We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Edward Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mount Edward Lodge to your Saves list
Mount Edward Lodge
Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Grange B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

What can we say, this B&B sat the standards very high for us. Amazing view, great hospitality, very quiet and peaceful, splendid breakfast, we just had the best sleep for a long time. Make sure you get one of the rooms towards the parking lot - the ones which at the same time has the fantastic view. Should we find ourselves near Sligo again, you know where to find us!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zwickau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

great breakfast, great people... wonderful location there... nice city ;-) nice to stay there... ;-) if its possible we come back ;-) thanks a lot for the nice stay, take care!! greetings from Germany Jana & Dustin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed there for one night only in mid of February. It was very easy to find and well signposted at off the main road. Very quiet with a lovely views from the sun room (where the breakfast was served). Maureen is very friendly and the room was comfortable. The only cons I could mention is that it was a little bit too cold - but the electric blanket was a lifesaver - very good idea! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review :) Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again at some point in the future. Kind regards, Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Mount Edward Lodge is a great little Irish B&B. It's not a big luxury hotel so don't expect huge rooms and walk in showers like the American reviewer below. But it is the best B&B I've stayed in around Sligo/Donegal area.

I often surf in the area and Mount Edward is our first choice when rooms are available. Maureen is one of the most accommodating hosts I've ever met. Late check-ins, late check-outs, late breakfasts, you name it and Maureen has done her best to accommodate us.

The rooms are nice and clean with all the little extras you need to enjoy hardy Irish weather-like electric blankets, warm radiators, kettles and hot showers. Beds are comfy and the breakfast is legendary. Good wifi throughout-we often work from there when the surf is good midweek. Billy the puppy is also a great source of entertainment.

If you're looking for a lovely traditional Irish B&B this is your best bet. If you're looking for a big fancy hotel then you're going to have to stick to the cities or shell out €250 per night to stay in the Ice House.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4 and 5 have better wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks very much for your review!! Kind regards, Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel Valley, So. California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

