We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Portlaoise to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
burnside, northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Picked this one because it was cheap and had swimming pool. Room was good, clean and large. Bathroom was basic but fine. Food was basic but ok, nothing special, but filled a hole. Service was good, Robert the duty manager was doing everything, serving drinks, taking orders etc etc, but was well in control!! Nice guy. Breakfast was good, again nothing special but good selection and all tasted fine. Swimming pool was excellent. Good friendly staff. Kids games room could if been better couple of games out of order. Would we stay there again...yep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mileysboy76,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel, Portlaoise.

I will pass your kind comments to Robbie our duty Manager who is indeed a big asset to the hotel and remains in control at all times. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed the swimming pool and found our staff friendly. I have noted your concers regarding the games room.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel, Portlaoise in the near future.

Kind regards

Lisa Sinnott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    115
    50
    25
    16
See reviews for
110
104
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I satyed for 1 night in the Maldron Hotel Portlaise recently and found the whole experience very pleasant and excellent value. The efficient friendly satff and the room was clean and very comfortable. Although the bar area lacks atmosphere it was quite pleasant and again the bar staff were very efficient and friendly. I will definitely be satying again and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Perrott,

Thank you for you recent review of the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly along with your room which you found to be clean and comfortable.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Lisa Sinnott


I satyed for 1 night in the Maldron Hotel Portlaise recently and found the whole experience very pleasant and excellent value. The efficient friendly satff and the room was clean and very comfortable. Although the bar area lacks atmosphere it was quite pleasant and again the bar staff were very efficient and friendly. I will definitely be satying again and will recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we stayed here on a one night stay from a voucher on pigsback,from the first contact on the phone all was great,staff were so friendly and hotel rooms nice,used the gym this was great and also had a swim,got a free bottle of wine also with the voucher,so all in all a great stay i would be back ,what an offer thanks maldron see you again soon i hope!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear DublinKeitho,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and found our staff friendly and the gym to your satisfaction. I am delighted to read that you intend on coming back. I hope you will not leave it too long.

Kind regards

Lisa Sinnott
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two young kids nice rooms service was good and a fantastic leisure centre for a swim with the kids , only problem was the food it was extremely poor went for dinner in the restaurant that night and the food was very bad , even to say we handed back our dishes cause they were unedible, and overpriced for a budget hotel went to bed hungry hoping the breakfast be much better but was disappointed with that also, a pity cause not a bad hotel overall just need a new chef !!! Luckily there's a food court beside it overall would not return....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Abbi4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

It's tremendous to get such positive feedback about the hotel and i am glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities.

I am a little dissappointed to read your comments regarding the restaurant as it is certainly not the level of service we normally provide. I have passed your review to our head chef and would kindly ask if you could send me your contact details so we can discuss this issue in greater detail.

My email address is lsinnott@maldronhotels.com

I look forward to hearing abck from you soon.

Kind regards

Lisa Sinnott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had I payed normal price for our 1 night b&b I would have rated it two star, but as it only cost €50, incl a btl of wine, I gave it three. Positives are it is right off motorway, but you can't hear the road; staff were nice; room was clean. Negatives are staff are waaaaay over worked and so service suffers; food is really bad, stick to salad and chips - the chef sent out burnt fish and a crumble that had not been cooked, raw oats are not yum!; bar is a tiny part of restaurant so no atmosphere; and lastly my pet hate, the hairdryer is totally crap. When hotels buy cheap hairdryers, their guests waste hours trying to get their hair dry without ever succeeding. If it is the right price, worth it to get away for a night.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear KarrieR,

Thank you for reviewing the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was delighted to read your positive points regarding our location, just off the M7 motorway, Portlaoise and you could not hear the road from your room which is a major plus. Your comments regarding our friendly staff have also been passed on as well as your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room.

Your comments regarding the restaurant was passed to the Head Chef and i would be grateful if you could send me your contact details so he can discuss with you in further detail.

Kind regards

Lisa Sinnott

Sales and Marketing Manager
lsinnott@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Maldron on New yrs eve for a 2 nite break with 2 young kids Excellent hotel Staff were so friendly & very helpful especially in the Resaurant Great choice of dishes & for the breakfast too :-) Rooms were spotless & the leisure centre was spotless too very friendly staff there too :-)
So easy to get too off the motorway & not too far away from the town either Will certainly be headin from very soon Well Done Excellent hotel :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night with my friend. When we arrived back to the hotel last night, the receptionist was refusing to allow us up to our room- he said that other girls had gone up before us. This was completely untrue. Basically, he thought there were more then two of us using the room. He was so rude and started demanding that we left the hotel! For a finish we just walked passed him and went up to the room- he obviously found out in the mean time that he had made a mistake as we never heard anymore. No apology from this extremely arrogant receptionist who's name was apparently Daniel. Wont be back, such a pity we had fully paid on check in!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.