We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always a particular and excellent occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roundwood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountrath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roundwood House
Save
You added Roundwood House to your Saves list
Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL 2 NIGHT PACKAGE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As always a particular and excellent occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We have never stayed here, but have come now for several years for an evening meal, and to enjoy the location. The service is friendly, engaging, and the food excellent. We delight in the special nature of the house; its quality to be itself with comfort and not a replica of other hotels, is a real pleasure. We love the drawing room, and books a plenty. (as a retired librarian with Laois history interests the books turn pleasure into joy) Everytime the food has been of suburb quality and taste drawn out of wholesome and local ingredients, without fussy additions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We love Roundwood House! Paddy and Hannah are fantastic hosts and great cooks. The food was wonderful. The house is old and rambling and isn't a plush boutique hotel but it's not trying to be. You genuinely feel like you're staying with friends. If you're looking for a really relaxed, interesting place to stay that is an antidote to an overdone sterile country house hotel, then this is the place for you. The only reason that the sleep quality gets a three out of five is because of the resident peacock that woke us up - not exactly a big complaint! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We held a small business meeting here and every one attending was delighted with our stay.
The house is lovely, rooms are spacious and filled with character. Home made cookies on arrival was a great start as were the large open fires in beautiful reception rooms. Food at dinner was amazing, full of flavour and plentiful, great wine list too.
Breakfast cooked to order, home made yogurt (yum) and preserves.
A perfect stay with a great welcome and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Myself & Hubby spent a lovely weekend at Roundwood House last November. We were the only guests in the house, so it was a little quiet for us, but Hannah and Paddy were great hosts and kept us entertained on the first night! The food was undeniably fantastic - and the house itself full of very interesting things to look at and read. A true period house with lovely big rooms, and authentic period furniture and decor. Some might say it's run down, but we very much enjoyed its wonderful character.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

After a manic weekend at the Electric Picnic festival, I decided to treat myself in to a proper rest at Roundwood House.

I couldn't have picked a better place for a relaxing break. The house is a gorgeous old, country manor. It's not luxuriously plush in the modern sense but the house is lovely, with great character - it's comfortable, spotlessly clean, cosy and very warm.

I can't say enough good things about the food. It's very hard to get decent vegetarian options but honestly, this is the best veggie food I've had in a hotel or restaurant in Ireland - tasty, hearty food and not a bland pasta dish in sight!

I've never stayed in a hotel like Roundwood House - no tv's in the rooms and just one dining room table where all guests eat at the same time ... I loved it! I spent the days and evenings chilling out reading in the drawing room in front of the open fire and the dining arrangements contributed to a really nice atmosphere with the other guests.

Hannah and Paddy were fantastic proprietors - really friendly. As a solo traveller, they made me feel at home immediately. They were very thoughtful hosts who checked in on me regularly with cups of tea and chat ;-)

There's a really lovely atmosphere in this house. It's so nice to go to a hotel which provides such excellent, personal service.

I can't recommend Roundwood House highly enough.

(I was also pleasantly surprised by the locality. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't the best but I'd definitely recommend the Slieve Bloom Mountains for walks and Birr turned out to be a great spot for visiting - Birr Castle has a really interesting museum and beautiful gardens.)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Have just been to Roundwood House for the weekend and seven of us stayed in the coach house for the weekend. There are two bedrooms but with all the beds and sofa bed we managed fine (would be ideal for a family). Wonderful, homely and creatively designed old converted stable - all mod-cons in a wonderful setting. Patrons very friendly and helpful, old Sheridan the dog a treat - always there for a pat day or night! Our friends stayed in the Cottage which was also a delight. Would recommend to anyone for a quiet weekend getaway, or a family gathering. Lovely surroundings to wander in. Unfortunately didn't get to savour the delights of the home cooking in the main house...hopefully next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nycbbb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife, 13-year-old daughter and I just spent a wonderful night at Roundwood House. We had a lovely time and only wish we could have stayed longer. Most outstanding aspects: the warmth and generosity of the hosts (Paddy and Hannah), the incredible food, and the easy conversation over dinner and drinks with other guests. Of course, the grounds and house are lovely as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath
Roundwood House Ireland/Mountrath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roundwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.