First let me start by saying how sorry I am to have to write this review, as Maureen couldn't have been more kind throughout my many emails prior to making the reservation, as well as upon our late evening arrival, with xtra directions we needed to find the place, breakfast etc.
However, I feel it is EXTREMELY important to write this review so that no one else like me should make a reservation here and like myself, find yourself completely unable to stay here.
From my very first email to Maureen back at the beginning of October, I asked if the property was a non-smoking property, as I am extremely allergic to tobacco/smoke. Unfortunately, I failed to notice in her reply or any subsequent emails, that particular query had not been answered. So, I suppose it was partly my fault for not repeating the question, even though she had provided room info and never once mentioned that NO, the property is NOT NON-SMOKING!
We arrived late in the evening after having some trouble finding the location & stopping for dinner in Sligo, after first checking with Maureen that the later arrival would be okay.
Upon her opening the door, it was clear that this was not a non-smoking establishment. Ironically, the rooms all have no smoking signs posted in them and in the literature about the rules & regs says no smoking in the rooms, yet the smell of smoke permeates the hall and even into the bedrooom too. I believe Maureen is a smoker, though I did not ask.
The location of the property is lovely & ideal, quiet secluded, lovely view, yet unless you are a smoker or that smell/smoke doesn't bother you, this property is NOT for you!
Because Maureen had been so helpful & nice all along the way, I did not want to offend her, so I simply told her our plans had changed and we wouldn't be staying the second night, which she graciously said was fine, I am fairly certain that she recognized there was a problem, but honestly there was no point in me discussing it with her, she couldn't repaint, air out & sanitize the whole property instantaneously, so there was just no ability for us to stay.
As it was we were there for less than 12 hours total, only walked thru the hall to the room from front door, then to breakfast room in morning and back to room and out, yet I had a migraine for the next 18 hours to deal with *sigh* not to mention having to scramble to make other arrangements last minute, pay extra for them etc.
If we had not arrived so late in the evening, we would not have even stayed the one night, but at nearly 10 pm, after a few hours of driving & sightseeing that day, we were too tired to try to make any other arrangements, though trust me we discussed it before opening any of our bags!
So, if you can deal with the smoker household and wish to enjoy the lovely location & nice hospitality, oh and excellent wireless internet in your room, then you may want to consider staying here, if not, don't!
Also, the rooms (at least the one we had) were quite small, my husband says he couldn't have even imagined a bathroom that small, it was literally a very, very small walkin type closet conversion, you opened door, stepped inside, either turned & used toilet on left (no steps involved) or opened shower door & took one half step inside...it was unbelievable! Honestly, the entire "bathroom" was perhaps 4 1/2 feet "long" by 2 feet "wide"! The sink was out in the room built into the closet setup, so if you used the restroom during the nite, it would definitely wake your spouse/roomate when you washed your hands...little odd.
Also, though the sheets seemed clean, there was black mold in the window frame/sill and when we pulled the shade down over the window...DISGUSTING! More mold & even dead bugs were rolled up in/stuck to it...think my husband took a phone photo of that...guess if he posts you can see it...just yucky....tho the rest of the room/bathroom seemed clean. I will give you that the wet seaside environment may make the mold a constant issue there, but then I would think with diligent cleaning, it wouldn't be a problem & clearly that window/sill/shade had not been cleaned in months if not longer! The bed was also not very comfortable.
So there you have it the long & short, okay just the long of it...decide for yourself & good luck if you decide to try it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive and detailed review of your stay.
It is clear from reading your review, and you state yourself, that you are “extremely allergic to tobacco/smoke”. During initial correspondence with any of our potential guests the room information provided and discussed is normally based on the type of room required, number of nights stay, and the rate per person per night. We are happy to accommodate any of our guests with special requirements, whether this is a physical health condition or dietary requirements if this is specifically stated at the time of booking or on arrival. Mount Edward Lodge has a designated smoking area outside of the property which is a requirement for all businesses in Ireland. Smoking is not allowed in the bedrooms at Mount Edward Lodge and this policy is in place.
We did accommodate your late arrival as you have mentioned in your review and we were happy to do so.
We were sorry to read that upon opening our door you felt that you could smell smoke/tobacco. We can only speculate that on occasion if another guest has been smoking outside that some of the smoke may have blown into the hall area if they forgot to close the front door, and perhaps due to your extreme allergy to tobacco/smoke this smell may have been more heightened for you. You should have felt free to highlight this to us at the time and also that you had an extreme allergy and we would have been happy to address your needs. There would certainly be no need in the normal course of business to “repaint, air out & sanitize the whole property instantaneously” as you have stated.
We were sorry to read also that you had a migraine and can only imagine that your extreme allergy combined with being so tired after a few hours of driving and sightseeing that day, arriving at nearly 10pm that night, this may have led to what sounds like an unpleasant personal experience for you.
We do note that you found that Mount Edward Lodge is in a lovely location and nice hospitality and that we have excellent wireless internet in the room.
We do note also that you felt that the room you stayed in was quite small. All our bedrooms are finished to the highest standard and are inspected and approved by Fáilte Ireland, the National Tourism Development Authority, and meet the high standards of quality and hospitality set by them. The bathroom in the bedroom you stayed in was not a “very small walkin type closet conversion”. This bathroom was a purpose built bathroom for an en-suite bedroom and also meets the required standards for an en-suite bedroom set by Fáilte Ireland. The sink in the bedroom is built into fitted wardrobes and this is a common design feature in many homes in Ireland. If a person needs to get out of bed to use the restroom during the night, we imagine that getting out of bed would also wake the other person they are sharing the room with, before you even get to the point of washing your hands. This is sometimes an unavoidable scenario when getting out of bed during the night.
It does sound like that for future stays in accommodation in Ireland that a hotel may be more suitable for your needs and expectations rather than a traditional Irish B&B.
The sheets in all our bedrooms are very clean and our rooms/bathrooms are cleaned to the highest standard as you have stated. The beds in Mount Edward Lodge all have orthopaedic mattresses so we are sorry to learn that you found them uncomfortable. Mount Edward Lodge is situated 2km from the sea however this does not give rise to a “constant issue” with mold. We can only speculate also that the “bugs” you saw may have been attracted to the light when in darkness as bugs normally are and may have been caught in the shade. We have inspected all our rooms since your review and consulted with our builder/maintenance and determined that this was an isolated incident. We have not had other complaints of this nature before and we will monitor this closely for the future. As always, we welcome any feedback on your stay at Mount Edward Lodge so that we can continue to improve our services and provide an enjoyable and relaxing stay for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This B&B is perfect for views and home comforts. Maureen looked after us well, and the rooms were comfortable despite being "bijou"! The location is off the beaten track, well away from busy roads, which is what we were looking for. I would definitely go again.

Ruth D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Ruth. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Keep in touch. Kind regards, Maureen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

my wife & i just loved maureen,her puppy bailey & her sitting room where we met other interesting travelers. the view from her countryside home was spectacular. the breakfast in in glasshouse was quite continental. when we go back Maureen will be one of our first visits.

Room Tip: take your time in this area, beautiful sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edward Lodge

Address: Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edward Lodge is a luxury Fáilte Ireland Approved B&B located on the Northwest coast of Ireland.It lies nestled between Sligo's dramatic Benbulben mountain and the sea, and boasts panoramic views that overlook the Atlantic ocean, Innismurray Island and the Donegal Mountains. It is an ideal base for touring Yeats Country and the surroundings, suitable for both relaxing holidays or a business trip. Situated only 2km from Streedagh Beach, 14km from Sligo town and 5 minutes from the local village Grange, where you will find Traditional Irish pubs and Award winning restaurants.Your hostess Maureen McGowan has been welcoming guests to her award-winning, magnificently situated luxury bungalow near Grange, Sligo, for over twenty five years. You will receive a homely Traditional Irish welcome on your arrival and Maureen holds Fáilte Ireland Irish Welcome Award for her outstanding hospitality. Only the finest local ingredients are used for breakfast at Mount Edward Lodge with fresh meat from the local butcher and Maureen's own free-range eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edward Lodge Ireland/Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Edward Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.