We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Irish Welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel

Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rooskey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel
The River Edge, Rooskey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rooskey
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm Irish Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Totally ignore the negative reviews , where do these people think that they are staying , The Dorchester?
If you want a typical Irish experience then give it a go .
A family group of us stayed for a wedding in August and from Rachel and her team in reception, Deirdre in the bar which has great food and is very popular with the locals and Rose who looked after us at breakfast , the staff were all great.
The Hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the River Shannon and right next door to the Hotel is Peter's Music Pub which is a perfect place to while away the evenings.
Do give the place a try ,we loved it.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the river are the ones to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Had lunch there a few times. Has never let me down

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and i and our two sons booked a two night break through supervalue in this hotel, we got a family room with a view of a flat roof with the kitchen extractor fans, curtains were hanging off and a trickle of water from the cold water tap in bathroom. Part of the stairs going up to our room was dark as the light was not working, staff were scarce.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rooskey hotels

Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Went with my wife for a midweek break after Easter taking advantage of a package offered by this hotel. This was the biggest mistake I have ever made and I would advise other travellers to simply avoid this establishment. Our room was not hoovered and the carpet looked as if it had not been hoovered for many days. The bedding was clean but the mattress was badly stained and it was obvious that mattress covers were never used. Unfortunately these were not the only problems. On arrival there was no cold water in our room - both taps provided hot and even the toilet flushed hot water. We reported this to reception and were curtly informed that they were aware of the problem and had sent for a "man". During our stay there was still no cold water so we could not shower. Further complaints seemed to go unnoticed and we overheard other residents complaining about the absence of cold water. The food in the hotel is ok - very basic. I certainly will not be back in this hotel and I will advise all my friends to avoid it at all costs. A total waste of money and a short leisure break totally ruined.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel needs a wake up call!! Big time!! No one to greet us at reception. After ringing the bell a few times some one finally arrived to check us in, no apology for delaying us, no welcome, nothing. Just a scruffy gruff lady in ripped jeans and a rubgy shirt slapped our keys on the counter. I had to ask her where the room was and where breakfast was served. Not very professional, and its not like its a cheap hotel and you get what you paid for.
The room was small and gruppy, the window didnt open properly, the curtain was mouldy. The heating in the room was erritic, piping hot even though we asked for it to be turned off, as the room was so stuffy. The shower did not work, the water just alternated between very hot and very cold, impossible to wash properly. We were a group of around 30 and it was the same situation with the shower for each and every one of them. The barman in the residence bar was one of the rudist people I have ever met. And the breakfast was barely edible. Would I recommend to a friend? - not in a million years

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Meath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

A "deal" - bed & breakfast with evening meal for €160.
The bed linen was clean, except for dried milk stains on the press.
Gorgeous Location.
Awful food. Nice Waitress.
Awful place with little or no standards.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Had a great time, staff very friendly, nothing was a problem, food was excellent and great value

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel

Address: The River Edge, Rooskey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Rooskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rooskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flynn's Shannon Key West Hotel to your Saves list