do have a modern oil heating system which can be zoned to comply with environmental issues. We have static radiators in all our bedrooms and have never supplied heaters?? to our guests. It is regretful we are unable to address any of your problems and it is a shame you had a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowanville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanville Lodge

Address: N15, Grange, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast at Rowanville Lodge Grange Co Sligo offers 4 Star Accommodation to our guests visiting the North West of Ireland. Hotel style bedrooms at B&B rates in Sligo together with traditional Irish home cooked organic breakfasts, home made bread/scones,breakfast menu. Guests can avail of Free Wifi, Free car parking. The Bedrooms have TV, tea/coffee facility,hairdryer,en-suites with power showers. Private guest B&B entrance and guest sitting room where you can enjoy afternoon cream tea/coffee and home baking. The BandB has easy access onto BenBulben mountain and is ideal for hillwalking. We are ideally located only 5 mins from Grange village in the heart of WB Yeats countryside. Horseriding, watersports, golf only mins from the accommodation. Welcome to warm Irish hospitality at Rowanville B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Rowanville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowanville Lodge Ireland/Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowanville Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.