We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pillo Hotel Ashbourne to your Saves list
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ashbourne
monaghan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

stayed here with 2 kids for one night.the kids thought it was the best hotel they ever stayed in.stayed in family room.leisure centre very good as was breakfast.would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    248
    90
    34
    31
See reviews for
248
193
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group who had booked a Christmas party night in the hotel, which was on special offer on a deals website. On arrival the staff were friendly enough. We checked in and went to our rooms. The decor in the hotel is really very nice. Modern and contemporate. One issue I had with the room was the fact that there was no lock on the bathroom door. As it was just myself and my partner staying in the room, it didn't bother me too much. But under any other circumstances, I wouldn't have been happy. The hotel itself is outside of Ashbourne town, so if anyone wants to go into the town, either a 10-15 minute walk or a taxi is the only way.

We made our way to the restaurant for the beginning of the "Christmas party night". The deal was advertised as €19.99 instead of €39.99. As the advertisement was worded this way, you would expect to get, for €19.99, what you would ordinarily get for €39.99. However, this was not the case. The food in the restaurant was lovely. However, the service was not great and the staff seemed a bit rude. The "entertainment" was a one-man-band who played in the general bar area. This is not what was advertised in the Christmas party night deal. The music was awful and there was no atmosphere. We were in the regular bar which was open to the general public who had the "pleasure" of the "band" without having any of the cost. At this stage I was disappointed and annoyed. I went to reception and booked a taxi into Ashbourne town, explaining to the receptionist that we were all very disappointed with the evening. Her explanation was "ah, usually there'd be a few more in on a Saturday night. It might liven up later on". No thanks!

We took a taxi into Ashbourne (at our own expense) and went to a local nightclub, which again we had to pay for on top of having already paid for the Christmas party night. Later we returned to the hotel and to the bar. There were still quite a few people there and we had been told that the bar will stay open as long as there are customers. We didn't want to be there all night, but as the night had been such a disaster, we fancied another couple of drinks. The bar staff were extremely rude. They said they would stop serving us if they felt like it. I should point out at this stage that we are a quiet bunch. We weren't loud or disruptive. There was a very drunk woman in the bar who decided to take exception to me for some unknown reason and kept shouting abuse at me. Her husband who was with her was very embarrassed and apologetic, but the abuse continued. Despite the fact that the staff could see this happening, nothing was done. Not one member of staff asked her to leave, behave, keep her voice down etc. In the end we went to bed, but could hear the drunk woman outside still screaming, particularly about me. No idea what rattled her cage!

We had quite a comfortable sleep and awoke the next morning ready for breakfast. Again we made our way to the restaurant and once again, the staff were quite rude. There was one young guy who was very nice and helpful. I think his name may have been Hugh, but I can't remember. Everyone else made us feel like we were an imposition to them.

On the face of it, this hotel is quite impressive. But I would not advise staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night,We were met by a rude receptionist who wouldn't look at us and was not one bit friendly,i am a receptionist myself so there was a few things i was looking out for.The room was lovely,couldn't complain abut that.We ordered room service for breakfast but it did not arrive because it had been thorn off our door,so we had a late breakfast,We entered the breakfast room to meet yet another member of staff,think she was the breakfast Manager again wasn't very approachable.It doesn't hurt to be nice.
Overall the hotel and room was beautiful but pity about the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Both my mum & I stayed here last weekend for one night. We booked it on Citydeal. Our stay included one nights accommodation with breakfast & a glass of prosecco. From the moment we arrived we were met with smiling faces & a can do attitude. Nothing was a problem for the staff. The bedroom was huge & the bed was super comfortable & there was a double shower in the bathroom :o). Both the bedroom & bahtroom were spotlessly clean. We had dinner in the bar that evening & the food was of a very high standard & there was a good selection. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style with plenty of fresh fruit, breads & juices. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & will hopefully get to stay again soon. Great Job marriott !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 11th Feb 2012. We did not book breakfast beforehand but decided to have breakfast next morning with the intention of paying for it at the time of checkout. This is normal procedure in most hotels.
When we arrived in the breakfast room a member of the waiting staff seated us. We explained we had not pre-booked and she took our room number to pass on to reception so we would pay at checkout time. When we attempted to return to our room after breakfast we were stopped by a very insolent lady (the breakfst hostess - who should have been there to seat us at the beginning!). She demanded payment in CASH (credit cards not accepted) on the spot before we would be allowed to leave the breakfast room! We had no money on us and we were very embarassed. When we complained to the girl at reception she was just as cheeky. We quicky retrived our belongings, paid our bill and left. When we complained to Marriott the manageress of the hotel replied that we would be required to pay for our breakfast - ignoring the fact that the whole problem was cheeky staff.
Also the car park was full of broken car glass which did not inspire confidence in hotel security !

Room Tip: Do not go there unless you want to be insulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Everything about this hotel was great stay here for a weekend break you will love it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed one night on a package for 2 adults & 3 kids for Tayto Park Euro141- the front desk staff are nice girls but lacking a little personal touch like the hotel - soulless kind of place - the girl on the leisure centre was the friendliest - the red bar is odd and full of tv's, there were five showing all different pictures around our table and no sound - hated this - we are away to escape tv with the kids - we actually didn't get a word out of our children because of the tvs. Some of the pictures on the tvs were not suitable for children.
Breakfast is good but again soulless - not sure about this hotel - kind of middle of nowhere on a roundabout and the usual situation with a too hot bedroom over night - none of us slept very well.
The big benefit is that it is quite near Tayto Park, which you should combine with a trip to Newgrange (great place).
We stayed the second night in Newgrange Lodge (B&B/Hostel) and what craic we had with the staff - a very different experience. I guess we shall stay away from modern hotels.
We never got to the pool, but it looked lovely.
Thanks anyhow but there was nothing to drag us back - sorry.

Room Tip: Face out front if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.