We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bank House Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Old Bank House Restaurant
17 lower main street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is a tea rooms , restauranrt and tapas bar.
Mountmellick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I love The Old Bank. By far one of the best restaurants in town. The style of the rooms are so unique and cosy with the open fires. The staff and food is excellent and the price is just right. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, gorgeous, classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most gorgeous setting. We had our lunch in a lovely sunny room. It was difficult to choose from the menu. We wanted everything. The staff were warm and welcoming. The food was presented beautifully and looked as good as it tasted. Great value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
“excellent romantic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

was in the bank house sat night for a meal with my wife , had the seafood brochette for starters and the fillet steak for mains , everything was cooked to perfection and the service was efficent and friendly even though it seemed to be very busy , will be back again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlaoise
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bank house restaurant portlaoise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

had lunch today in the bank house, sunday 21st October
Water served in grimy glasses, waitress seen me clean glasses with my napkin,was not in any way disturbed by this
Kat Kitson starter plate had not one but two chips on it
extremely long wait for the two duck mains which I would have excused were it not for the even longer wait for the vegetables,and the two mains for the girls. dreadful !!!!!!!
waitress said '' sorry about the duck' but never attempted to make any eye contact
service was at best adequate, i would recommend customer service training for the waiting staff
i went to pay the bill on the way out,maitre d at front door said to me 'its a nice day', never even enquired as to whether we enjoyed our visit
It makes me wonder how this eatery survives in these challenging times

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to eat and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I enjoyed this restaurant very much. the old georgian style room where we were seated was a really nice touch, diferent to most restaurants i've been to. i ordered the chicken duxelle and it was amazing, as was the side order of garlic potatoes. staff were friendly and efficient and prices were very reasonable. i would definitely recomend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bank House Restaurant also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bank House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.