We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Portlaoise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portlaoise
Bandon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Maldron hotel is a great hotel very family friendly ... Rooms are clean ...Can't say enough about the staff very helpful and friendly ... The pool and area are clean and tidy at all times .. I would recommend this hotel to anybody I've stayed there on many occasions and each and every time it has been a lovely stay ... The hotel is great value for money and i will be staying there again this weekend and looking forward to it .. Well done to the Maldron for having lovely staff and knowing how a hotel should be run ...

Room Tip: They are all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sharon N,

It gives me great pleasure to respond to you and i thank you most sincerely for your most kind and encouraging review. I have passed your comments to all the staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service from our team. Our team do strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic.

I hope to see you back here again soon and please don't hesitate to contact me direclty on your next visit. lsinnott@maldronhotels.com

Kind regards

Lisa Sinnott
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    100
    40
    22
    15
See reviews for
87
95
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Back from a one night stay here and everything was lovely, no complaints at all. Check in, massive room, lovely staff, have to mention in particular the lovely bar man, dark haired, sorry I didn't get your name. He was really busy all night due to a match being on locally and was on his own a lot of the time but still managed to serve efficientlywhile being polite and corteous. Fab location. The best bit was the craic we had in the bar, we were contemplating whether to go into Portlaoise town thinking that the bar would be quiet...not so, due to a lively crowd celebrating a 30th birthday. There was a lovely trad Irish band there and we were even treated to some lovely harp music and some set dancing. A great atmosphere altogether, nothing like a bit of music in a bar especially on a Saturday night, it keeps people from leaving the Hotel to go into town. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. We would definately recommend the Maldron Portlaoise and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As a couple we recently stayed in the Maldron hotel portlaoise. We found the staff at reception lovely to deal with and highly efficient.Our hotel room was lovely and had everything we needed.We ate in the hotel restaurant Stir we had caesar salad and garlic mushrooms and for mains we had chicken and hake the whole meal was cooked really well.For value we felt it has been the best value we have ever got in a hotel and we have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years.We look forward to staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here one night recently. We are received a very good rate when we rang the hotel directly. We arrived on a Friday evening and had to wait 2/3 minutes before the receptionist eventually arrived - coming down the stairs. Check-in was very efficient.
The room was fine - double bed. This hotel had tea making faciliites.
However the room had no wifi - which really is required these days. There was a port for a cable - which was of no benefit to me. The room was facing the motorway (room number had odd digit, those with even numbers facing carpark) Therefore we could hear passing traffic. I love heat but we found the room very warm and if we opened the window it only meant the passing traffic noise became louder.
We paid for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant but it wasn't great really. It cost €19 including 10% discount but it wasn't worth it. We didn't use the adjoining swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers face motorway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I was at a friends birthday party in Portlaois this weekend so needed somewhere to stay for the night. This hotel was great value for money and is situated perfectly for those traveling from Dublin or Galway. The staff here are excellent, Marta in reservations and Tara on the front desk were so friendly and professional. The hotel is between a 6 and 8 euro taxi into town and a few minutes from the motorway. The room was spacious and comfortable and had a lovely bed, nice linen and for a change nice toiletries. The lux and dove products were a welcome change from the cost cutting toiletries many hotels are using. All in all this is a great base for visiting Portlaois. I booked a room only package so did not get to try breakfast but the hotel is adjacent to a food court and you also get complimentary use of their gym and pool. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Portlaois, it's clean, safe and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinstown, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, hotel very clean and leisure centre also. We would definitely stay again. Plenty of eating options and good value food, suitable for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skibbereen, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cheap and cheerful but still nice facilities. But what i liked most was that, i had forgotten my laptop charger and they posted it back to me for a small charge without any hassle and quickly. Other places are not so accomadation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.