We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of Owenship -Still Quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
13 Market Square, Portlaoise, Ireland
+353 57 868 1695
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Description: A taste of home cooking is on offer at The Pantry where every single menu item is prepared in our own kitchen by a small team of enthusiastic foodies. In addition to a wide range of fresh salads, customers enjoy savoury tartlets, frittatas, quiches, roulades, ciabattas, wraps, paninis, open sandwiches in addition to a hot lunch daily special. Wellknown for outstanding homebaked pastries and cakes, this is a fulltime owner operated neighborhood eaterie where a warm welcome and friendly, efficient customer service is guaranteed. We also serve really good coffee.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Change of Owenship -Still Quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lovely little place near the top square in Portlaoise for a bite to eat.It has changed hands in recent times but the Service and Quality have food have stayed the same..They employ local and buy local and their food is fresh and the atmosphere is lovely.Great spot for a brunch/Cuppa or a snack!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for your kind review, which means a great deal to us both and to our team. We appreciate your valued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy children..... happy parents!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was the 1st time I have received hot chocolate for my young children at the correct temperature.!!I know you might think I'm being slightly picky but when you go into a cafe and have to wait an extra15 mins for the hot chocolate to cool to a temperature suitable for children , it can be a tedious experience! I can't believe I have found a cafe that is aware that children actually can't drink a hot chocolate similar to that of an adult.! W'hay! 3 cheers for The Pantry!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Your kind review is noted with thanks. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just over a month ago the Pantry changed hands and is now run by a very pleasant young couple ... and it has not miss a beat ... the same crew and fantastic fresh food served with excellence ... really worth a visit ..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
How lovely to read your kind review and thank you for taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A really great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I eat here at least 2 days a week for lunch ... the food is really good and fresh every single day ... service is excellent, sharp and efficent ... deserts are to die for .... coffee first class ... Owners hands-on and professional .... a gem in the mist of mediocrity ....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Passed through Portaloise on our way back to Dublin. We stopped in for a scone and tea which was delicious. Loved the local artwork hanging on the wall. Staff were friendly and considerate. Wish I lived closer because I would be a frequent customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.