We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a fabulous day recently at the Radisson Sligo. From start to finish the day was amazing. Ciaran and Jason in the bar stood out. Very happy and helpful, even after a long day and night. Food for the wedding was delicious and quick. One tip though would be to leave the jug of water on the table, we had to ask five times for water top up (very hot day) and felt like we were putting the waiter out as he was busy. Overall, a great experience and a thoroughly enjoyable day

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    326
    164
    87
    29
See reviews for
181
419
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here on a two night deal including breakfasts and an evening meal. We found it unbelievable value and were delighted with our stay. We paid a bit extra for the spa and razul which was well worth it. The staff were really friendly and polite. The meal was great. Looking forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was there are a wedding in a family room. On Arrival easy to find parking. Check in was fast, had a problem finding my booking as it was in my sisters married name. They were patient and eventually found my booking. I stay on the 2nd floor, room was modern looking and clean. A king sized bed and the sofa was folded out for the kids with a cot for the baby. Flat screen tv. Wifi speed were ok and we have 5 devices connecting from our rooms. Showers great no complaint there. When time time to call it a night from the wedding and I went upstairs the main bed was taken over by my wife and kids and i had to sleep on the sofa bed. Not comfy at all. Back was in bits the next day. Those sofa bed not meant for an adult. family room was 145 euro.
The beer tasted good at the bar, food was ok. Over all nice place, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Doesn't deserve the star rating in my opinion. Rooms are nothing special. Food is hit and miss. Staff on reception were very nice and helpful though. The location is good with Rosses Point only a few KM away. Beach is lovely for an early morning stroll. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Niamh K,

Thank you most sincerely for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the hotel recently. All on the team are most saddened to view your comments. We would like to apologise to you most sincerely as it certainly does appear as though you have not experienced the true Radisson Blu Sligo experience.

I am disappointed that you feel that the hotel does not deserve its four star rating, Over the past 18 months we have completed a number of cosmetic improvements to the property with a particular focus on our bedrooms. I would like to reassure you that we are independently audited by Failte Ireland on an annual basis and in recent years we have improved upon our overall score year on year and have been classified as a four star hotel.

I am delighted that you found our reception staff very nice and helpful and that you enjoyed our close proximity with Rosses Point village, where there is a fantastic beach and one of the best links golf courses in the island of Ireland.

Once again thank you for your feedback and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Seamus Preston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just spent 3 nights midweek here and although we did get it for a great price it was hard work trying to stay here without complaining!! Reception and Pool staff are very nice and welcoming, housekeeping are also very good - food is only ok.

Our room had wonderful views but the stains on the carpet were disturbing, iron and trouser press out of order, as for the toilet roll in the bathroom newspaper would of been better it was so cheap! No complimentary bottles of water in the room which was a first for us, with the weather being so good and the hotel not in walking distance of a shop we had to go to the vending machine in the gym to buy water. Television in the room is old and sometimes goes on the blink. Bar staff were very young and sorry to say really dopey, only 1 person on for busy nights and days and our food order getting messed up whilst waiting forever for a drink. The pool was lovely but not maintained well, rust on the pool railings and a outdoor candian hot tub no longer in use.

This hotel caters mainly for one night big tour buses, conferences and the rest of us staying there can put up with the inconvience of it. There was a big dinner dance when we were there that had a drinks reception in the lobby making it near to impossible to get through with children, we along with other guests were sitting in a room off from the lobby entertaining the kids and having a bite to eat (this is easier for us than trying to get the kids to sit and behave themselves in a restaurnat) when in walked some of the function guests (about 40 people) with 3 newspaper photographers whilst we were eating?? They put their drinks on our tables it was so uncomfortalbe we are acutally in the back of some of the photographs eathing our dinner and we are the paying residents!!! The hotel should of reserved the room off for the function pary alone or reserved the room striclty for residents only as that is no way you could enjoy your food with this going on, there was also elderly couples in the room who found it hard to get out of the room through the crowds.

At the end of the day we were looking forward to staying in a Radiddon Blu but left very dissappointed by it there are such lovely hotels in Sligo and this just isnt one of them.

Room Tip: Go eat at Harrys Bar in Rosses Point - we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear CinnamonGum,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am terribly sorry to see that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful views from your bedroom and I am sorry that your carpet was stained in your bedroom. Last year we introduced a program with a local carpet cleaning company whereby all our 132 bedroom carpets were cleaned and this year the program has continued whereby we clean any spillages or stained carpets as needed.

We do not supply complimentary bottled water in our classic bedrooms, however all our business class bedrooms and suites have complimentary bottles of water. The cold water throughout the hotel including our bedrooms is drinkable and when we reprint our guest directories we will include this information so all our guests are aware of this. We are currently replacing our bedroom TV’s with flat screen TV’s and I would envisage that the TV’s in all our bedrooms will be replaced by September of this year. I am extremely sorry that the TV went on the “blink” and did not work properly.

As you mention in your review the hotel caters for a broad range of guests and I would like to reassure you that no guest of the hotel would receive preferential treatment over another guest. I am extremely sorry that the dinner dance last Thursday impacted negatively on your evening meal. The organisers of this function did not make us aware of any requirement for a private area for photographs and I am extremely sorry that these guests disturbed you and your family.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback and for giving us the opportunity to improve our service. I would be most appreciative if you had time to discuss this further with me, my number here at the hotel is 0719140008 or my email is seamus.preston@radissonblu.com.

I am genuinely sorry for your experience and would appreciate if you could pass on my apologies to your family.

Warm regards,

Seamus Preston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for just one night. Check in was quick & the member of staff was very polite. Room was lovely, modern & spacious. All mod cons, even a fridge which I've never seen before. Swimming pool was perfect for us & our 5 year old. Spacious dressing rooms, towles & showers. Staff very friendly & helpful. Bar food was OK, would pass on it if stayed again. Breakfast was divine, so much choice & extras. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & hope to be back soon. Well done all at the Radisson.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here in February this year. The check in staff were lovely and gave loads of hints and tips on check in. The hotel itself is beautiful although the rooms could be doing with a bit of a face lift as they as slightly dated. We ate in the restaurant and the service was second to none and the food was fantastic. The bar had a great atmosphere and there was live music all night. I will 100% recommend the Radisson and fully intend to stay here again and take out 2 young children with us the next time.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.