We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Pub Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Gormans

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Gormans
Unit 5, Kilminchy Court, Portlaoise, Ireland
353 (0) 57 868 2921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 restaurants in Portlaoise
Cuisines: English, Irish, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

O'Gormans is always a reliable place to go to if you are looking for a tasty pub meal and you want to have a good variety of choice from the menu.
You will always get good bang for your buck and good service here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    10
    6
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“poor quality of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

recently myself and my husband had an evening meal at o gormans.While it was busy on the night the service was good.I ordered a sizzling beef. When it arrived it didnt sizzle on the hot plate as it should. The flavour was not good and the meat in it tasted like boiled beef. I was very dissapointed with it and was trying to get the attention of the waitress but they were very busy.So i resorted to leaving it there and paying. I mentioned it while paying and was told the manager would ring me about it.Much to my disappoinment he didnt, I havent been in there since and dont think i will be either. We did have some nice meals their before but its not consistant there and the fact i never even got a phone call about the conplaint annoys me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Love this place, great food, service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love love love O'Gormans!! They have great food and service with a smile. My friends and I love it and between us all, we must be in it once a week!

There is a great varied menu from light starters to Thai to proper Irish pub grub with pan gravy like your mother makes. There is also a loyalty card which gives you discounts off your bill and are well worth it.

I usually order the cajun chicken and it never fails to impress. It comes mild or spicy and both are very good. I've also ordered the Chicken Milano, which although very cheesy is also very nice. The omelettes are very good and they never scrimp with the filling. The only downside is that they took mozzerella sticks off the menu (naughty, tut tut!) and I miss the chunky chips they used to have a few months ago.

There is a separate restaurant area or you can eat in the bar. The bar has plenty of screens and different sections so you can choose a quiet spot or take the family to a big area either.

The decor is good and has a warm feel to it. There is always a good atmosphere in O'Gormans and its a great spot to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Combination of greasy spoon yet some good dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very good Thai food, other dishes can be indifferent tending to have chips which appear popular, with most dishes, however portions are generous. Staff are very friendly and helpful, however they often seem hard pressed to keep on top of their areas which can lead to slow service, The bar and restaurant is in an excellent location not far from the N7 just off the Dublin Road, with good parking. For sport fans it is excellent with good coverage of most televised sports on the many screens. Caters very well for families with a good outside seated area as well as many nooks and crannies for small groups to enjoy the venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I eat at o gormans regularly. I adore the Thai menu. It's the only place in Laois where I can have a sit down Thai meal. I've been to other Thai restaurants and the thai food at o gormans is better. Massive portions always leave full which is the reason I always return, theres nothing worse than still being hungry when you leave. An excellent restaurant, lovely staff, great atmosphere. Never change

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Gormans also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to O'Gormans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Gormans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.