We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“equestrian centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Leslie Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Leslie Estate to your Saves list
Castle Leslie Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“equestrian centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Castle Leslie, honing our jumping and general riding skills. There were two of us and each had a different request. One of us wanted to learn to jump for the first time and the other wanted to improve general riding skills. Everyone at the stables rose to our challenge with remarkable good humour, with the result that both aims were accomplished (well at any rate by the end of our stay both of us were able to do things we never expected). So thank you to everybody: your positive and professional approach got us both to raise our game and gave us all the necessary confidence. We look forward to returning for Round 2, reaquanting ourselves with the glorious 1000-acre equestrian estate and of course the welcoming and cheerful hospitality of the Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent stay with us in The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

We are delighted you both enjoyed your week long visit to the Equestrian Centre and thrilled to learn that by the end of this week, you had achieved some of your equestrian goals.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    127
    43
    27
    14
See reviews for
135
489
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

bought this through groupon for a present for my husband and i couldn't have been happier with the service.

We got a room in the 'stables' very spacious with a king size bed, and a big bathroom with a beautiful roll top bath and large walk in shower, we also had a balcony which looked over the stables below perfect for relaxing after evening meal. As part of our package we got champagne on arrival and chocolates which went down a treat.

We had our dinner in Connors bar which was cooked to perfection with friendly waiting staff, making sure we where happy but asking too much as some place can do.

The only negative was as part of the package we had a Victorian steam box session with hot tub we had this booked weeks before arrival but when we went down at the appointment time, we waited in the spa reception area for a few minutes and a girl appeared and as if she wasn't expecting us said oh, your here for the hot tub and when i mentioned that we also have steam box she said oh that hasnt been working for a few weeks, a little curtsy email would have been nice but as this wasnt the deal breaker for us it wasnt an issue.

this is a great hotel for couples getting away from it all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just back from a night there with my other half and i have to say its the best hotel ive ever stayed in. It is quirky in a good way and oozes character. The staff were very friendly particularly Owen who took our bags and drove us to the bar in a range rover, an absolute gentleman. Will definitely return and recommend it to friends and family. Thank you to the staff of the coolest castle hotel ive ever stayed in.

Room Tip: No drinks in castle after around midnight so hang on in conors bar until your ready for bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just had our wedding at the Castle. It was absolutely stunning. Everything was so well taken care of. I saw maybe 60% of the rooms and each were just amazing. None of our guests were disappointed either! Our room, the Eagles Nest, was divine... the bed so super comfortable! The grounds were perfectly taken care of and you could easily lose many hours just walking around. We will be sure to return for a weekend break so we can enjoy more of what the estate has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at Castle Leslie. We were very lucky to get a special facebook deal, and had a wonderful time. We were fortunate to have be allocated a room in the Castle itself, and from the minute we checked in to leaving today, everything was first class.

The staff we all encountered were friendly and professional, The grounds are amazing and we were lucky to have good weather in which to walk around and chill out. After dinner at Connor's Bar which was lovely, we wandered back up to the Castle and spent an hour reading in the library. It is so peaceful and tranquil, and you rarely encounter any other guests. There are so many beautiful public rooms, that you would be spoilt for choice.

Our bedroom Lionel's was very comfortable , and we slept well. Only slight niggle found the shower difficult to " control" which made washing a bit " interesting" but we managed!!!

Can't wait to return, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a bit of peace and quiet !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I knew from the very minute i entered the lovely centre , my family and I were going to have a fantastic time. My kids were quite nervous and shy and they had no need to be. the staff were absolutely brilliant and made them feel at ease. , We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel part of one big family. My observations at the start were that the place was very well maintained and the staff had a real high level of cleanliness . My children were all at different levels of competance and the staff caught on to this very quickly and taylored their needs to the exact stage they were at which i was very impressed with. The highlight of our day was taking the horses into the water , it was lovely to hear the squeals of delight from my children and as a parent , this made my day. All praise to the staff of this equestrian centre. , the management should be very honoured to have them as they are a great asset to the company. I will definately return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the moment I walked into the Equestrian centre, our family was made to feel very welcome, the stable yard was bright, very clean, well presented and maintained to a high level, each member of the families equestrian needs were tailored to a tee, the cross country session was amazing, fantastic jumps with options that suited all the families riding abilities, with staff who were very professional, polite and very patient with the beginners to the experienced members out on course, my children will never forget taking the ponies into the lake and rivers.

Room Tip: If you have the chance book a room that overlooks the stable yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Leslie Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Leslie Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.