We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Snailbox, Pub, Restaurant &Accommodation

The Snailbox, Pub, Restaurant &Accommodation
Killmoon, Ashbourne, Ireland
00353-1-8354277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: JUST 15 MINUTES FROM THE M50 WITH PANORAMIC VIEWS OF COUNTIES MEATH, DUBLIN AND LOUTH AND THE COOLEY PENINSULA, YOU CAN TAKE IT ALL IN OVER A DELICIOUS MEAL.Restaurant Opening TimesBREAKFAST MENU:Monday-Friday 10.30am-12pmSaturday / Sunday 10am – 12pmLUNCH MENU:Monday-Saturday 12-2.45pmA LA CARTE:Monday-Saturday 3-10pmSunday & Bank Holidays 1-9pm
County Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I went to the snail box for a family outing we needed to book it as the restaurant is always really busy but there's a reason for this the food is amazing every dish that my family ordered was spot on no one complained about anything. Some of the food is a bit costly but overall it's worth it

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely stay and great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

first time to stay at snailbox we have eaten here a few times but tried the deal for the over night stay the room was good but could do with a bit of freshing up as looking abit tired but found it alright the steak meal was fab and the lovely breakfast next morning was great staff go out of there way to look after what ever you need see you again soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Confirmation Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Go here regular for dinner and cannot recommend it enough. Went for our kids confirmation dinner and with 14 of us we were all looked after very effentially by the staff. Everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Great menu for kids which includes desert for a good price. While we always book to be sure of a table they have a lovely little bar that you can sit in while you wait. They also have a courtesy bus home if you're out for a night with friends and are enjoying a few drinks!! A+++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had dinner here earlier this week and sat outside to enjoy the heat wave we were having. It's been some time since we were last here and it has gotten even better! We shared a chicken wing starter and I had the stir fried beef strips and my wife had the tempura prawns for our mains. All of the food was top quality and service was very good. The views across the landscape from this raised location on a nice sunny summer evening are very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have eaten here a few times it surprises me everytime I go in, you expect average as the place is so homely and not overly modern so you expect to just have what you get in your local, but yet the food it out of this world. It should not be passed!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snailbox, Pub, Restaurant &Accommodation also viewed

Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 
Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 

Been to The Snailbox, Pub, Restaurant &Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snailbox, Pub, Restaurant &Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.