We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel clean rooms friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Portlaoise to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel clean rooms friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my wife and two children, it's a nice family freindly hotel ,staff were great,rooms nice and clean, great leisure centre, great value for money but my only problem would be the food in there restaurant next door it really let the hotel down it was not up to much standard wise and I wouldn't be fussy either also the breakfast wasn't great really need a new chef !! But a nice stay all the same ...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    122
    55
    28
    16
See reviews for
118
108
9
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in feb 2013. This hotel is very well located. Rooms are spacious, clean and it had a lovely gym and swimming pool. The food is excellent and this hotel has particularly pleasant staff. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in Maldron on w/e end of January. Its great value as we paid €59 for the room for 2 which also included a buffet style deliciour breakfast. We had lunch in the restaurant and it was excellent. The staff were very friendly and the room was modern and very comfortable. Excellent location and free car parking makes it a very attractive base. Would recommend anytime.

Mary McK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in The Maldron for one night in January. It is a very nice looking hotel from the outside and also the reception area is very bright and welcoming.

I paid €79 euro for my twin room. It was ok but I was expecting a little bit more modernisation to be honest. Green curtains! Green carpet! Old style shower with poor pressure.

The views are not great at all, motorway and carparks.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel last weekend. We bagged a mega offer on pigsback.com and couldn't turn down the chance to visit a town we love and have been to many many times. We found the location of the Maldron very accessible and loved the walk into the town centre. All of the staff members were very helpful. Check-in was quick and easy and everything about the hotel was explained to us, from dining to the use of the leisure centre. We were surprised at how large and spacious the room was. We had tea coffee making facilities, full shower and bath tub and Tv. The food selection for breakfast was great. The waitress explained the set up to us and was more than helpful.
The Maldron is the 3rd hotel that we have stayed at in Portlaoise. Myself and my partner both agreed that we would definitely return. The Hotel has a very relaxed and down to earth feel about it. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It is ideal for families and couples alike. Down the road from the hotel is the 'Roll - n - Bowl' Centre where you can roller skate or bowl. Ideal for any ages, and we are testament to that. We even have the bruises from a few falls on the skate rink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had my annual stay at the Maldron last week and to my surprise found that it was cheaper than this time last year. At £59 i was told i could have had 2 people stay plus breakfast. I down in Laois alone but found this exceptional value for money. Staff again very friendly, food well up to stratch and had a very pleasant workout in the well equpped gym before i left for my meeting. Top Marks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there the weekend just past for a quiet new years break. The staff are super pleasant The bar was nice, not as mad as some of the local town places but a good intimate atmosphere. The leisure facilities are A1, worth getting up in the morning for a fresh wake up. Overall good value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.