We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel for touring in Meath and Dublin areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashbourne House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashbourne House Hotel to your Saves list
Ashbourne House Hotel
Main Street, Ashbourne, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashbourne
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well located hotel for touring in Meath and Dublin areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

basic facilitie in bedrooms but adequate for overnight stays, breakfast was excellent freshly cooked and friendly staff, We had our evening meals in the bar great choice and excellent quality beware very generous portions in both starter and main meal.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    35
    17
    28
See reviews for
25
80
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This used to be a great hotel. I haven't been in it in years until recently. The food was barely adequate. All I can say is that hunger is a good sauce. The side salad was tired and limp. The coleslaw tasted like it was almost gone off. I didn't dare eat any more of it. I ordered tea and the milk jug has encrusted stake milk stains on it.
Very disappointed and disgusted. The whole place seems grotty.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed here with my wife to attend a gig being held in the hotel the restaurant food was excellent but the accommodation was very poor rooms were smelly dirty and the noise levels was unbearable. Would never stay again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Ashbourne house offers great value for money. I slept well in a quiet room overlooking the car park. My evening meal in the bar was more than I could eat, well coked and quickly served. Cooked breakfast was included and most enjoyable. Only moan, the shower cubicle had no door only a curtain which billowed in and stuck to me. Sorry that's not nice!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

My husband and i had a great time there for his birthday over the Valentine's weekend the room and food was beautiful. We had been there a few years ago and loved it and said we would go back. We are thinking of going back in May for my birthday that's how much we enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Top floor last room to the back of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I have stayed in a lot of places but this place was unbelievable, the noise all night despite ringing reception to complain on several occassions, couples fighting, shouting, trying the handle on my door because they could not even find their own rooms. Walls paper thin you could hear the conversations going on with the people next to you.The noise went on all night i would say up until 6.30 am in the morning, a total disgrace when you have a long journey ahead the next day., When i said to the receptionist in the morning she looked very surprised which i find hard to believe because i have read the reviews now and it seems this is a regular happening in this hotel, obviously the owner does not seem to care about their customers....I am a regular visitor to Ashbourne and i would sleep in the car next time before i would even consider staying in this place. Also rooms are quite dated and bathrooms old and disgusting just disappointing all round.
The only positive about the hotel is the nice staff.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car, way better idea than booking a room at this hotel, or try the Pilo hotel just aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have stayed here a number of times before and had never had a negative experience. I stayed here again on valentines day with my boyfriend we got a great deal, had a great meal in the loft restaurant and the room was lovely no problems there. However we were woken up at 2am by a couple arguing extremely loudly shouting screaming throwing things and banging in the room next to us. I was very scared and intimidated and didn't want to leave the room to complain so tried ringing reception from the phone in the room which I then learned didn't work. I had to look up the number for the hotel and ring off my mobile. I told reception my room number and a very nice man from the hotel tried a number of times to calm the man down in failing to do so he called the gards and had the man removed. After this his girlfriend continued screaming and banging doors until 5am. My boyfriend and I both barely slept and it ruined our night. I do understand that this is not the fault of the hotel however when leaving we were not asked how our stay was and had no apologies for being kept up all night. I noticed some people were sitting downstairs and in fear of it being them that kept us up I didn't want to complain in front of them. Staff should have been informed of our complaint from our room number and some sort of apology at least should have been given. We unfortunately will not be back any time soon.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ashbourne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel, in the heart of the village, 10 min drive to Tayto park, 20 mins to Funtasia Drogheda, bus stop to Dublin outside the hotel, 20 mins from Dublin Airport. Special offers available, €100.00 Bed & breakfast and 4 course meal per double. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashbourne House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.