We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosses Point, Ballincar, Sligo , Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, poor restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Radisson Sligo. We went on a €200 package that included b&b and an evening meal. When we arrived we were pleased to see that we had been upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room itself was very nice, spacious and clean.

Our evening meal in the restaurant was unfortunately quite disappointing. The smoked mackerel starter in particular was abysmal. The hotel was extremely busy and the only time we could get a table was at 8.30, this suited us ok but if anyone is going and needs to eat earlier I would advise booking in advance of arrival. We also found the bar area a bit lacking in atmosphere. It was a Saturday night and the bar was busy, but there was no entertainment on – a bit of music would do wonders for the atmosphere.

The following morning we had a very nice breakfast and had no complaints. I would recommend getting down for breakfast early though as it is a big hotel and the buffet can become quite packed later in the morning.

We also thought the spa / treatments were excellent and enjoyed the thermal suite immensely.

In the main, we had a nice stay at this hotel, but if we were to return I think we would go b&b, and go into Rosses Point or Sligo for our evening meal and entertainment.

On the plus side, our room was lovely, and the spa was excellent. If we were to return to this hotel we would probably book b&b only and go into Rosses Point or Sligo for our evening meal.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    285
    152
    81
    28
See reviews for
155
361
32
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Our room was standard - but high quality standard. Spacious with all facilities including a room safe. Lovely large beds with pristine bedding.
Breakfast was good and the evening meals served in the restaurant were very good.
Just one note - make sure the check-in informs the restaurant of you meal deals. I was really put out when asked by the restaurant staff to produce evidence of my booking. Once sorted thing went smoother.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and found it excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am just back after staying in one of their suites.If that was a suite i wonder what the standard room is like.This hotel is nothing more than a travel lodge.I was so looking forward to a pleasant stay and it was everything but pleasant.Evening dinner was poor quality and not fresh as i am certain some of the food was frozen plus the veg had seen better days.I was expecting so much from this hotel as it was expensive but it was not worth the money. If i was offered a free stay i would not go back.I have been to numerous 5 star hotels and it has cost much less.Spend your hard earned money here and you will feel hard done by.I did for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perfect location with beautiful views. We had a family room and the staff were all lovely.

We (me, my husband and 2 children) ate in the hotel restaurant on the evening and it was gorgeous, with lots of choice and a great childrens menu. Breakfast was also very nice.

Swimming pool and gym great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Raddison Blu for 2 nights on 20th and 21st September 2012. The hotel is rated as a 4 star, no way in our opinion is this hotel of a 4 star standard. The room was basic, fairly clean. only 4 hangers and 1 small shower gel between both of us. But when we contacted reception they did bring some wire coat hangers up to us and 2 shower gels. When we arrived at the hotel around 5pm there was a bag of litter outside the room near to ours and it was still there the following day at 6pm the following evening when we returned to our room after being out for the day. The food in the restaurant was diabolical so bad in fact that I could not eat it. I complained to the waiter about the dessert, it was supposed to be Key lime pie, but the topping lifted off and was slimy and soggy. The waiter said he would inform the chef, apologized and asked if he could get us anything else, at this stage we just wanted to get out of there. It was 10pm at this stage and we were tired and hungry after traveling a long way to get the the hotel. We were charged for the meal and the dessert even though we complained, we had to pay a €10 supplement because we had steak which was burnt and tough,with a few warmed up vegetables and roast potatoes that had been reheated and were soggy. The breakfast was not any better. We thought that maybe it was a one off and that we would give it another go the following night, but the meal was even worse.

We have spoken to other people since we got back home and all said the same about the food.

We certainly would not rate this hotel as a 4 star and for €120 per night would expect better.

Miacleo Co. Laois

Room Tip: If eating at the hotel, take plenty of food with you that you can snack on as you will be very hungr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Went to stay in this hotel with my 5 children. The staff were fantastic and catered for all our needs. We will go here again . The food was very reasonably priced. And the hotel itself was very clean. So thank you radisson hotel Sligo

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding annivesary last weekend, very disappointed. The room had a view of a grubby carpark and was quite old. The receptionist had booked our taxi for the wrong time, luckily the other taxi had guests going to the same restaraunt which we shared or we would have been late for our reservation.The adjoining door to the next bedroom was actually open and not even locked, we locked it but were concerned what would have happened if it was the other way around, how do we know what the people in the next room would do? Steal out stuff when we were out? Which made me feel very uncomfortable. Corridor was very noisy with loud wedding guests coming in at all hours, aswell as this the cleaner started hoovering and woke us at 9.30 on a sunday morning, not a relaxing stay at all. Breakfast was good but very disappointed witht the room for a four star hotel and the price we paid.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Rosses Point, Ballincar, Sligo , Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Situated near the beach in Sligo, Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo is close to Drumcliffe Church, Yeats Memorial Building, and Sligo County Museum. Also nearby are Sligo Cathedral and Sligo Abbey. Hotel Features. Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo has a full-service spa, a health club, and an indoor pool. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, small meeting rooms, and a meeting/conference room. Dining options at this spa hotel include a restaurant and a bar/lounge. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Additional amenities include a children's pool, a rooftop terrace, and a spa tub. Guest parking is complimentary. The property has designated areas for smoking. Guestrooms. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars and safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels, complimentary TV Internet access, and pay movies. All accommodations provide complimentary newspapers and direct-dial phones with voice mail. Rooms have dial-up Internet access. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.