We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relish Brasserie

Relish Brasserie
67 Main Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
+353 57 86 62200
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual dining at it's best!DescriptionRelish strives to be the leading casual dining restaurant in Laois. This will be achieved through good value, great tasting food, impeccable service and a warm atmosphere. At Relish you may enjoy your meal in our modern upstairs restaurant or downstairs in Delaneys bar.
Mountmellick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have eaten here on 2 occasions, once for lunch and once for dinner. Both times were thoroughly enjoyed. The portion sizes are generous, and the home-made chips delicious!! The menus offer great choice and variety of food and beverages. Service is brilliant, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Would Highly recommend a visit to this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLY H, Owner at Relish Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted you enjoyed the food, it's always great to hear from returning customers. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    49
    17
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portlaosie
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We called in for lunch, having meant to try this restaurant out a few times. Very glad that we did now, as we had a great value lunch. Portions were very generous and service was prompt. We would like to try the evening menu sometime in the future - well worth a visit if your in Portlaoise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLY H, Owner at Relish Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your recent review, great to hear such positive feedback. I hope we see you one evening soon.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great home cooked food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Walked into this restaurant with my wife and 2 kids on spec tues 13/8/13 at around 7.45 pm seemed a very cosy place but unfortunately was booked out.
Helpfull waitress told us we could go into the bar downstairs and we would be served from the relish brasserie kitchen there same menu too.
Food was excellent and a great choice of menu for the adults and kids

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLY H, Owner at Relish Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your recent review. Delighted to hear you were happy with the food and service. I will certainly make sure to pass on your comments to the staff. Hope to see you all again soon.
kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have been here twice and have next visit already booked, really looking forward to it! Great little spot, food fab, great choice on menu. Service is excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful. Desserts are scrumptious, Death by Chocolate is heaven on a plate. Great value 50% off on Monday evenings. Would highly recommend it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLY H, Owner at Relish Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your recent review. Delighted you're enjoying the food so much to keep coming back. I have to agree, Death by Chocolate is pretty amazing! Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I heard lots about this place so I went here last week, was pretty busy but only one poor girl was serving. Wasn't very fair on her. I had mushrooms for starter would have been better if she hasn't of said "sorry, the chef said have them people not eaten that yet? No sure I haven't brought it to them yet" ha, the bruschetta lacked any tomato! The main was great, big massive burger thoroughly enjoyed it, partner had pork belly which was tasty too. I agree with other review about the eaton mess, it's not amazing. Meringue nests broke up and smashed into a bowl. Not bad value and 50% off on Monday is good. I'll return and give it another go, maybe on a Monday and a few more staff mightn't go astray. Cheers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLY H, Owner at Relish Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there
Many thanks for your recent review. It's a shame you weren't totally satisfied with your visit.
In terms of staffing, we would ordinarily have 2/3 waiting staff on during busier periods. Of course it can happen that it gets unexpectedly busy in which case I generally go in and assist myself but that's not always possible. We have had a couple of rare occasions where illness etc have affected staff numbers also but ordinarily there would be more waiting staff on duty.
I'm not totally clear on what the comment from the waitress was, I presume she was making a joke, I will have to enquire on that one.
The bruschetta description per the menu is "4 Cheese Bruschetta, toasted bread topped with relish, cheddar, feta, goats cheese and mozzarella". It's unfortunate that it is not what you wanted but it is clear per the menu what should be expected.
Delighted you enjoyed the mains and that you were happy with the price. We certainly feel our prices are extremely reasonable.
I will discuss the comments re Eaton Mess with the kitchen, though we have already made some changes with regard to how this is prepared.
Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Brasserie also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portarlington, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Relish Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relish Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.